We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rhett House Inn

Expedia.com$219*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/09/2017 04/10/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rhett House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

977 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Rhett House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 974: English reviews
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed March 30, 2014

You feel like Scarlett in Rhett's house...from the curved stairs leading to the veranda, entering the well appointed, gracious main floors, and arriving at a large and beautifully decorated guest room. The hosts could not have been more gracious. Champagne appears on arrival, iced tea, lemonade and cookies are offered in the afternoon, and decadent desserts in the evening. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Diana H, Hello and thank you for staying with us! It was our pleasure to treat you like the royalty you are during your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you took part in all our amazing amenities, and even happier that you enjoyed everything! I hope you will stop in and say hi if you every...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed March 25, 2014

What a nice gesture to include a fine bottle of champagne on our room to celebrate our anniversary. The next night, my bifthday, we were greeted with chocolate cupcakes for dessert after dinner. Try to stay in room 10, with private balcony.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamB4444
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Williamb4444, Hello, and thank you for another great review! I am glad you chose to celebrate your anniversary and birthday with us, and we are thrilled you found the freshly prepared cupcakes, and champagne we left for you! The room you stayed in, room 10, is our Innkeepers Suite. It is personally my favorite room and boasts a whirlpool jetted...

Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My mom, sister and I stayed at the inn last week. I would say the stay was overall disappointing. When we arrived, we had to ask 3 times for assistance with our luggage and never did receive the orientation on the services of the inn. The rooms downstairs are cold and damp and I am still recovering from a very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharonorl
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Sharonorl, Hello and thank you for your review. After meeting with you and your family I was sure you were enjoying your stay, and was very disappointed to hear otherwise. I do apologize that you had to ask several times for help with your luggage, I do wish you would have brought this to my attention as I helped carry...

Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husand and I have visited the Rhett House Inn previously. We recently added a new addition to our family; Cody, a 14 week old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. We were delighted to learn that your Inn had a "pet friendly" room which we booked immediately. It was perfect. Room 11 is on the ground floor of the cottage. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molly502014
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

molly502014, How can I forget such a friendly couple and there cutest little companion! Being right in the heart of Beaufort's historic district and a block from Downtown, all our guests that travel with there animals enjoy this pet friendly city! I am thrilled to hear that you loved everything the Rhett House Inn has to offer and I know...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a lovely we had. We stayed two nights and loved every minute. The inn is beautiful, very clean , and the amenities are awesome. Cookies, champagne, dessert after dinner, etc.. Can't wait to go back. It was our anniversary and it was so special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary3704
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Mary K, Hello and thank you for leaving such a fabulous review! We are so grateful to have met you, and to make your 2 day anniversary getaway so great! I am very to happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer. From out delicious southern breakfast, home made snacks all day, and our...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights. ...the staff members are wonderful...the old house is nice inside however our stay was not perfect....the first night our room got so hot that at 2pm we had to open the window.....the next morning we found out to adjust we had to go out of our room in the hallway to turn it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy H
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Judy H, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to this enchanted city. I am terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations! I am glad to hear that the staff here showed you a true southern hospitality experience. I would like you to know that I was aware of the issues you...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a difficult review to write. My wife and I planned to spend a weekend here for our anniversary trip to Beaufort. Many of the staff are exceptional and the house is a beautiful historic property in a perfect location in the historic district. They also offer great amenities like a full bar and pies and cakes that are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason C
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Jason C, I am very glad that we spoke on the phone after you left and we had time to correct the situation. After you checked out and we spoke on the phone, I had a meeting with the owner Steve Harrison, who took a great interest in your comments and is working so that we will never have a...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed one night at this inn, which was definitely not enough time to enjoy the lovely, relaxing atmosphere that we felt here. The front porch and the charm that the house offered made us want to simply relax with some of their homemade treats and do nothing, but rest! I wish we had been able to stay more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CathyGeorgia
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Cathy47, I am so sorry that you only had one day to spend in this beautiful place, it is just not enough! The great thing about your review is that you will change other guests traveling plans and they will give more time to this enchanted city! The staff here at the Rhett House Inn is thrilled to hear that...

Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My hubby and I spent two nights in March at the Rhett House Inn. Friendly staff, very accomodating, and a beautiful property. Fabulous location; in a few short minutes, you are in the heart of downtown BEaufort and all it's charming shops, etc. They have bikes, beach chairs, and blankets you can borrow; we really liked that. Awesome goodies throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Deb K, Your review was so fantastic I thought for sure it would be 5 stars! I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed all the Rhett House Inn has to offer. Being only a short block from the beautiful Bay Street, all our guests enjoy a short yet majestic walk to the many delicious restaurants that the waterfront has to offer!...

Greenville, SC
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were in Beaufort for a wedding and stayed at the Rhett House Inn for two nights. It really is a lovely place - wonderful accommodations and over-the-top southern hospitality. We had room 10 - a spacious bedroom with a huge bathroom and a screen porch overlooking a garden and fountain area and a small bar area. Breakfasts were delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sctravelers1970
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

sctravelers1970, Hello and thank you for such an amazing review! I think I can sum up your review in 3 words "best B&B ever"! Room 10 is our Innkeepers Suite and is in my opinion the best room the beautiful Rhett House Inn has to offer! Being the only room in the main house with its own screened in porch,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

256 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (230)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/09/2017 04/10/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
904 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Price Range: $218 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Rhett House Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Overland Park, Kansas
Tarpon Springs, Florida
over a year ago
yankee in the south
over a year ago
Citra

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Rhett House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 18 is separate from the main house but the privacy is worth the walk to breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles gpa596, 1 week ago | Read review
“We loved Room #10: The screened in porch off the bedroom is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles LavenderAndSea, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“cottage was nice”
 of 5 bubbles JoanK708, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Upper rooms have easy access to the veranda with a good partial view of the harbor area”
 of 5 bubbles 866brucel, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 5 was nice but the bathroom was small. Not big enough if two people are in it at the same time”
  • Room 5 Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles mccrawmike, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$219* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$219
Booking.com$219
Orbitz.com$219
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates