We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Applebutter Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Applebutter Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

This is such a lovely old building in a charming small town, but it's in need of work. The housekeeping could be a little better too. We misplaced our car keys, so we moved around furniture and looked under the bed trying to find them. Lots of dust bunnies and cobwebs under the bed and in the corners. The central... More 

Helpful?
Thank calico696
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

The only thing the "Inkeeper" did for us was charge our credit card! Had to retrieve my own key and fish around for a breakfast coupon in the morning. Not a soul in sight! This is NOT a bed and breakfast!

Helpful?
1 Thank Debski0324
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

not sure I understand...I was away but the girl was working on their room when they arrived. She said she talked to them and gave them the coupon we use to get breakfast down the street. but we always have coffee and breakfast bars in case something is needed before...We usually explain the breakfast situation when people make their reservation... More 

Travelers are raving about these Slippery Rock hotels

Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Always feel welcome when we stay here. Sorry that this may be our last visit to this area as our daughter graduates from SRU tomorrow. Have enjoyed all of the different rooms we have stayed in. Got a kick out of the canopy beds high enough you need steps to get in.

Helpful?
Thank Susaneac
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us hopefully you will get back again. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

If you've never stayed in a place that was originally built in 1844, you've got to try it. Every wooden step, each hearthstone, and wooden beam just oozes with history. To know that these floorboards were trodden on in the mid and late 1800's is enough to send a shiver up your spine. From the warm welcome in the evening... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DVBerwyn
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us...and glad you enjoyed the history of the house More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Spacious room was great for the family (awesome showers too). Owner is former Slippery Rock prof who has good info, if that's why you're there. Awesome guy! Really glad I found this most interesting gem. Hope to be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank William M
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words...glad I did not bore you with my stories of the Town and college. More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Very nice accommodations, beautifully decorated. When we arrived the key was on the counter as the Inn keeper had told us it would be. The breakfast ticket allowed us a nice option of two different restaurants for breakfast. They are less than a mile away down in Slippery Rock. This also allowed us to sleep in. We had breakfast at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kenogold
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments..hope you will be back soon. More 

Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We were pleasantly greeted upon our arrival and were shown the room before we checked in which was very nice. The inn was quite booked so the clerk placed us in a room which was away from the larger group booking. The room itself was charming, tastefully decorated and furnished with lovely antiques. The room was wonderfully set up to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

The room these guests stayed in is the only room we have that has a King Bed. We have purchased a newer set of sheets but the were being cleaned. We will soon be purchasing another set of sheets for the bed and then will be able to retire the old sheets. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I always find it crazy when people review a place that is reasonably priced as if it should provide 5 star level accommodations. This is the most economical B&B we've ever found and for the price, $115.00, it was amazing! The Innkeeper, Buzz, was very friendly and gave us a lot of suggestions. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richelle F
R V, Manager at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words...We like to stay out of your way and let you enjoy the house. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have you ever wanted to drink whiskey from a duck decanter? Do you long for the ambiance of your blind grandmothers home?Have you ever wanted to look at a Jackson Pollack made of mildew while showering? Then folks, the Apple Butter Inn is your Mecca.Not only will you enjoy the peace and quiet of the environment, but you will also... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Dohrtsbegorts
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

Each room is to have at least 2 bottles of shampoo and 2 bars of soap. There are to be 2 towels, 2 wash cloths, and 2 hand towels along with a bath mat. If more towels are needed there are spares in the maids closets in the hall. Linen is washed when the previous guest leaves as well as... More 

North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We got my parents a night stay for 40 th anniversary! Very disappointed after what they told me. 1st no one was there called person told them b there in 1 hr ok they left came back. Get to room only had 1 towel & wash cloth but 3 hand towel. No one at front desk! Space heater in room... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Denise F
R V, Owner at Applebutter Inn, responded to this review

We had a greatcook for over ten years. Due to an illness she had to retire. We have tried 3 other cooks since then. They were either unreliable or did not meet normal standards. When they did not show up to cook we either reimbursed the guest for breakfast or sent them down the street and picked up the bill.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slippery Rock
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Slippery Rock
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grove City Inn
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Grove City
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grove City
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grove City-Prime Outlet Mall
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Butler
Hampton Inn Butler
#1 of 7 in Butler
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Nestled in the rolling green meadows of rural Western Pennsylvania, the Applebutter Inn offers a window to the past. Guests can experience the elegance of a more gracious bygone era, and still enjoy the luxury of today's comforts and pleasures. Breakfast is served at a quaint restaurant in town. There is a fabulous restaurant in the adjoining property. Each room is decorated with period antiques. There are several areas at the Inn where friends can meet, you can spend some quiet time, or just sit with someone special and watch the flames jump in the fireplace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Applebutter Inn

Address: 666 Centreville Pike, Slippery Rock, PA 16057-3006
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Slippery Rock
Price Range: $98 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Applebutter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Applebutter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applebutter Hotel Slippery Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay