We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shelter Harbor Inn

Save
Share
10 Wagner Rd, Westerly, RI 02891-4709
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)

About

#8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Shelter Harbor Inn is a country-esque retreat on the Rhode Island shore. We provide upscale amenities in a setting that celebrates the best of New England beauty and traditions – from hearthside dining with freshly sourced seafood and greens, to the laughter of lawn games and breakfast outdoors on bright, clear mornings.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Tennis court
Patio
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
16Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rae T wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
For over 25 years we have visited and dined at this inn. Under the new owner and general manager, Michael, the focus is on rebuilding the inn’s welcoming tone. There are more Adirondack chairs permitting relaxation and several fire pits. Upgraded rooms and pet friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Revenue Management at Shelter Harbor Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your continued patronage to the Shelter Harbor Inn, 572raet! We have loved hosting you, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Rick S wrote a review Mar 2021
Cranston, Rhode Island143 contributions86 helpful votes
Driving up to Shelter Harbor Inn we thought the place looked beautiful and then going inside for our dinner reservation looked promising as well....and then....BAM! it all started to go downhill from there. It was a struggle to get anything right at all. I just read a review about how if someone has Gluten allergies to beware and THAT IS FOR SURE! They had zero clue what was and what was not gluten free nor was there a menu designation or whether they could do it GF? VERY uniformed staff. It took nearly 30 minutes between asking questions and getting a luke-warm bowl of soup which we didn't complain about and it still got worse from there. There were a couple specials.... a $28 Blackened Tuna order which came out cold, well done, subbed out a vegetable that looked truly embarrassing to them. So much so that I asked if they gave me the appetizer portion because there was 2 tiny pieces of tuna, a mound of rice and these straggly looking ice cold, flavorless green beans. ON TOP of all this - my gluten-free fiancé ordered steak tips that were ice cold, 4 tiny pieces that were like chewing rubber. They did credit our main "meals" which they absolutely should have. That's a one and done for me at the restaurant. If you choose to stay at the Inn which honestly looked quaint, BUT I'd undoubtedly find some other local places to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Room Tip: Quaint Hotel - Terrible Food
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Revenue Management at Shelter Harbor Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your candid feedback, Rick S. We are continually seeking to improve upon ourselves, and this is a great opportunity for training our staff. We recently revamped and reimagined our restaurant, and are pleased to present Farmhouse Kitchen + Bar, under the leadership of our new Executive Chef, Albert Cannito. We hope you will reconsider joining us for dinner again sometime soon, as we would welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Read more
Bumi wrote a review Aug 2020
Westchester, New York, United States4 contributions
This was our first stay under the new ownership of the Flanagan family and it will definitely not be our last. The entire hotel has been gorgeously renovated . The complimentary breakfasts were delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely the nicest spot for a stay anywhere around this part of RI
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Revenue Management at Shelter Harbor Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the Shelter Harbor Inn, Charles N-- we are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
AM K wrote a review Aug 2020
15 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful renovation of the restaurant. However, after taking every precaution to ensure I could eat safely because of Celiac - by speaking to both the server and the manager who spoke to the chef - I was still served a plate of 100% gluten pasta. I’m glad I realized it before I took a bite (it was linguini and nearly no restaurant serves GF linguini). They offered to make me a new plate but I was too fearful that they didn’t understand or take my concern seriously enough. They did comp the meals of those I was sitting with; however, I left without eating. I was hopeful and excited to see a nice menu offering that included GF but unfortunately cannot be a repeat customer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Revenue Management at Shelter Harbor Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, AM K. I am so sorry to hear your experience with us did not meet your expectations, and would welcome the opportunity to host you again. Our restaurant has recently undergone a complete reimagining and is now open as the Farmhouse Kitchen + Bar, under the leadership of our new Executive Chef Albert Cannito. We would love to see you the next time your travels bring you to Westerly.
Read more
nickw_nickw wrote a review Aug 2020
New York, New York, United States3 contributions3 helpful votes
Terrible predatory business practices. I book a room for my family before the travel advisory was placed on Rhode Island. I attempted to cancel my room, as my state will require me to quarantine for 2 weeks after returning from Rhode Island. I was extremely apologetic, explaining the situation, begging for some sort of resolution. They refused to refund my payment and were very dismissive about the entire thing. I will admit at that point I lost my temper a bit with the person on the phone, and for that I am sorry. But I was so completely shocked they would take this stance in the midst of a global pandemic. Had they just given me even a partial refund, I would be writing a review about how kind and helpful management is here. But here we are. I know business are struggling but they will not get back by treating customers like this. This can only be indicactive of a terrible culture (everyone I spoke with while booking, while well-intentioned, were WILDLY unprofessional).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cox, Revenue Management at Shelter Harbor Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your candid feedback, nickw_nickw. We are continually seeking to improve, and will use this as a training opportunity for our staff.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$218 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shelter harbor hotel westerly
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandWashington CountyWesterly
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shelter Harbor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Shelter Harbor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Misquamicut State Beach (4.0 miles), Fantastic Umbrella Factory (4.3 miles), and East Beach (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shelter Harbor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Shelter Harbor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Shelter Harbor Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shelter Harbor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shelter Harbor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ella's Fine Food and Drink, Two Little Fish, and Dave's Coffee.
Are pets allowed at Shelter Harbor Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Shelter Harbor Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Babcock-Smith House (4.7 miles) and Florence Nightingale's Nursing Cap (4.7 miles).
Does Shelter Harbor Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Shelter Harbor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.