We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beaufort Inn

Save
Share
809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com$168
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (415)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (340)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 06/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Beaufort Inn
Updated 06/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 18 hotels in Beaufort
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. Guests of the Beaufort Inn can choose from one of three terrific Breakfast choices at local cafe's, all located within steps of The Beaufort Inn.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Fishing
Patio
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2139Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,622
  • 326
  • 110
  • 49
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mark P wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I had no expectations on my stay here. My wife and I came to Beaufort for a wedding reception my nephew had planned in 2020, but was cancelled by Covid. We chose the Inn because the wedding party was there. It had very good ratings so we said ok. We booked a suite room in the front. Since the Inn had no in house food options we brought a few things for the refrigerator. After moving in my wife wiped up a spill and the towel was so dirty we were concerned. I noticed the sticky nature of other places in the room as I explored. The bedroom and especially the area around the refrigerator were really bad. My wife visited the office to see if someone might mop the floor for us, but was told no one was available. She asked for a mop for us to do it, but was not allowed. She returned with a employee in tow that had a Swiffer to clean the whole room. That accomplished nothing. After the employee left we made no other comment to the staff. We enjoyed our family reception. We also enjoyed the town. Beaufort is an old city and is very dirty in general. If you are ok with this you can have a good time. The second day of our stay, the staff employee pulled a cleaning cart right in front of my wife and I sitting on the porch. She made no comment or eye contact, nor did she offer to mop our room with the real mop she had in the cart. That was unbelievable. At that point I knew we would never return to this place. After we returned home my wife left a review here. It detailed in much greater detail the reasons for our dissatisfaction. Today a response from the Inn came to our email. This staff employee made some wild claims. First the room was dirty because we dragged in the dirt. She claimed my wife berated her. That is not the case. My wife asked just for the floor to be cleaned,. They wanted us to leave the Inn and they would find another place for us to stay because we asked for a clean room. I dont know if you will be able to read the Inn's response to my wife's review but I am outraged. Having stayed alot of places I have never had such an experience. To make matters worse, this person said that a member of our family offered to pay her for our behavior. That is a joke. The only thing we offered to pay for was the mailing of my wife's glasses she lost if someone found them. The city of Beaufort, like much of the country, is having trouble getting good help. People are having to work harder since businesses are understaffed. Customer service is being affected. The Beaufort Inn should be ashamed of this employee for her actions. Two minutes with a mop would have corrected the situation and our stay would have been much more pleasant. Instead we fumed over our treatment, made the only statement we could to try and effect change by placing a review here to allow future travelers decide about staying there, and maybe for management to treat their guests more appropriately. One person can make a difference for an entire business. I am not a big reviewer. I have enjoyed my stay in locations all over the country. Never have I had this occur. Do Better!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Maybe the interior suites might be less dirty
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
DONNA V wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
+1
When we found out about the Water Festival, we were glad we had booked our suite well in advance for the wedding celebration we were to attend. The website raved of cleanliness & helpful staff. We were absolutely shocked when moving our belongings into the suite. I spilled a little water and used a hand towel to wipe it up. It was black with filth from the floors. No wonder my shoes were sticking to the floor. This drew my attention to the thick baseboards covered in dust, hair and dirt. I complained to the front desk clerk who said he couldn't move me to another room as they were booked solid. Then he said they couldn't clean the floors until the next day. I asked for a mop to clean it myself and he refused. He texted the front desk manager who had "just left 5 minutes ago." She appeared with a swiffer mop covered with a wash cloth and some sort of spray mixture. She was very agitated and randomly mopped. I showed her the body imprints in the bed along with the hump in the middle. She stated the mattresses were on the last year of their duration & scheduled to be replaced next year. I showed her the filthy baseboards and she said they were cleaned daily, but the dirt came in from the street in front of the cottage (Magnolia - Room #16.) My thought... how many times was that door opened after they cleaned? She told me she could we would not be happy there and would locate somewhere else for us to stay. I knew only undesirable places would be available if anything was available. I pointed out that I was trying to be nice and she interrupted me saying that I was only berating her. I refused to leave and she left. Thank goodness I packed sheets, Lysol spray and wipes. When packing up to leave, I realized I had lost my eyeglasses. We searched everywhere. I literally became sick at my stomach after looking underneath the sofa bed. This is supposed to be a 3+ star inn and this filth is simply not acceptable - especially during a pandemic!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I'm hoping the main inn's rooms were cleaner.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Campbell, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beaufort Inn
Responded 1 week ago
We apologize that your room was not up to your standards. You have to take into consideration the building you stayed in is well over 100 years old. I was the executive housekeeper for a 5 diamond resort. I personally cleaned the room. The dirt that was mopped up was the dirt you and your husband tracked in from the parking lot as you brought your numerous bags. I was not agitated. I was baffled how you could think that that room was dirty. Funny, but my shoes were not sticking to the floors. I tried to please you by doing everything that you asked yet you continued to belittle me and the inn down so I told you that I would find you another place and you said "It's the Water Festival, don't you at least know that?'" After your continued tirade of complaints and personal insults to me, I left you standing in the room. Your reservation was made by me and your numerous complaints before the reservation was even made let us know what kind of situation this would be. Your family even apologized to me personally for your attitude because they were thoroughly embarrassed by your behavior. They even tried to pay me. So, before you write another complaint, please take into consideration what you say because there are two sides to every story.
Read more
MrsMrs88 wrote a review Jul 2021
Brevard, North Carolina, USA58 contributions10 helpful votes
Centrally located; an older facility but full of character. Loved having the option of riding bikes through town! Great options for breakfast; appreciated the pass to Hunting Island State Park. Parking was convenient. Staff was very kind and helpful. All those perks far outweigh a chain hotel, most of which were several miles away. Everything was within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Campbell, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beaufort Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review! Please come back to stay with us again. And don't forget to mention the Return Guest Discount. Safe Travels!
Read more
Mark X wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
What an amazing place!!! If you want a wonderful experience, stay here! Great staff too. Rooms are huge and you feel like you’re staying in an upscale 1800’s home. Reminds me of meeting st in at Charleston, only bigger!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Campbell, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beaufort Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for the great review! We would love for you stay with us again!. Don't forget to mention the Return Guest Discount. Safe Travels!
Read more
lhc2sc wrote a review Jul 2021
Dillon, South Carolina3 contributions1 helpful vote
I hesitate writing this review because I am afraid all of you will take my future Saturday bookings at the Caretaker Cottage because it was such a good stay. It is a two bedroom two bath house with its own driveway parking(for us who are not good at parallel). The front desk walked us over to it and talked about some of the history. It is a beautiful complex. There were also amenities off location available that we did not have time to partake but was good to know for the future. Breakfast vouchers were excellent; we chose Blackstone's and my kids said it was the best hotel house and breakfast ever. We did not have any problems during our stay. Also, the location is close to the water.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Campbell, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beaufort Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for the great review! We would love for you stay with us again!. Don't forget to mention the Return Guest Discount. Safe Travels!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$146 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the beaufort hotel beaufort
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaBeaufort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Beaufort Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Beaufort Inn?
Nearby attractions include Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park (0.10 miles), St. Helena's Anglican Church (0.2 miles), and Bay Street (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Beaufort Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at The Beaufort Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Beaufort Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Beaufort Inn?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Beaufort Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Bull Tavern, Southern Sweets Ice Cream & Sandwich Shop, and City Java & News.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Beaufort Inn?
Yes, guests have access to fitness classes and yoga classes during their stay.
Is The Beaufort Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the center of Beaufort.
Are pets allowed at The Beaufort Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Beaufort Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Beaufort Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Helena's Anglican Church (0.2 miles), Tabernacle Baptist Church (0.08 miles), and Sams Plantation Complex Tabby Ruins (4.9 miles).