We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shippen Place Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shippen Place Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shippen Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Reserved this location based on the reviews, and I was definitely not disappointed! Stayed here 2 nights for our trip to Gettysburg. Enjoyed the restaurant and bar. Sat outside the first night, enjoying our meal, great service and the perfect weather. The next night, sat inside the restaurant, enjoyed a great meal, service and ambiance. The room was very comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear from you and to discover that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It is great to hear that we were able to meet your expectations of service and hospitality! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend for the weekend. The room was great and the king size bed was so comfortable. The only strange thing was the corner room we had didn't have darker curtains that closed but in the morning the sunlight wasn't as bright as we thought. The staff was great and polite. We got in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
Mallory W, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I love hearing when guests have a great time during their stay. It is awesome to hear that our staff members were polite and that the restaurant met your expectations. I will be sure to share with the staff that they provided you with the quickest check out you've ever had. We hope to...

Mount Arlington, New Jersey
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Booked hotel for 2 nights. Going to see Diamond Rio band at Luhr Performing Center Sat Oct 22. Got here today. Ate at University Grille for lunch and dinner. Lunch great and dinner even better. Tonite Friday, was Steak Night. I had fillet mignon, my husband the 14 oz ribeye. Both cooked to perfection. If you visit here, you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia777
Mallory W, Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the University Grille's new Friday night steak special and it left a good impression. I also wanted to thank you for reviewing us on trip adviser as well as giving us details about your stay at the front desk at check out. It really does help...

Reviewed October 16, 2016

Very loud guests and rooms that don't offer a buffer from the hall noises and the road noises. Nicely appointed rooms and a great lobby area. Terrible breakfast if you want more than coffee and a cup of yogurt (eggs /sausage look plastic )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
Cassandra K, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad your found good value in our rooms and lobby. I am deeply sorry to hear that you had trouble with noises and the breakfast. We are working on addressing your concerns to insure this is taken care of immediately.

Williamsburg, VA
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We spent four nights here over a holiday weekend when everything was booked solid in Gettysburg. We enjoyed our stay in this quaint, historic town, & it was only a 40 minute drive to Gettysburg. Pleasantly surprised with how nicely appointed our rooms were - my brother had a King suite with a large sitting room with TV, mini kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VASAFARI
Cassandra K, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are thrilled to hear about your stay. It is good to hear that you found our corner king and our king suite exceeded your expectations. It is also amazing to hear that my staff members were very helpful, I will be sharing your review with them to commend them on a job well...

Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

We found this hotel to be one of the nicest. People were very friendly., rooms were clean & good breakfast with good space. They even had a banquet set out when we went in to get a room. Would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pondlong
Cassandra K, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pondlong, Thank you for leaving your five star rating of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay as well as our breakfast and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean, comfortable , and hospitable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business...

York Haven, PA
Reviewed October 12, 2016

My family and I stayed here when we visited my younger cousin at college. She turned 21 and we went to celebrate with her. This is a great little hotel. Very clean, great staff. Centrally located in town. There is a bar in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLT1979
Cassandra K, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had a positive experience while staying with us. Here at Shippen Place our staff finds pride in quality work. It is always great to hear feedback from a satisfied customer. We hope your cousin had a very happy birthday!

Doral, Florida
Reviewed September 21, 2016

This hotel is a small town hotel in the downtown area. The price is a little high for a stay in the area, but the staff is nice, there is a restaurant and bar attached, and a coffee shop that is very quaint.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bolivey
Cassandra K, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bolivey, Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition.It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to impress you with our hospitality and comfort have been successful. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing Shippen Place Hotel...

Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed September 18, 2016

A good hotel to stay in this area. The restaurant/bar has a good vibe and food was good. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Hotel is in a good location and you can walk to places if need be. There was nothing really negative about the hotel, but it wasn't a 5 star hotel in terms of fancy, accommodations,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lolo c
Cassandra K, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lolo c. We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home and that you experienced no difficulties with our services or amenities. We are very happy to learn that...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We enjoyed this nice clean hotel in downtown Shippenburg. Very affordably priced, with a continental breakfast. Close to other restaurants, they do have one in hotel, but we did not visit it. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan0113
Cassandra K, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind words and your business.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#2 of 6 in Shippensburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
288 reviews
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
10.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Shippen Place Hotel

Address: 32 E. King Street, Shippensburg, PA 17257
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Price Range: $59 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shippen Place Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
North Port, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shippen Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get room on fourth floor and/or one not on the street side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles J6541NSmariav, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We stayed in an upper level room away from the elevator and facing King Street. It was quiet with a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles slm60898, Jan 23, 2017 | Read review
“The fourth floor was great! Nice of of downtown!”
 of 5 bubbles 718toddl, Jan 23, 2017 | Read review
“We were on the top floor and did not hear a thing,”
 of 5 bubbles bruceb492, Jan 20, 2017 | Read review
“The corner king rooms are very quaint. The hotel is on the main street so you will hear cars if you are in the front. The rear is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 937timp, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question