We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Orbitz.com$120*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$124*
$120*
$124*
$124*
$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 875: English reviews
Start your review of Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Newport Beach hotel and Suites was nice, better than expected. It is very close to the beach and walking distance from the Cliff Walk. The room was spacious and clean. It was like a Studio with a small kitchen, living room, and a separate bedroom. The staff was friendly, and we also got an upgrade with a room view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aj1021n
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We know that you have many options when deciding where to stay and we appreciate you choosing us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our One Bedroom Suites in the Suites Building. We are pleased to know that our staff was able to make your stay memorable...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was the absolute worst. The Front desk people were horrible. The girl there was so mean. she did not even crack a smile while checking me in. She made me feel like she had better things to do than to check me..They have really do have bad guest service. As for my room, I got put into this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mkenziepacheco
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We regret to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the issues you mentioned and we will be addressing your concerns with the hotel manager. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed,...

Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Reviewed March 8, 2017

I'm here on the last day of a writing retreat for my doctoral dissertation. I booked a one bedroom king suite. The room is equipped with everything you could possibly need-- a full refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, dishes, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, washer and dryer, whirlpool tub, etc. The sliding glass doors off of the living area and bedroom also open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AleeM314
Chicopee, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

We had a gorgeous one bedroom king suite with whirlpool tub...rooms were amazing, clean and very spacious. Very modern and updated. It was a short stay so didn't utilize everything there. Across the street from beach and walking distance to some bars and food. Would definitely go again, would only go off season though price is ridiculous for peak season...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie C
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewed February 21, 2017

I am so very disappointed! We have been coming to this hotel for years and we have always been extremely happy (and written several awesome reviews) until our most recent stay. We checked in having made a specific request to have a room away from the elevator on a higher floor. We were given a room directly over the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hatterpride
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. We do have very rigorous standards of cleaning for our hotel and appreciate you bringing your issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is our...

West New York, New Jersey
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Excellent weekend at this property. Excellent location with beautiful views. Super clean rooms and pool area. Pleasant and,professional staff. Will defiantly stay here again. The beach is a few steps away so you can enjoy it everyday.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben F
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed February 12, 2017

I purchased a Groupon for the spa and utilized it for a couples massage with my partner. I find using Groupon to be very hit or miss with how the business itself interacts with you as a result of the purchase through Groupon. I called the spa first to schedule and left a message. I then missed the call from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jlturkington
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed February 9, 2017

I went to the hotel on a February evening during the off-peak season (there was a snow storm on the horizon, so no one was around), and I fully expected that the front desk attendant would be pleasantly surprised to get a walk-in. While he wasn't rude, he made me feel that he did not want my business. I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank adricornell
Guilford, CT
Reviewed February 6, 2017

Spent a weekend at the Newport Beach Hotel, the suite was unbelievable! I was impressed with the size of the suite and the amenities. One of the best features was the roof top Jacuzzi, we went at night and it was amazing to look at stars on a freezing cold night and to be warm in the Jacuzzi. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yolel
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and writing such a great review! We are to glad to hear you enjoyed the outdoor roof deck Jacuzzi with a beautiful view of Newport pond. We also hope you were able to take advantage of the indoor pool as well during your stay. As you mentioned, there...

Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

We went for a night away. For the price it was just decent. The view was beautiful. We stayed in the original historic building. The bed was very comfortable. Wished we had Netflix access. The bathroom was disappointing- barely any water pressure. We stayed on the second floor. It was kind of noisy the walls are definitely not sound proof....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

512 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (49)
Viewed
King Bed Room (61)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Middletown
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Price Range: $113 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Newport Beach Hotel and Suites staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
10 months ago
Medford MA
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Newport Beach Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Away from the pool”
Yolel, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“ask for a king room as the standard queen rooms are very small”
KandSZNH, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
“Plenty of beach views from hotel or suites-ask. The suites have plenty of room and are loaded.”
397ellenb, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“The beach is across the street. No need to worry about parking...just leave your car at the hotel.”
JKinMilw, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of the main hotel building with a wonderful view of the sea”
colinm930, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$120* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$124
TripAdvisor$120
Hotwire.com$120
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates