We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2835 Willow Street Pike N, Willow Street, PA 17584-9482
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$149
Hotels.com
Booking.com$149
Travelocity$149
Priceline$149
Vio.com$149
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (14)

About

Location
4.7
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
5.0
Value
4.8
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Apple Bin Inn, built in 1860, is located in the heart of Lancaster County. We offer 5 delightful guest rooms, including suites and a private cottage. A scrumptious full country breakfast is served each morning. All of our guest rooms feature private ensuite bathrooms, fireplaces, air conditioning, cable TV with DVD Player, Himalayan Sea Salt Lamps, USB charging stations, and free wireless Internet access. Come enjoy our renowned hospitality as you explore the beauty, charm, serenity, and spirit of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. We look forward to welcoming you to the Apple Bin Inn!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Children's television networks
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Interconnected rooms available
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
389Reviews0Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 355
  • 29
  • 1
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JbrittinNJ wrote a review May 2022
Somers Point, New Jersey62 contributions26 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay. The inn itself is charming, and there was some history in the guest book in our room. The hosts keep the place immaculate and are very accommodating. We stayed in the empire room and I thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our private balcony looking at the magnolia trees preparing to blossom. We had a comfortable bed with nice bedding. Eric was super friendly and sat with us all while we had our breakfast. He was able to tel us a bit of history of the area too. His wife and daughters were cordial and always smiling. We would have appreciated some room darkening shades or curtains, as the room was bright come sunrise. That would have perfected our stay. There’s some traffic noise, since the inn is right on the street, but that’s of no fault of the owners and hosts. It’s certainly not enough to keep us from coming back! Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ample parking for guests and outdoor space to relax.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
KatrinaSFristoe wrote a review Mar 2022
United States70 contributions25 helpful votes
Just got home after a great stay in Lancaster. The Innkeepers (I want to say Fred and Leusa?? I'm terrible with names!) were wonderful. Very warm and accommodating. My suite was too cute. Very comfortable. I slept like a log until about 6:00 am when the street traffic started! I am not used to that. It was somewhat disappointing since I really wanted to sleep in. I went down to a breakfast of French toast cloud pillows! So light and fluffy with a rum caramel sauce. Delicious. I informed them that I had an early day the next morning and they left me a wonderful breakfast to go! A warm panini, yogurt, fruit, juice, and coffee! So sweet of them to remember I take cream and sugar! I thought I might pick up a bottle of wine for my last night. Texted Fred(?) about an opener. It was on the bureau when I got in. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. Maybe a white noise machine if you are not used to the sounds of traffic right under the window. It was convenient to everything I needed to be close to, easy to find, and a very pleasant place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Front rooms are on the street and there is traffic noise. Bring a white noise machine.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kaitlyn L wrote a review Jan 2022
Utah1 contribution
Came with some girlfriends and checked it out last year. Had a great time. No problems. Very clean and charming. It has new owners and the innkeepers they hired were very nice. Good breakfast. For life during the pandemic, we felt like they did a good. Close to fun attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Travelnut491 wrote a review Nov 2021
Provo, Utah2 contributions1 helpful vote
Fun bed and breakfast close to Lancaster. Innkeepers were very nice and helpful. It was getting a bit chilly outside, but the swing and patio sitting area was nice in the afternoon. Breakfast was great and we were well cared for. Thank you for a delightful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Guy B wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Breakfast is not up to par with a good bed and breakfast. The caretakers were nice enough but didn't listen to me when I told them my dietary restrictions. Both days I was left hungry and was offered only sugary High carbohydrate meals that I couldn't eat because of diabetes. They told me they would just give me some eggs and bacon but that didn't happen. Other bed and breakfast there was many different things to choose from and a good wholesome breakfast. My recommendation is if you want to be full when you start your day go to a restaurant. The place was small and the heater didn't work. The neighbors were noisy and came right through the walls with basketball bouncing yelling and horns blowing. My recommendation stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Schick, Owner at Apple Bin Inn
Responded Nov 28, 2021
We're sorry your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We do endeavor to cater to all of our guests dietary needs. When you told us at breakfast about your low sugar diet we did prepare you the requested eggs and bacon. However, you left before we could get it out to you. We are so sorry you missed your breakfast and left disappointed. We have many very nice low and no sugar breakfasts we can offer as long as we know what your dietary needs are ahead of time and always work with our guests to provide the best possible offering based on your needs and desires. We did inspect our heater after we saw this review and the good news is it does work. There is a thermostat on the wall that needs to be turned up to make it function. If you would have told us that you couldn't get the heater to work we would have been happy to show you. We do have a couple boys that live next door to us and they do like to play basketball in the afternoons sometimes when its nice outside. Unfortunately, we can't do a lot about that, but the good news is that they finish and go inside around 7:00 and things do quiet down after that.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet F wrote a review Oct 2021
Morgantown, West Virginia558 contributions214 helpful votes
My husband and I were desperate for a getaway for the weekend and wanted to check out some attractions in nearby Strasburg. After checking out the website, we were really excited. The innkeeper (not the owner, the owners live in Utah and do not live on site) and her daughter kindly checked us in right at 3:00pm and showed us to our room. The room was nice. It was very clean. Didn't like that the TV wasn't visible from the bed but, rather, from a narrow little couch with no place to prop up my feet. However, the bed was very comfortable. I did like the environmentally friendly practices, but I thought they went a little too far with the single bottle of soap for hands, hair, and body attached to the wall in the bathtub. I forgot to bring hair conditioner and spent 20 very painful minutes trying to brush out my medium-length, wavy hair. Having three separate bottles (shampoo, conditioner, body wash) would've been nice and is more what I'm used to at this price point. Breakfast started off promising. A delicious fruit cup with herbs and honey but then the entree was toast with cheese and two sausage links wrapped in bacon. It was pretty light and didn't resemble what was illustrated on the website. Had I known the breakfast was going to be so light, I'd have skipped it in favor for a local restaurant. I felt like I wasted an hour on something I wouldn't even bother making for myself at home. Also, there was water and diet Pepsi available for guests. My husband got a diet Pepsi, opened it up, took a swig, and made a face. We looked at the bottom of the can. The best by date was in 2019. Very nice on the surface, but little details kept popping up that made for a less than stellar time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Schick, Owner at Apple Bin Inn
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Thank you for your review and letting us know about these concerns. We appreciate your opinion on the TV and soap options. We are working on refurnishing the sitting room right now and are addressing your issue and do want to make it a nice place to sit and watch a little tv. We are also looking at some different soap/shampoo options that are still environmentally friendly, but also hair and body friendly. Your criticism of your breakfast offering was fair and we apologize for that. We were trying to accommodate another guest's dietary needs and it should have been served only to him. Unfortunately, it got shared with everyone at the table that morning and was less then our normal offering should have been. We have reviewed what happened and are confident this won't happen to our guests again. As to the diet Pepsi, we don't know how that happened either. That fridge is freshly stocked with drinks on a regular basis and as soon as we saw this review we checked to see if there were any more like it. The rest of the drinks were fine with good best by dates. We are now checking dates on sodas as we put them in the fridge to keep that from happening again. Thank you for your stay with us and we are sure that if you stay again you will have a much more stellar time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SusanMikeTampa wrote a review Jul 2021
Tampa, FL234 contributions78 helpful votes
We have stayed at many B&B/Inns across the country over the past 15 years and have always enjoyed the high level of service, comfort, and hominess they provide. Unfortunately, this was not our experience during our stay at the Apple Bin Inn. We booked 5 nights at the Apple Bin Inn and were excited by the description, pictures, and reviews on their website. After a long travel day starting at 3:00 am, and spending the day touring Philadelphia (90+ degrees and very humid), we were excited to check into our room, shower, cool off, and relax. We called and spoke to the owner at 6:00 pm to let them know we’d be there at 7:00 pm. Upon our arrival, the innkeeper let us know that the central air conditioning was not working and they may have to put a window A/C unit in the room, as the entire Inn was hot and humid. We were also told that the owner was at the store purchasing fans to put in the rooms and would return soon. The innkeeper installed a window A/C unit (which didn’t help much), and we waited for over 2 ½ hours for the owner to return from the store with the fans. Finally, at 9:30pm, the owner arrived and the fans were set up in our room shortly thereafter. She could not provide us with a timeframe for when the A/C would be repaired, and never even offered an apology. In addition, although the website clearly states that all rooms come with a mini-refrigerator, ours did not. We were told that this was only last year when there were more precautions in place due to COVID. The owner said that the website had not been updated yet, and they had recently purchased the property (which we were also never informed of during the booking of our room or prior to our arrival). We told the owner we would stay the night, weigh our options, and depending on the air conditioning situation decide whether or not we would continue to stay there. She told us to call her the next day after we finished our activities and she would let us know the status of the AC repair. Our breakfast the following morning was served in our room and although it was decent, it was nothing close to the gourmet/hearty breakfasts pictured and described on the website. Upon our return to the property that afternoon the owner was not there, and we were told that the AC would not be fully working until the next day. Our room was just as we had left it with the bed unmade. At that point, we checked out of the Inn and asked the innkeepers to call the owner so we could speak with her, but she was not reachable. We understand that things happen that are out of anyone’s control, especially items like a failing AC, but how the issue is handled and transparency is what separates the exceptional from the mediocre. Lack of notification that there was a change in ownership and that the central AC was not working, not installing the window AC unit and fans prior to our arrival, the lack of a sincere apology, not making up our room, and the website not reflecting the current room amenities were all items that show a lack of care and service to us as paying guests of the Apple Bin Inn. The only positive from this experience is that we did receive a full refund for the one night we spent there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ron2-Shirley wrote a review Nov 2020
Springfield, Virginia16 contributions35 helpful votes
The Apple Binn was a delightful experience during a mid-week stay in the Lancaster - Amish area. Even though we were the only guest, safety practices at the AB Inn were thorough in every respect. We could not have been more pleased with Karen, owner and host, whose breakfast was a first class dining pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Room Tip: Rooms toward the front may have a bit more road noise. Stayed in the Empire room at back and did...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Simpson, Owner at Apple Bin Inn
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Thanks Ron and Shirley for taking the time to share your generous review. It was our pleasure to host your visit to Lancaster County, PA. We are delighted you enjoyed your get away and had a good experience at the Apple Bin Inn. We hope you are able to stay with us again sometime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StevesFamily00 wrote a review Oct 2020
Woodstown, New Jersey55 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed in the small cottage out back, and had a nice relaxing time. The breakfast was wonderful and we had a great time. We were close to Lancaster City for some great restaurants, and also close to the attractions of Lancaster County.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Simpson, Owner at Apple Bin Inn
Responded Nov 1, 2020
We are delighted your visit to Lancaster County was enjoyable and we were able to make that visit pleasant. Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion and kind words.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas K wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We arrived during the pandemic and Karen was extremely careful with the precautions we needed to take and made sure the Apple Bin was perfect for our healthy stay. Karen and Tom were the most best hosts ever. They made us feel like it was our home. The Bin was unbelievably clean and warm. A real step back in time when hospitality and warmth were common. I would recommend anyone stay here. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you Karen and Tom for a delightful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Simpson, Owner at Apple Bin Inn
Responded Nov 1, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to let other folks know that it is possible to get away safely during this unpredictable time. We appreciate your kind words and glad you enjoyed your stay. You are most welcome and we hope you are able to return for another visit sometime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaLancaster CountyWillow Street
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APPLE BIN INN - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Willow Street, PA - Lancaster County)

Frequently Asked Questions about Apple Bin Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Apple Bin Inn?
Nearby attractions include Garrett Fields (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Apple Bin Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Apple Bin Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Apple Bin Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Apple Bin Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apple Bin Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Willow Street Restaurant, Wasabi Japanese Restaurant, and Caruso's Italian Restaurant.
Is Apple Bin Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Willow Street.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Apple Bin Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Apple Bin Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting 1719 Museum (formerly 1719 Hans Herr House & Museum) (0.8 miles), Trinity Lutheran Church (4.5 miles), and Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church (4.1 miles).