We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Atherton Hotel

Expedia.com$79*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$101*
$79*
Great Deal
$89*
$89*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Atherton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 453: English reviews
Start your review of The Atherton Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Every chance I get to come out this way I love staying at this hotel. Very nice. Walking distance to everything on the main strip. Excellent service and excellent food. I've stayed here about 6-8 times and plan to stay here many more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BryanMorrow1
Vancouver, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located and perfect for staying in the hub. Just out the front door is steps from all the shops and restaurants. They have a airport shuttle and this is nice when your not renting a car. The hotel a a nice lounging area for sitting, visiting or just reading the paper each morning. There is indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darryl F
About Hotel's Favorite Review
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We really appreciate your time in sharing your comments and insight with other travelers. Mostly we are just really pleased to know that you had a great time. Your business is appreciated. As a small independent hotel we value each and every customer. If you're coming back to the area and would...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here during a conference. Room was very nice and clean. No fridge, though! Good thing vending machines were not over priced like other hotels. Had several meals catered by The Atherton Hotel during conference. All were very good. There was this stuffed chicken that was delicious. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is right downtown in walking distance to almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B.J. N
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time in sharing your review. We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your conference was a good one. We will pass your compliments along to the Chef. Maggie Biddle, General Manager

york, pa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

charged twice for same reservation. called hotel to inquire and double charge and front desk staff stated "I cant help you with any kind of credit even if you were double charged, you'll have to call back in the a.m." Did not even bother to take a look at the reservation, was very unhelpful and this is POOR customer service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nurse3793
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue--you were never charged twice. We have been trying to contact you in regard to understanding your charges and the false accusations you are making online. We cannot charge a guest's room to another guest's room without a signed authorization form. When you made the reservation and guaranteed it with your credit card possibly--guaranteeing the room does not mean...

Harrisburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a wonderful experience at The Atherton Hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, however, you need to request a refrigerator and/or microwave for your room. Parking is limited and the spaces are tight. It's close to great shopping and restaurants in downtown State College.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your high rating and for your time in sharing your experience. Your business is appreciated.

Webster, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my favorite hotel in State College. It's upscale but not stuffy, and generally has good food in both the sports lounge and the dining room. However, the Eggs Benedict with overcooked (hard-boiled) eggs without any hollandaise sauce was a dry disappointment this time. :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgeckle
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled to be your favorite hotel in town. The Eggs Benedict is one of our very best sellers and my personal favorite on our menu as well. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience and the eggs were harder than you expected this time---that really is disappointing!. I hope you will...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We picked the Atherton Hotel due to the fantastic location at the edge of the Penn State main campus when we were traveling for a college tour. We were just looking for a simple hotel with parking. We were in for a pleasant surprise! The lobby was beautiful (like wedding picture perfect), the room was clean, the beds were comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funtravelswith2kids
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

We are thrilled and flattered by your lovely comments. Thank you so much for sharing your review. As a small independent hotel our staff works hard to live up to our guests expectations. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff at The Atherton. Please contact me directly if I can be of service to you during...

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed April 8, 2017

I only spent 1 night at the Atherton Hotel but found it to be the perfect place to stay in downtown State College. The value for money was excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the bar at this hotel. I enjoyed wonderful craft beers and very good bar food. The fact that you can walk into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John1949 L
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing us for your recent stay in State College. We are really happy you enjoyed the value and our bar. Your high praise and kind words for our staff are truly appreciated. If I can be of service to you in the future please contact me directly before your next...

Reviewed March 31, 2017

We had our first visit to PSU and could not have been happier with the Atherton.. The location is one of 3 which are downtown. The staff is tremendous.. Our suite had a great sitting room with a TV.. The beds were comfortable as well..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blockward
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review and for choosing The Atherton for your first visit to Penn State. We are really appreciative of your business and of your comments and feedback. If I can ever be of assistance to you during future visits to the area, please feel welcome to call upon me directly: mpb@athertonhotel.net. Maggie Biddle, General Manager

philadelphia
Reviewed March 23, 2017

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. The first time was ok except it was marred by a very temperamental hvac unit. The hotel GM was gracious enough to send me a free room coupon which is what I used tonight for a standard room. I really wanted to like this hotel because of it's location and it's friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deckm
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lengthy review. I'm sorry that the room felt too warm and that you did not enjoy the WiFi but I am glad to know that you enjoyed your free stay with us in so many aspects. Your depiction of the hotel is somewhat unfortunate and inaccurate since we have been in the process of extensive updates and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Atherton Hotel
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Price Range: $91 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Atherton Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Atherton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top floor rooms have very little, if any, street noise.”
williambD7549HS, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on the west side are quieter.”
jmill14007, Mar 23, 2017 | Read review
“do not get close to the elevator !! Or facing a street, I heard sirens two nights out of the 4 that I was there”
bsbrown1980, Mar 23, 2017 | Read review
“A room with a side-street view will be quieter.”
Lin0515, Mar 21, 2017 | Read review
“Room 615 brand new”
619tammym, Feb 22, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$79* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$89
AscendHotels$89
TripAdvisor$79
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates