We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
985 E Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-5359
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$239
View deal
Booking.com$239
Travelocity$239
Hotels.com$239
Priceline$239
FindHotel$239
Agoda.com$239
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (129)
Room & Suite (102)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 08/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from East Island Reserve Hotel
Updated 08/13/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Middletown
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
The East Island Reserve is an alternative to a traditional hotel stay with 24 one bedroom cottages, 10 studio style hotel rooms and 3 suites. Located next door to vineyards, near Newport Polo, beaches and much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
350Reviews4Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 273
  • 48
  • 14
  • 5
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JMDA1984 wrote a review Aug 11
Connecticut274 contributions142 helpful votes
We loved the hotel itself and the location. Your manager, (the women with the english accent) is a nightmare. We travel extensively and never have we been exposed to someone as rude and abrasive as her. We chose your hotel mainly because it's advertised as dog friendly. There were dogs everywhere which was great! I took my dog, a well behaved Boston Terrier to the pool area. I had just sat down at the table with my dog and she came bursting into the pool area and screamed at me that dogs were not allowed there. She then pointed at her wrist watch and demanded that I leave within two minutes or she would throw us out of the hotel. I told her that I was under the impression that this was a dog friendly hotel and assumed that they were allowed at the pool. She then wanted to know why I didn't read the pool rules posted on the board. I told her that I'm not in the habit of reading pool rules before I enter the area. She took offense and demanded that I leave immediately which I did. We asked the other guests in the area if they had taken their dogs in the pool area and many of them had, and many did not have certifications. They also commented that the manager is a little "rough". Sunday morning we packed up and loaded our cars on time and parked in the lot across from the office. I walked over to read the pool rules and it does state that dogs are indeed allowed if they adhere to a certain certification which our pet was tagged. My daughter, who is seven months pregnant was feeling hot so we went to the pool area with our tagged dog so she could relax a bit before the long drive home. None of us were using the pool, we were just sitting at the table. Your manager must have seen us and once again she came bursting through the gate, very, very upset and again starting screaming at my entire family, including my pregnant daughter, demanding that we leave or she would call the police and that she will charge us an extra hour for the "pool time". She demanded that we show her the dogs papers. My wife told her they were in her suitcase. This angered her more and she began to once again yell and threaten us. I have a bad back and my daughter is moving slow because of her condition so apparently we weren't moving fast enough which made her more angry and she accused my wife of trying to steal the FOB key. My family is VERY mellow and we certainly aren't use to being treated in this manner. I really believe that there's something wrong with her. At the very least she certainly could have handled this situation better. She also left a bad impression with your other guests who witnessed her tantrums. Stay away from this place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded today
Hi Jeanne, we take your comments very seriously. As you are aware from previous communication with our Director of Lodging, your description of your experience is inaccurate as we have security camera footage of you and your guests violating Rhode Island Department of Health and East Island Reserve Hotel regulations. Furthermore, many of these violations occurred after you had checked out of the hotel. We encourage you to please contact us directly if you have any further questions or misunderstandings of these violations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SurferGirlME wrote a review Aug 11
Louisville, Kentucky2 contributions
We loved our little cottage! The reservation and check in process was very smooth. Also I was impressed that someone called me after I made the reservation to make sure we knew it was a dog-friendly cottage, just in case we had allergies. The cottage was adorable and had everything we needed, and the bed was super comfy. We loved the little porch! And the location is very convenient to Newport. Hope to come back again sometime!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your great review! Glad you enjoyed the accommodations. We hope you return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kasia H wrote a review Aug 9
5 contributions
We were moving to Newport this summer and needed temporary accommodations while we waited for our permanent home to be ready. From the time I called and reserved our cottage with Aggie, I knew we would be more than satisfied with our stay at the East Island Reserve hotel. Aggie's friendliness, attention to detail and desire to provide all that we needed was incomparable. In fact, the entire staff was super accommodating, professional and attentive. I loved having a pool on premises and the Newport Winery next door. We loved how dog friendly the place is - our two dogs were also extremely happy with their stay, especially because they had about 5 miles of trails to explore on long walks every morning. I also want to mention the AMAZING cleaning stuff who made sure the place was spotless when we arrived. This is truly a 6 out of 5 stars place! Thank you, everyone! We hope to return :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your fabulous review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at East Island Reserve Hotel. Our team works hard to provide our guests with the best service. Enjoy living in Newport - we hope you return soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adampeterson4242 wrote a review Aug 9
Naugatuck, Connecticut2 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellent place to stay, clean rooms and great customer service Excellent location 10 mins from downtown Newport and right next to the vineyard/brewery. The room was exceptional and check in was so easy. Everything was clean and the bed was so comfortable. 10/10 would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your great review, Adam! We hope you return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanine A wrote a review Aug 7
East Hampton, Connecticut25 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights. Although it states it sleeps 4, the cottages are a bit small for 4 adults. The pull out couch was very uncomfortable, and very worn. My husband will have a sore back for days. The WORST part was the manager. On the first day, she told my husband he had to leave the pool with our Boston Terrier because dogs are not permitted there. However, he is a service dog, and the rules permit service dogs. She was VERY rude about it, and he had to try to calm her down as she threatened to throw him out of the hotel! On the last day it was over 90 degrees out. My daughter is 7 mos pregnant, and she wanted to cool off by the pool after we checked out. Most hotels, in our experience, allow that. Not here. The manager came running over to throw us and our dog out. No one else was at the pool at that time. She threatened to charge us for staying after check out and wanted the dog out of the pool. She told us that we should never come back to their hotel. She kept on us to leave--pointing at her watch and telling us we had 2 minutes to leave. It was hot, and moving fast was not easy for my daughter or my husband with his sore back from their bed. It is surprising that someone can be that rude and insulting to guests. There is a nice way to handle things like this, and there is a WRONG way. She chose the WRONG way. We will never be back. If you want to be treated respectfully, avoid this hotel and its manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded today
Hi Jeanne, we take your comments very seriously. As you are aware from previous communication with our Director of Lodging, your description of your experience is inaccurate as we have security camera footage of you and your guests violating Rhode Island Department of Health and East Island Reserve Hotel regulations. Furthermore, many of these violations occurred after you had checked out of the hotel. We encourage you to please contact us directly if you have any further questions or misunderstandings of these violations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shelley J wrote a review Aug 3
1 contribution
I stayed once at the lodge and once at a cottage and both were great! The unit are very comfortable and clean, with modern amenities. The grounds are meticulously maintained. The salt water pool was clean refreshing! The staff was professional and so friendly and helpful especially Aggie and Mariel!! Can't wait to visit again...already planning a trip for next year!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations both times. We can't wait for your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baltazar D wrote a review Aug 3
4 contributions
Quaint lodge steps away from Newport Vineyards was a great overnight stay. Will definitely stay again and hopefully in a bigger suite or condo with family next time. Only minor con was door locking system where if you forget to turn the deadbolt on your way out the room will remain unlocked.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your review! We look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AntNYC18 wrote a review Aug 1
New York City, New York88 contributions26 helpful votes
Perfect hotel for our two weeks in Rhode Island. Units are so large, modern with kitchens. The grounds are perfectly landscaped with a beautiful heated pool area. 5 minute walk to vineyard, 8 minute drive to great beaches. And the staff of wonderful and accommodating. We will be back every summer!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring food/snacks since there are kitchenettes in units
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're pleased to hear everything was to your liking. We look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa H wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
This is my second time staying here in one of their cottages and I’m already looking forward to coming back. The cottage was beautifully decorated and super clean. The location is great too (close to beaches and downtown Newport).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review and for continuously choosing East Island Reserve Hotel! We look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KarenC_1961 wrote a review Jul 2022
Stamford, Connecticut2 contributions
The cottages are beautiful, just right for a couple. All the comforts of home, including a washer/dryer. The grounds are lovely and it's just a short trip to downtown Newport. Would definitely recommend a stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Werner, Marketing at East Island Reserve Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review and recommendation!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesRhode IslandMiddletown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about East Island Reserve Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to East Island Reserve Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Newport Car Museum (2.7 miles), Firehouse Theater (3.3 miles), and Thames Glass (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at East Island Reserve Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at East Island Reserve Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at East Island Reserve Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to East Island Reserve Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bouchard, Corner Cafe, and Cru Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at East Island Reserve Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at East Island Reserve Hotel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at East Island Reserve Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to East Island Reserve Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Touro Synagogue (3.6 miles), The Elms (4.2 miles), and Chateau-sur-Mer (4.5 miles).
Is East Island Reserve Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.