We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1208 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1379
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$168
Booking.com
$183
Hotels.com
Only 2 left at
$168
Priceline$183
Algotels
Travelocity$168
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (199)
Room & Suite (48)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 8 hotels in Narragansett
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
The Break and its onsite restaurant, Chair 5, embrace the beach community history and surfer-chic surf vibe of Narragansett's distinctive stretch of sand and sea. With stylish suites and rooms, heated salt water pool, restaurant and bar, and an ocean-view rooftop lounge, guests can kick back and enjoy high-tech amenities and personal service at this boutique Narragansett hotel. Each room features a fireplace and heated bathroom floors. Complimentary curated buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. Our fitness room has the newest craze The Peloton Bike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Highchairs available
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Bowling
Canoeing
Casino and Gambling
Diving
Golf course
Hiking
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
409Reviews9Q+A92Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 342
  • 36
  • 20
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MelissaKKR wrote a review Today
Riverside, Rhode Island7 contributions1 helpful vote
Can I just say, swimming in January! Loved the heated pool and sauna. Hotel was beautiful, down to every last detail. They thought of everything, including little bags of ice in the fridges & delicious homemade cookies in the cookie jar! Staff was extremely helpful and super friendly. We stayed in an Ocean Suite, it was huge with chic furnishings, and you can't beat the sunrise views over the water.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Great location for a quick getaway if you live in RI, like I do, and you want to treat yourself...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Freddy wrote a review May 2022
14 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My wife and in the past 2 weeks spent 2 nights each week at this exceptional property. We have stayed the hotel before and will again. Narragansett is a lovely area full of charm and great ocean vibes and the break is the full definition of this. Classy but not over the top. The staff is amazing n also invisible if you want them to be. Check in flawless n we were recognized as prior guests.. nice touch. Our room was 301 sunset which we love. Great view of sunset. Room come with gas fireplace which my wife loves. Have never used tv but it’s big.the shower is luxurious. The heated bathroom floors are incredible. The salt water heated pool is the greatest idea ever. One day in out 2 separate 2 nights stay it was cool but the pool was GREAT. My wife loves this pool. Chocolate chip cookies available during the day which are delicious. The breakfast…… this time instead of Buffett it was menu n it was great. The young lady that was the sole waitress was PHENOMENAL. Attentive and thoughtful. And later she was cleaning rooms. Yikes what a worker as is all this staff. Kudos to the chef. PM worker polite and if needed informative. 5 stars 50 if I could rate it this high. Many places to go to and seek out in this area or just hang at the Break in the heated pool n the great sauna. The pool/ maintenance man is really cool and attentive to guests needs. Bikes are available. Go to this property you will not be disappointed n we have yet to try their chair 5 restaurant which we will soon🥰 See you again Jim n lisa
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded May 23, 2022
Dear Jim and Lisa, Thank you for the great review! We were so glad to hear you had an amazing time and got to enjoy some of the amenities we have to offer. We do take pride in our customer service, so I am glad we did not disappoint. Come back and give our restaurant a try, Hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori M wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions
There is not one bad thing to say about The Break - I went with my sisters and my daughter/grandson. The staff was excellent, the food and service were amazing and the decor was sthe best I've seen. My grandson enjoyed the outside heated pool at the end of January in New England - he was thrilled! Thank you Kim and staff for everything!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 863lorim, Thank you for a wonderful review! We are so glad your family had a great time here. The pool is the best for everyone to enjoy on a cold winter day. Please come back and see us again real soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie C wrote a review Jan 2023
10 contributions3 helpful votes
The Break is the epitome of what “boutique” means. This small and friendly hotel is a gem in southern Rhode Island. The decor evokes ocean waves with stylish turquoise textiles, dappled light fixtures and an exotic entrance with a stunning aquarium. The spa treatment ( we did a couples Hot stone special) was exceptional with both masseuses giving a wonderful warming and invigorating treatment. Breakfast was scrumptious in the stylish Bistro room. Even though it was January and raining it felt like we were in Miami for the most part!! Loved it !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear StephanieQ6059BK, What a lovely review! We are so happy you had a great time here. The spa is a wonderful way to relax and enjoy. Please come back and see us again real soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petrko wrote a review Jan 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you The Break Hotel for a great night. We will be back, and with our bathing suits. Yes, a proper 90 degree heated pool in January. All seafood in the restaurant was either local or wild caught. The drinks were awesome, and the bartender so zen and able to juggle the many personality types at his bar. And the restaurant is attached to an ocean facing deck. The staff was super helpful and kind. 5 Stars Gang!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Petrko, Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you were able to enjoy our restaurant and staff during your stay. Next time, bring your suit, so you can enjoy the pool! Look forward to seeing you real soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john D wrote a review Nov 2022
Westfield, Massachusetts333 contributions73 helpful votes
My wife and I just got home from a Thanksgiving stay here. We were pleased with the room we had a ocean view deluxe room with a balcony. Everything is very clean and nicely decorated. We got to use the nice gas fireplace in our room and they have many warm fires burning throughout the hotel, even one outside next to the heated pool. My wife used the sauna. Breakfast was included with our stay it's a buffet style breakfast with plenty of options. We didn;t have dinner here but we did go to the rooftop bar and enjoyed our cocktail looking at the amazing view. They do a nice job of thinking of everything and the staff was freindly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Dec 10, 2022
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are glad you got to enjoy our hotel over Thanksgiving. We hope you come back and see us again real soon. Happy Holidays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne G wrote a review Aug 2022
Scarsdale, New York4 contributions4 helpful votes
What a fantastic time, we LOVED it!! The hotel is beautifully decorated, the people were SOOO friendly and helpful, the pool was fabulous, dinner at Chair 5 was fantastic and definitely eat or have a drink on the west facing balcony to watch the sunset, it was perfect! The hotel provided us with beach chairs and towels which was so convenient. Our kids loved the chess set and fish tank in the lobby :-) The room was perfect with a king bed and then a pull out couch and it had sliding doors so the kids and parents could be a little separate which was great. At night there were chocolate chip cookies that were absolutely delicious and I think the highlight for our two boys. Thank you for such a wonderful stay and we truly hope to be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Sep 5, 2022
Dear Anne G, Thank you for the kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves here at The Break. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edward W wrote a review Jul 2022
Philadelphia, PA29 contributions49 helpful votes
Wonderful experience. The break has a casual elegance that made our stay comfortable and relaxing. The room was spotless, the pool refreshing, and the location perfect. There were small touches that we appreciated, such as having a cot ready in the room for our daughter without having to ask, and fresh baked cookies at check in. Very nice staff. We're looking forward to our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The ocean facing room is worth it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear EAW73, Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed our amenities and we look forward to seeing you again real soon. Have a great summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nico wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I highly recommend staying at The Break. It was perfectly located. Very comfortable. The pool and the area around the pool was beautiful. The restaurant on the 4th floors food was delicious with gorgeous view of the lighthouse and ocean. I hope I have chance to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear Nicolell7717FM, Thank you very much for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We had four suites for my son's wedding in late June, 2022. The hotel was more sophisticated than I expected for the Rhode Island coastline. Everything was superlative. All the the suites were bright, up to date, and most importantly , they were sparkling clean. And they were cleaned every day. The views of the ocean were spectacular. We had four young grandchildren with us. The hotel accomodated them well. There is a large aquarium in the lobby which kept the kids spellbound for hours. The pool was clean and safe. Breakfasts, which are included, were delicious and generous. Kim, the comely hotel manager, could not have been more helpful. We were even able to order room service for the grandchildren, which the hotel delivered to the rooms. The fifth floor restaurant/bar had great views and was a popular spot for afternoon drinks. There is even an ice cream stop about 200 yards from the hotel, which the kids loved! We had a fabulous long weekend. Kim and her staff run a fabulous operation. I would rate it a ten out of ten. We're looking for a reason to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the ocean. Great views!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear Paul, Thank you for the kind words. It was my pleasure to have met you and your family last month. We are so glad to hear everyone had a great time and enjoyed the pool and our amenities. We hope you will come back and see us again next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$189 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandWashington CountyNarragansett
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BREAK HOTEL $166 ($̶4̶1̶6̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Narragansett, RI

Frequently Asked Questions about The Break Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Break Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Narragansett Beach (4.6 miles), The Towers (4.1 miles), and Scarborough State Beaches (North and South) (0.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Break Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Break Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Break Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Break Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Break Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brickley's Ice Cream, Matunuck Oyster Bar, and George's of Galilee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Break Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Break Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Break Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Carpenter's Grist Mill (4.9 miles).
Does The Break Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is The Break Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.