We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shepherd's Inn

Save
Share
405 E Maiden St, Washington, PA 15301-5109
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (39)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Step back in time to a bygone era of hand-carved woodwork and gleaming tile in this 1888 Queen Anne style Victorian mansion just blocks from Washington & Jefferson College and the downtown and minutes from the Meadows Racetrack and Casino, Tanger Outlets and the Pittsburgh area.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Private bathrooms
Room types
Bridal suite
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
97Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 77
  • 15
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brandi Jo wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Due to covid my fiance and I had to redo our entire wedding. We chose Shepherd's Inn because it has a beautiful gazebo and covered back patio. We were able to have the ceremony at the gazebo and dinner on the patio. Drew, Jessica, and staff did an amazing job to make our day do special. They were friendly, efficient, and thorough. This is an excellent spot for any small gathering.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Todd J wrote a review Jul 2020
Wildwood, Missouri18 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a grand old home with classic features and details... but the first thing you notice when you drive up is that the exterior paint is cracked and peeling. It has all the potential but needs the investment in renovations which are yet to come. I booked their best room. It was elegant and orinigial. So original that this room does not have a television. The bathroom is very original as well . But no soaps, shampoos or toiletries. The bed was lovely and a true period piece. The air conditioning are teo window units and 2 over head fans. They cooled the room well but they are noisy. I want to live this place but I felt like I was staying at a renovation in process.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Nicole B wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
This is an elegant & beautiful home, with many original finishes. Heidi, the innkeeper, was phenomenal! She went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and comfortable. The Marjorie Ellen suite had an amazingly comfortable bed, albeit super squeaky. The room does lack privacy and ability to darken the room, utilizing all sheer lace curtains and the shower was awfully small, the shower curtain clings to wet nakedness, which is something I detest, though the bathroom itself is large and accommodating. All in all, we'd stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
nowvoyagerVirginia wrote a review Nov 2019
Virginia9 contributions
We were greeted warmly when we arrived at this stately Victorian home, now a bed and breakfast in Washington,PA. Our room had a canopied bed that was so tall that movable stairs were provided to make it easier to crawl into. After settling in we headed downtown for dinner at the President’s Pub which Heidi, the manager, recommended. She seemed surprised that we planned to walk the 3/4 miles to the tavern but it was a nice way to see the campus of Washington and Jefferson College. While the food at the tavern was good, the drinks were better! After a very restful night we awoke to the smell of fresh baked biscuits! Delicious with lovely elderberry jam. Coffee was excellent. Our stay was very brief as we needed to get back on the road but we were well looked after at this Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
FMD126 wrote a review Apr 2019
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania84 contributions33 helpful votes
My husband had to go to Washington PA for a work-related event and instead of staying at an anonymous hotel, we love to check out historic B&Bs. Tim and Rose, the owners, could not have been nicer people: welcoming, accommodating, and knowledgeable about the area. We stayed in the Kaylee room which has a beautiful 4-poster bed and seating area. The whole place is stuffed with antiques and victoriana, so if you like looking at old photos and antique dolls and figurines, this is definitely the place for you. Tim and Rose accommodated a ridiculously early breakfast time request and the meal was filling and delicious: fresh fruit, stuffed french toast, sausages, juice, and coffee. They even let me take a piece of french toast home! The reason I say in my title "grab it quick" is because Tim and Rose are going to be retiring, and I believe Tim said that the place would be sold in June! (2019) He hopes it will stay a B&B--and so do I. It's a lovely place and extremely convenient to the downtown area (a 15 minute walk) and the university. But if it remains a B&B it will have new owners, who I hope are as lovely as Tim and Rose are. So check the web site for availability--it'll still be open for the next couple of months so I don't want to dissuade anyone from stopping in. It will be your chance to experience this lovely place--and the kindly hosts--before they retire and spend time with their grandchildren! Don't miss it!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: All the rooms are good! Some are smaller than others but you won't be disappointed with any...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Traveler11125902026, Owner at The Shepherd's Inn
Responded Aug 20, 2019
Thanks for your wonderful review! I'm the new owner and it reopens September 1st as The Shepherd's Inn. The website will direct you to our new website as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaWashington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Shepherd's Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Shepherd's Inn?
Nearby attractions include LeMoyne House (0.5 miles), David Bradford House (0.6 miles), and The Washington Winery (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shepherd's Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Shepherd's Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shepherd's Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shepherd's Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Union Grill, The Washington Brewing Company, and President's Pub.
Is The Shepherd's Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Washington.
Are pets allowed at The Shepherd's Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Shepherd's Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting LeMoyne House (0.5 miles), Washington Cemetery (1.1 miles), and Washington County Courthouse (0.6 miles).