We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1208 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882-1379
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (199)
Room & Suite (48)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/24/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Break Hotel
Updated 03/24/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 7 in Narragansett
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
The Break and its onsite restaurant, Chair 5, embrace the beach community history and surfer-chic surf vibe of Narragansett's distinctive stretch of sand and sea. With stylish suites and rooms, heated s;t water pool, restaurant and bar, and an ocean-view rooftop lounge, guests can kick back and enjoy high-tech amenities and personal service at this boutique Narragansett hotel. Each room features a fireplace and heated bathroom floors. Complimentary curated small plates breakfast is included in the room rate. Our fitness room has the newest craze The Peloton Bike.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Boating
Bowling
Diving
Golf course
Hiking
Mini golf
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
400Reviews9Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 332
  • 36
  • 20
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eileen Montross wrote a review May 14
1 contribution
With our long weekend stay in BI cut short due to weather, we weren't ready to head home so our friend recommended The Break in Narragansett and we couldn't be happier! Took a chance and walked in to see if they had a room available and sure enough yes! The assistant manager Kim was so helpful with getting us a room and making reservations in their rooftop restaurant. The 95 degree salt water pool and sauna looked very inviting but the weather was absolutely cold and windy that we didn't use it, though people were in it. Lauren made us great drinks and we had an awesome meal! Views of the ocean right there! Will definitely return with a "planned" trip next time! Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ocean View Room with private balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Emontross, We appreciate your kind words. So happy to have met you both, and everything worked out. We are glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant and meet Lauren! She is gem. Looking forward to having you back real soon. Have a great summer if we don't see you!
Read more
Freddy wrote a review May 7
10 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
My wife and in the past 2 weeks spent 2 nights each week at this exceptional property. We have stayed the hotel before and will again. Narragansett is a lovely area full of charm and great ocean vibes and the break is the full definition of this. Classy but not over the top. The staff is amazing n also invisible if you want them to be. Check in flawless n we were recognized as prior guests.. nice touch. Our room was 301 sunset which we love. Great view of sunset. Room come with gas fireplace which my wife loves. Have never used tv but it’s big.the shower is luxurious. The heated bathroom floors are incredible. The salt water heated pool is the greatest idea ever. One day in out 2 separate 2 nights stay it was cool but the pool was GREAT. My wife loves this pool. Chocolate chip cookies available during the day which are delicious. The breakfast…… this time instead of Buffett it was menu n it was great. The young lady that was the sole waitress was PHENOMENAL. Attentive and thoughtful. And later she was cleaning rooms. Yikes what a worker as is all this staff. Kudos to the chef. PM worker polite and if needed informative. 5 stars 50 if I could rate it this high. Many places to go to and seek out in this area or just hang at the Break in the heated pool n the great sauna. The pool/ maintenance man is really cool and attentive to guests needs. Bikes are available. Go to this property you will not be disappointed n we have yet to try their chair 5 restaurant which we will soon🥰 See you again Jim n lisa
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jim and Lisa, Thank you for the great review! We were so glad to hear you had an amazing time and got to enjoy some of the amenities we have to offer. We do take pride in our customer service, so I am glad we did not disappoint. Come back and give our restaurant a try, Hope to see you soon!
Read more
ellen h wrote a review Apr 2022
Madison, Wisconsin43 contributions10 helpful votes
A beautiful, comfortable and clean hotel with helpful and friendly staff made for a great stay. The breakfast was the best I have had at a hotel in years. The swimming pool looked inviting but we didn’t get a chance to use it this time. Definitely next time we are here we will be sure to swim and enjoy the attractive back patio area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Apr 8, 2022
Dear Ellenrh, Thank you for the nice review. We are so glad your trip was enjoyable! Hopefully, next time you visit, you will be able to enjoy the saltwater pool. Look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Nancy S wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything about The Break was exceptional. The decor was impressive. My room had a gas fireplace with two chairs. The pillows were fabulous -- best sleep I have had in a while. Breakfast is included...and it was DELICIOUS. I was there at the end of March and unfortunately was not able to use the pool or the 'free for guests' bikes. The staff was friendly and helpful. I cannot wait to go back and enjoy all of the amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I opted for a sunset room since the hotel has an indoor rooftop bar to see the ocean.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Apr 8, 2022
Dear ADigitalDiva, Thank you for the kind words! We are so happy you had a great time. Our mattresses are brand new, so it is nice to hear that you had a good sleep! We hope you can come back and see us real soon ,as we will have new surprise amenities awaiting your return.
Read more
GlobeBiker141 wrote a review Jan 2022
Old Lyme, Connecticut332 contributions159 helpful votes
Nice hotel. Spent only one night but will go back. Nice winter getaway. Lovely rooms, great bathroom amenities and heated floors. Nautical theme through out the hotel. Had wonderful massages with Victoria and Dale. Breakfast was simple but good. Best was the cookies they put out in a cookie jar on the floor we were on! Delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Apr 8, 2022
Dear GlobeBiker, Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you were able to use some of our amenities. The cookies are amazing!! Next time, you will have to swim in our outdoor heated salt water pool, and then enjoy our rooftop lounge for dinner! We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
giacobazzi wrote a review Jan 2022
New York City, New York3 contributions
Perfect spot for our girls’ getaway. The hotel was absolutely breathtaking in every way. The furnishings were gorgeous: fresh, tranquil and modern retro. IMMACULATE rooms. The staff-from owner Becky to Kim and Sarah at the front desk-made us feel right at home and were extremely hospitable. The spa is a must. Allison and Dale are experts at their trade. Facials and massages were amazing. And DO NOT miss the outdoor pool which is open all year and heated at 95 degrees. We went in 19 degree weather. An experience not to be missed. We are now planning a return trip with our husbands. Can’t wait!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Tom S wrote a review Jan 2022
Rochester, New York124 contributions81 helpful votes
Went here for a quick get away. Website promised tablet in the room that isn't there anymore; bar and restaurant on premises but they weren't open any of the four days we were there. The room and hotel were very nice, as were all the people. The outdoor salt water pool was a treat in January. Location is very nice lots of restaurants in the area. We probably will return in the summer to experience the hotel and area in season.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mel wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Such a special place. We had the best time swimming in the heated salt water pool in December and walking to the ocean. The sauna is also perfect. Beautiful hotel accommodations. The room was super comfy with a heated bathroom floor. Breakfast was delicious. We will see you again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Dec 14, 2021
Dear OceanloveRI, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our amenities while staying with us! The pool is spectacular this time of year. We hope you have a Happy Holiday and comeback and see us real soon.
Read more
Freddy wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions
My wife and I stayed fort he 2cnd time at the break in point Judith. Beautiful property. Superb customer service. This time we stayed in the sunset king room. Beautiful room. This time tub with wonderful rain shower head. Restaurant was closed for the 1 night we were there but lots of options in area to eat despite being “ off season “ the room was magnificent. The fireplace is beautiful n the overall ambiance of the room is perfect. The heated, salt water pool missing perfect and the little sauna is delightful. Perfect location in point Judith. Mr. Durkin is a genius. Complimentary breakfast was served buffet style was wonderful. Reminder... tip,you server they are still doing a great job. The break is a wonderful place where we have stayed 2. 3 nights 1x and only 1x this time. The pool is great 92 degrees of being spoiled. a++++++++
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jill S wrote a review Sep 2021
New York City, New York3 contributions
Beautiful hotel near the beach in Narragansett . Small, clean and modern decor. Warm and beautiful swimming pool and sauna.Breakfast Daily and even rooftop bar and restaurant. I would highly recommend for a place to escape with easy driving access to Newport and Watch Hill but without the crowds! Very friendly and helpful staff as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Baruti Assistant Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Break Hotel
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear JillS411, Thank you for the nice review. It was very nice nice to have met you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and see us again real soon. Have a safe and healthy rest of the year.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$398 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandWashington CountyNarragansett
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Break Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Break Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Narragansett Beach (4.6 miles), The Towers (4.1 miles), and Scarborough State Beaches (North and South) (0.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Break Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Break Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Break Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Break Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Break Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brickley's Ice Cream, Matunuck Oyster Bar, and George's of Galilee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Break Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Break Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Break Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Carpenter's Grist Mill (4.9 miles).
Does The Break Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is The Break Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.