We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Watch Hill Inn

Save
Share
38 Bay St # 44, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5702
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Watch Hill
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
One & Two Bedroom Residences with private Kohler baths, galley and full kitchens, bamboo floors, gas fireplaces, private decks and balconies. Beautiful views of the sunset over Little Narragansett Bay. Walking distance to three pristine beaches, several shops, eateries, and the historic Watch Hill Carousel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Babysitting
Concierge
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
48Reviews4Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 25
  • 6
  • 9
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Explorers377 wrote a review Aug 2020
Horsham, Pennsylvania255 contributions91 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at the Watch Hill Inn for 3 nights in June. The Inn had recently reopened after closure for the pandemic. A family of 3, including a 2 year old, we stayed in the Seal Rock Suite, which was absolutely perfect for us. The suite was spacious - a full kitchen, table, living room, powder room, king bed and attached en suite bathroom. We also had our own private deck with lounge chairs and bar height patio table. We spent a lot of time out there taking in the sunsets and watching the fog clear in the mornings. The suite was very clean, updated and comfortable. Complimentary beverages were provided in the refrigerator, including refillable insulated water bottles, and other snacks. We also received breakfast boxes as the continental breakfast bar is suspended due to COVID. We had a few small hiccups, but our overall experience lent itself to a 5 star review as we had such a wonderful time. Check in was at the Ocean House, and at 2 pm, our room was not ready. It wasn't available at check in time either. Ultimately the OH staff had a difficult time finding and communicating with anyone at the WHI. We finally got in our room, but it was a bit tough considering we were also dealing with a toddler. The coordination between the properties could definitely use some improvement. Other than that, the shower in our room needed attention and the housekeeping service was spotty. We loved having the space the WHI provided, as well as the proximity to the shops and restaurants in town. We also appreciated our access to the OH amenities, particularly the restaurants and the beach. We had a great trip, and would love to return here one day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Seal Rock Suite - private terrace/deck!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Hostettler, General Manager at Watch Hill Inn
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Dear Explorers377, Thank you for your “five star” review of Watch Hill Inn. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the extra space of the Seal Rock Suite, the snacks and sunsets at The Inn, as well as the amenities of Ocean House. We appreciate your kind words, and so pleased you had a great trip. We hope you and your family can visit again. We’ll be sure to save a place for you on the beach. Warm regards, Daniel Hostettler, President and Group Managing Director Antonia Korosec, General Manager
Read more
Mexstein wrote a review Oct 2019
Goshen, Connecticut19 contributions22 helpful votes
We thought we’d try a last minute visit to the Watch Hill Inn. I called the day prior to inquire if they had any AAA or Senior Citizens Rates. I was told no but they’d be happy to extend a 15% discount off the rates on line. When we arrived at the property mass confusion as to how to check in. We pulled into the driveway and were told nastily to move our car and go to the Ocean House. When we got to the Ocean House they absolutely refused to honor the 15% discount I was told about over the phone. When our room was finally ready and we drove back to the property there were many open parking spots, however we were told specifically to park in between two pillars - an extremely narrow spot in which I would have surely damaged our car. I finally refused and we were begrudgingly allowed to park in a spot for registration. Later in the evening we noticed we could not connect the iPad in the room to WiFi and the phone in the room didn’t work. This property is incredibly overrated. While the location is very nice, the service is uneven and lacking. Check in at Ocean House was extremely pretentious. When we went to the beach there was no one there to help with lounge chairs until asked. The music in the kiosk there was blasting and I had to ask to turn it down. Very very expensive for what it is. If this is Relais and Chateau you must be kidding.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel H, President and Group Managing Director at Watch Hill Inn
Responded Oct 25, 2019
Dear Mexstein, We are sorry to learn of your experience during your recent Fall visit. We checked with our reservation team and yes, we do offer a 15% discount when Watch Hill Inn accommodations are reserved via phone (but not online). We apologize for the confusion, and we welcome you to email us directly at communications@oceanhouseri.com. For background, parking at Watch Hill is assigned for each unit, and that is the reason our staff asked for you to park in a specific location. We will share your other comments with your team in an effort to improve for the future. Sincerely, Daniel Hostettler, President and Group Managing Director
Read more
anon3200 wrote a review Oct 2019
Kingston, Massachusetts278 contributions128 helpful votes
This property has much to offer but make no mistake, it is not a budget hotel so don't let the "poor man" designation in the caption fool you. The property is affiliated with the Ocean House and there are many similarities but at more affordable prices. Still on the last day of September we paid over $600 for the night. You check in at the Ocean House and they get someone to come and escort you down to the property and show you where to park. I got the sense that each room had an assigned parking spot and that it wasn't just random parking. We got there early and were told by OH staff that they would call us when our room was ready--seriously? On the last day of September at 1 pm we couldn't get in to our room. I know it was early but there was no one there. Maybe one, or at most, two other rooms in the property were occupied. It was a beautiful September day, very much a beach day and that was what we were looking for so we settled ourselves in at the beach and had a delightful afternoon. When you stay at the WHI you do get to use all the facilities at OH so that is very nice. We walked the beach, swam in the water and had some snacks of our own that we enjoyed. Well after 5 when we started to feel a bit of a chill, we wandered back up to the OH reception desk wondering if our room was now ready since we never got a call or a text. Off we went with our escort and then walked up a couple of flights of stairs to the reception desk there which doubles as a hospitality suite. There are complimentary beverages including wines and bubbly in the late afternoon along with the same snacks that are served at OH in the little canisters in each of the rooms. There is also a complimentary continental breakfast which we found to be more than adequate. There was fresh fruit salad, the same muffins, croissants and scones that are served at OH, individual cereal boxes including Cheerios and Raisin Bran, juice, coffee, milk, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and a couple of other things that I don't remember. The WHI is a suite concept and the extra room was much appreciated. We had a large living area along with a nice terrace. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but the suite is outfitted with pots/pans, dishware, flatware, along with stove, dishwasher, refrigerator -- all the comforts of home in case you wanted to have an extended stay and not have to go out to eat every day. The bed was very comfortable with lovely Matouk linens. The bathroom was modern but not the same luxury you get at OH--nonetheless the shampoo, conditioner and body wash are all the same amenities that you get at OH. The towels, however, were not of the same quality. Our suite had a fireplace which we didn't use but it added to the ambiance of the living room. Our biggest complaint was the HVAC--it is not central air but room air conditioners and they were quite noisy making for a bit of an interrupted sleep since we had to keep turning them off and on. We took advantage of the bikes on the next afternoon and then had a burger in the bistro before saying goodbye to Watch Hill for another season.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel H, President and Group Managing Director at Watch Hill Inn
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Dear Anon, Thank you for being a loyal guest to the Watch Hill area. We appreciate your praise for Watch Hill Inn and the amenities. If you’d like to email us at communications@oceanhouseri.com (including your name), we will look into what unit you were in, so we can ensure our maintenance team looks into the air conditioner there. We hope to see you again next year at Watch Hill Inn or Ocean House. Warm regards, Daniel Hostettler, President and Group Managing Director
Read more
RIDentist wrote a review Oct 2019
Providence103 contributions31 helpful votes
The Watch Hill Inn is a property that is affiliated with the Ocean House, a five star resort hotel. In contrast the Ocean House, the Watch Hill Inn offers condominiums for rent. Ours was a two level, two bedroom condominium with a kitchen, living room, and terrace with a harbor view. The unit was modern, impeccably clean, and well-appointed. The biggest benefit is that as a Watch Hill Inn guest, you had access to all that the nearby Ocean House has to offer including a first class spa, fitness center, and beach facility. There is a hospitality room with complimentary snack and beverages and the attentive staff is available 24/7. The Inn is located on Watch Hill's main thoroughfare with shopping and eateries at your doorstep. Parking is included in a gated lot.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel H, President and Group Managing Director at Watch Hill Inn
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Dear RI Dentist, Thank you for your five-star review of Watch Hill Inn and your kind words about the property. We’re delighted that you enjoy the setting, the accommodations and the wonderful little extras there. We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again. Until then, warm regards, Daniel Hostettler, President and Group Managing Director
Read more
travelingbanker wrote a review Aug 2019
New York City, New York25 contributions45 helpful votes
My daughter and I just stayed here Saturday and Sunday night. I’ve stayed at many Relais and Chateaux establishments and have never been disappointed until I stayed here. The is co-owned with the Ocean House hotel. From what I could tell there is a huge difference between the two. First off checking in is a circus. You have to go check in at the Ocean House, then follow a golf cart down the hill to a parking area. It would have been nice to know that as I arrived at the Watch Hill Inn, only to be told by someone that I needed to go up to the Ocean House. When finally got back to the Watch Hill Inn we carried our own bags through the parking lot to a very slow elevator up to the third floor “reception area”where we had to once again check in. And in leaving today there was no one in this reception area so we had to just leave the keys. The room doors for the “suites” are off a “motel like” shared breezeway. Yesterday we hadn’t locked our door and another guest walked right in. The doors are not self locking. We had a “terrace deluxe suite” which, with taxes and service fees was about $2,700 for 2 nights. That included a very limited continental breakfast and some snacks and drinks. More on that later. For that price I expected something pretty nice. It was not. It’s relatively cheap construction such as a plastic tub/shower combination, and two window air-conditioning units that are built into the wall which are the loudest A/C units I’ve ever heard. The terrace looked out at a relatively downtrodden apartment building and a parking lot. Not great bathroom amenities and smallish towels. No turn down service either. The “snacks” were some Chex mix, goldfish and malted milk balls. There was some soft drinks and some cans of local beer and cans of hard lemonade. Not what you would expect at a Relais and Chateaux. I called on Friday to make dinner reservations for Saturday or Sunday night for 2. I was told I could come at either 6 or 9:00. Really- at $2,700 for 2 nights you have no room for dinner except before 6:00 or after 9:00? The food was fine, and restaurant service good as was the beach service. But the overall experience was very disappointing for the price paid. I suspect the rooms in the Ocean House are much nicer so maybe staying there would justify the cost. But certainly not the facility and service at the Watch Hill Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel H, President and Group Managing Director at Watch Hill Inn
Responded Sep 25, 2019
Dear Travelingbanker, We’re saddened to read your review of the Watch Hill Inn, and apologize it didn’t live up to your expectations. Watch Hill Inn is designed to be an authentic, charming seaside Inn. It is a popular destination for families who want the convenience of having a kitchen and being in the Village while having the same beach and amenities as Ocean House. It does not however bill itself as co-owned by the Ocean House. It is a managed property with a charm of its own and access to Ocean House facilities. We welcome you as a guest of Ocean House if your plans ever bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Daniel Hostettler President and Group Managing Director
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
watch hill hotel watch hill, watch hill inn
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandWashington CountyWesterlyWatch Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Watch Hill Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Watch Hill Inn?
Nearby attractions include Napatree Point (0.2 miles), Watch Hill Merry Go Round & Beach (0.1 miles), and Watch Hill Lighthouse (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Watch Hill Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Watch Hill Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Watch Hill Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Watch Hill Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olympia Tea Room, St. Clare's Annex, and Coast.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Watch Hill Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Watch Hill Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Watch Hill.
Are there any historical sites close to Watch Hill Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Watch Hill Merry Go Round & Beach (0.1 miles), Stonington Lighthouse Museum (2.8 miles), and Captain Nathaniel B. Palmer House (3.4 miles).
Is Watch Hill Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.