We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 Cricklewood Drive, State College, PA 16803
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$621
Expedia.com$621
Hotels.com$621
Orbitz.com$621
Tripadvisor$621
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com$621
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (111)
Dining (49)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#12 of 24 hotels in State College
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Carnegie House has long been a preferred destination among hotels near Penn State University. We stay that way by listening to what our guests have to say.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Horseback riding
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese
285Reviews6Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 223
  • 36
  • 9
  • 5
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NJ M wrote a review Jan 2023
Morris County, New Jersey1 contribution1 helpful vote
Disturbing. John the Manager is untrustworthy and disingenuous. I will never stay at this facility. I booked 2 rooms for my family of 6 for a Penn State Football game weekend way in advance. I found a great price online and booked it and paid for it right away. I called the Carnegie House Hotel directly to make sure they had my reservation and it was confirmed. This reservation is for September 2, 2023. I booked this room in December 2022 and felt assured that i was all set. Today, January 19, 2023, I received a text that my reservations have been cancelled. I was puzzled because i did not cancel my reservation. I called the Carnegie House Hotel and was told that the manager John cancelled my reservation because the price i paid was low considering this is a football weekend. How is this right that they can just cancel my reservation without notice or options? John the manager of the Carnegie House Hotel at State College took it upon himself to cancel my reservation without notifying me. I knew it was a good deal and I paid in advance. This is disturbing and poor practice! So is this the new norm for hotels to cancel reservations when people get good deals? How am I to trust future reservations online with reputable websites?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Zalewski, General Manager at Carnegie House
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning ! You canceled All your room reservations on January 9 at 6:43 pm through Expedia as the rates sold to you from a 3rd party vendor were incorrect as stated in my multiple communications with you. We understand how frustrating it is to book a $1200 room night and think your are getting a great deal . We always advise clients to call the hotel direct as there are many glitches with third party booking sites to ensure accuracy. Many customers read comments and we wanted to respond with our facts to further stress calling the hotel direct for booking needs. If you require any further explanation, I will be happy to try to reach you again as I have left messages. . Good day to you . Hospitably …. JRZ
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pgepia wrote a review Sep 2021
Downingtown, Pennsylvania5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
The staff is fantastic, very professional and could not be more helpful ... the receptionist, bartender, wait staff, and the chef could not have been more helpful and all helped provide a delightful time for us and our dinner guests. They have the best fine dining restaurant in State College, and an extensive wine list. Many thanks to Cheryl, Dawn, Cindy, and Chef Chris ... we will be back. One of my guests decided to book a room for their upcoming trip next Spring and plans to host his own dinner party with the Carnegie. Breakfast in the dining room or on the patio overlooking the golf course should not be missed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier Bottois, Owner at Carnegie House
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear Pgepia, Thank you for your kind review! I will make sure to share with the entire team especially Cheryl, Dawn, Cindy and Chef Chris! We all look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future! Olivier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
darcyfey wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions
We were recently privileged to stay at the newly renovated Carnegie House. We have stayed at this lovely hotel several times before, so we were both curious and anxious about the results of the renovation, as we loved its original country house style. While the change has been drastic, from traditional country house to on-trend lux maximalist boho, we were very impressed! The Carnegie has brought NYC style to the wilds of PA, and it WORKS! Room 5 was done in champagne and shine, with well thought-out luxury touches and exquisite amenities. The public spaces, including the new cozy and comfortable bar area and the updated Grace Restaurant have both expanded capacity and created a more intimate and focused dining experience. What has NOT changed is the warm and welcoming staff! Each and every staff member we dealt with was kind, welcoming and helpful. Always a smile, always willing to chat and to go the extra mile for any request. Cindy at the bar (our master of cocktails), Cheryl at breakfast, Emily at the daytime desk and the lovely young lady at the desk in the evenings whose name, unfortunately, escapes me, were always there to bring a smile. Another thing that has not changed is the wonderful Grace at the Carnegie Restaurant: a destination in itself for its exceptional cuisine and expert staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Zalewski, General Manager at Carnegie House
Responded Nov 14, 2022
Thank you so very much for your kind words and comments. It was our pleasure to serve you . Come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lailaloo816 wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Last August, I received a gift certificate for services at the Carnegie Inn and Spa for my birthday. Over the year, I tried several times to schedule different things…manicures, pedicures, and massages. Each time, I was told there was no availability or if there was, they would literally cancel my appointment at the very last minute. A variety of excuses...someone quit, a broken ankle, etc etc etc! And I would receive these cancellations via text! It was so unprofessional. Two months ago I tried to call and schedule something AGAIN, only to be told the spa was no longer there and had closed down! Obviously I want my money back. I have called now five times with no answer on getting it back. Today I spoke with Emily, and she told me her manager was “in meetings” and couldn’t talk to me, but that there was still no answer on when or IF I would get the money back. I then asked for the upper management information so I can contact them, but she told me she isn’t privy to that information and could not provide that information to me. I would never recommend this company to anyone! I hate leaving a bad review but this is very poor customer service and we deserve our money back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Malamed wrote a review Jun 2022
Seattle, Washington24 contributions47 helpful votes
We booked online and received a confirmation email from this hotel but when we arrived they claimed they did not have our reservation. The front desk person went to the hotel kitchen to call his manager to see if there was a room ( clearly there was one or he wouldn’t have bothered to check). Nevertheless, he got off the phone and claimed there was not a room. This was 9:45 PM on a Friday night and we had no place to go after flying in from the West Coast. The front desk person told us that the manager would call us the next day. Of course, we never heard from the manager the next day. What makes this even more unbelievable is that I had called the hotel the day before to confirm something about the room and I got a call back telling us that they were looking forward to our arrival. They also had our personal information in their system. How was that possible since we have never stayed there before. The front desk person said that they were having trouble with online overbooking with 3rd party sites but we booked directly on their website. So that excuse does not hold up. Besides, if they did have an issue with overbookings even one time with another guest then why were they not reaching out to everyone with a reservation who had booked online? Overall a terrible experience. Please don’t book this hotel or you might get stuck like we did.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not make a reservation to begin with!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicole V wrote a review Oct 2021
Madrid, Spain2 contributions
I stayed at the Carnegie House for 10 days while visiting my daughter at university. We enjoyed our stay very much and felt at home during our time here. I will definitely be coming back soon! The breakfast at the Carnegie House was delicious and the service was amazing. Our waitress for breakfast, Cheryl, provided excellent service and went the extra mile every morning to make us feel welcome and comfortable while dining. We had a wonderful time at the Carnegie House and I believe that it is one of the best places to stay in and dine at in State college!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Carnegie House
Responded Oct 22, 2021
Dear Monica, Thank you very much for writing your review following your recent stay with us at Carnegie House. It was great to read that you enjoyed your 10 day stay visiting your daughter at University and that you enjoyed the experience spending time with us! Cheryl was thrilled to read your comments and wanted me to thank you. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Olivier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley B wrote a review Sep 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely amazing Everyone was friendly The chief was amazing The food ....absolutely worth the trip 💕 Jayme was so nice. she showed us a room ( we are thinking of staying around the holidays) Can't wait to go back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Carnegie House
Responded Oct 22, 2021
Than you for your kind comment. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Grace Restaurant! We look forward to welcoming you back! Olivier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca W wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have never written a review but out of concern for others who may stay here, I believe I had to. My husband and I stayed at Carnegie House on Sept. 5th. Upon walking into our room it smelled musty and damp. We inquired with housekeeping if the rooms generally smell this way and the response was some have a stronger smell than others and stated our room had a strong smell. The front desk let us know they would try to work on another room and would text us if they could not accommodate as we would have looked to have stayed elsewhere. We returned about six hours later having not received a phone call or text. The front desk let us know they could not accommodate us with another room as the hotel was sold out. We went to our room, room 20, and opened the windows to air out the room. The windows were filthy and had cobwebs all over. The next morning my husband thought he saw water damage on the ceiling, this would explain the smell. There were definitely water stains on the carpeting. I looked closer at the ceiling, it was mold. We stayed in a room with mold growing all over the ceiling. We showed management and requested the room not be rented to anyone else until the mold was removed, we both had a burning sensation in our throats the next day and wanted to prevent anyone else from the experience. Management did comp the room but... On another note, the entire staff was extremely pleasant including the manager. Due to the room experience, we will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Check your room thoroughly, we stayed in room 20.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier Bottois, Owner at Carnegie House
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear Rebecca, Thank you for your review following your stay with us recently. In anticipation of our upcoming renovations we decided to close a few rooms and I am sorry to hear that you were assigned one of them. This should not have happened. While we did not charge you for the room we do understand your concerns and apologize once again. On a positive note I am happy to hear that you enjoyed interacting with our staff and thank you for that acknowledgment. Olivier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keri F wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
We recently sold our home in state college and stay multiple times at Carnegie House because of the excellent staff, cleanliness and location. Heather and Cheryl are two of this establishments greatest assets! Cheryl thank you for your warm smile and positive demeanor and Heather thank you for going beyond our expectations and providing the best service we’ve ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier Bottois, Owner at Carnegie House
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Thank you for your kind comments! I will make sure to share with Cheryl and Heather! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Olivier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lu904 wrote a review Sep 2021
New York City, New York5 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely setting. Big clean rooms. What really sets this inn apart is Cheryl, the server and all-around go-to gal for anything and everything. Cheryl takes excellent care of everybody, and she's warm, funny, engaging and really bright. So I hope this huge asset to Carnegie gets the recognition she so deserves. And Taylor's a charmer too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier Bottois, Owner at Carnegie House
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear Lu, Thank you for sharing your experience at Carnegie House in one of our renovated rooms! It will be a pleasure to share your kind comments with Cheryl and Taylor! Olivier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$313 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carnegie house hotel state college
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaState College
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARNEGIE HOUSE - Updated 2023 Prices & Boutique Hotel Reviews (State College, PA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Carnegie House
Which popular attractions are close to Carnegie House?
Nearby attractions include Penn State University (2.5 miles), The Arboretum at Penn State (2.1 miles), and Pegula Ice Arena (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carnegie House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Carnegie House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Carnegie House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Carnegie House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carnegie House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Berkey Creamery, The Original Waffle Shop, and The Waffle Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carnegie House?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Carnegie House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carnegie House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Chinese.
Is Carnegie House accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.