We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 Shawnee Inn Drive P.O. Box 67, Shawnee on Delaware, PA 18356
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com$146
Priceline$144
Travelocity$146
Hotels.com$146
Trip.com$150
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (529)
Room & Suite (331)
Dining (34)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Shawnee on Delaware
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Resort in the Pocono Mountains - Discover the historic Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort, a unique destination for golf, skiing, vacations and meetings. Located only 75 miles from New York City in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, the resort is set amidst the splendor of the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Championship golf, breathtaking views, and some of the finest dining in the Pocono Mountains are only a small part of the Shawnee experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Skiing
Tennis court
Billiards
Fishing
Table tennis
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1249Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 477
  • 342
  • 186
  • 126
  • 118
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sandra Suarez Fielding wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
This is hotel is one of my happy places in Pennsylvania. The location is great, just by the Delaware river. The view is gorgeous!!!! I always come here during sky season. The hotel is only a few minutes away from the Shawnee mountain ski which makes it very convenient! I love their fire pits during the night and their brewery! I was there just this past Thanksgiving weekend. Very glad to see the bathrooms are being remodeled and the rooms are looking even more beautiful! I can't wait to go back again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carol D wrote a review Oct 2022
Nicholson, Pennsylvania, United States5 contributions3 helpful votes
We purchased a two day golf trip with friends. First problem when we called for reservations was we had to upgrade and pay extra. So we said ok. Had t move our tee time back 1/2 hour due to road construction delay, so far so good. Played 18 holes with friends, course is ok except doing renovations on blue 7 & 8. Got back and place was crowded with an event, no big deal. Checked in, had to do one upgrade so ok, we'll pay the extra for a river view. Friends got suite without upgrade. As we were checking in the one girl at the counter kept giving our girl instructions and stopping our check in. Got to our room OMG what a joke. Very tiny room with view over parking lot and you could see the river. TV was like 15 years old, picture had black square around the edges. No coffee maker but all the stuff to make coffee. Had some sort of cable sticking out of the wall not sure what that was, ice machine out of order on 3rd floor. Bathroom toilet was so close to tub you could barely sit on it. Shower curtain rod was all rusted. And this was an upgrade? Friends suite was much larger and nicer but didn't need upgrade. This place reminded me of the movie the Shining. Heard quite a few people say this place was terrible. It rained the next morning so we didn't get to play our second round. Will NEVER stay there again. This place is pretty outside but that's it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I can't imagine any room being worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Diane R wrote a review Oct 2022
jackson, nj17 contributions9 helpful votes
Couples getaway last week at Shawnee Inn was so memorable. The Inn itself is a joy to explore. The management offers morning hikes, golf cart tours and a historic guided tour of the hotel. After a day of exploring and hiking the nearby parks, sitting on the porch in a rocker facing the mighty Delaware was a pleasant conclusion to the day. The Dinners in the a River Room were made special by the attentive wait staff. The trout was recommended and was a hit, fresh, and served with perfectly prepared mashed potatoes. The pace of the evening dinner was welcomed. The Gem and Keystone has a casual menu. Great choice, bartender makes a good Moscow Mule. We have dined there before, both outside and on the first two levels. This time we were seated on the third level.loved looking at the photos around the room. The room was second floor, back and gave us a view of a garden of Hostas, the largest we have ever seen. Beautiful when the sun was setting. Room was clean and had all we needed. The location of Shawnee Inn is central to many hiking trails. We discovered Tumbling Waters trail at the Environmental Center. challenging on the return side for us seniors but so worth two hours. Haley and all the front end staff are very accommodating and helpful. They enjoy working there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Samantha S wrote a review Oct 2022
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This resort is trying to use it's successful past to draw in customers. However, there is a big difference between "historic" and "old, worn and dingy". Covering issues with a coat of paint, is not renovating. It is important to start with the positives because there were a few. I cannot say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff was at this resort. From the restaurants, to the front desk, the staff was very friendly and overly accommodating. This was refreshing during this time of staff shortages nationwide. We ate in the River Room for dinner and breakfast. The food at dinner was very good and moderately priced. The food at breakfast was nothing more than we would get for free at a Hampton Inn, with the exception of the omelet station. However, the price was ridiculous for what they dubbed as a "breakfast buffet". $18 a person for breakfast is way too much. First impressions are vital for many things. However, for hotels and resorts, I think first impressions are everything. If we hadn't already paid for our accomodations, I would have turned right around before we even stepped foot inside the front doors. The minute I started up the front steps, I was regretting our decision to spend our anniversary here. There was a glass bowel that was being used for an ashtray at the bottom of the steps. The outdoor carpet that was on the steps was very dirty. If you aren't going to clean/vacuum it, then remove it. Upon entering the lobby, you could tell the hotel was old, but there were some quite charming historic items throughout, as well as historic photographs throughout the building. Unfortunately, there was a layer of dust on everything. In addition, the yellow chairs in the lobby were dirty and stained. They offered to put our bags behind the front desk while we golfed. As I handed my bags to the girl, I noticed how dirty the carpet was behind the counter. It looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in months. On our way to our room, the carpeting in the hallways was faded and dirty. It was very old. In the guest room however, the flooring had been replaced with laminate wood flooring. The guest room was clean, for the most part, with the exception of the bathroom. I will get to that next. As others have noted, the room was small, but I didn't find that to be bothersome. In the guest room, there was a window air conditioner, apparently because the HVAC did not work in the room. The bedding and furniture were clean, but the furniture was worn. Outside the bathroom, there were drop ceiling tiles. These tiles were stained from apparent multiple leaks, but instead of replacing them, they painted over the stains. The leaks must have been continual, because the metal rails were also rusty. This was about a 3' by 4' area. would have cost maybe $25 to replace the whole section. Why they didn't just do that is beyond me. The bathroom was less than desirable. It was tiny! When you sit on the toilet, your leg actually sits on the edge of the bathtub. Under the sink, there were pieces of cardboard or lauan that were haphazardly screwed onto the wall. Behind these pieces, I assume, is plumbing. The hairdryer was missing, but there was a wall attachment for it. The stopper for the sink was missing, but somehow the sink was still clogged and wouldn't drain. The wall above the shower had mold and mildew all around it. Other than that, the bathroom was clean. Throughout the evening and into the night, we were able to hear EVERYTHING that was said by the people in the rooms on either side of us. They weren't loud, the walls were just that permeable. The golf course was o.k. Other courses in the area are nicer, but this was nice as a change of scenery. The cart paths were virtually non-existent, but where they did have them, the pavement was crumbled and bumpy. It was smoother to ride on the grass. They have plenty of staff on hand to guide you and the Halfway house in the middle of the course is a nice place to rest and refresh. We really enjoyed our time there. Great staff here also. Overall, this resort needs A LOT of TLC. I feel like it would benefit them to keep the restaurants and golf course open for revenue, but spend time without guests to update and refresh the hotel. I have stayed in many "historic" hotels and all others have updated carpeting and furniture at the very least. If you are expecting charm and history, be prepared for old and dingy instead.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ed P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I just returned from a 6-day stay at this golf resort. The Inn was built like a fortress a hundred years ago, but don't let that scare you. The beds were fantastic. The housekeeping was 5 stars, and the attitude of the staff was " How can we help?" Granted the bathrooms are smaller than typical ( The place was built in 1915) but Full sized tub and shower with plenty of hot water and the finest soap bars I have ever used. Dining was excellent with fresh salad ingredients from the on-site garden. I highly recommend the macadamia-encrusted salmon. The steak (Day three) was excellent and I am a bit of a snob when it comes to the meat. Golf was fantastic, with the only complaint ( I am being very picky here) is the rough was a bit on the long side. The View from almost every point of the resort is a Postcard picture. One of the staff, Midge shared the history of the property with me and I feel this place is a bit of a national treasure. Evenings offered a campfire with complimentary "Smores" riverside. You could see deer, foxes and eagles from this location I highly recommend a visit to this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms with a view facing the Deleware River were spectacular
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CharStan wrote a review Aug 2022
Warwick, New York22 contributions13 helpful votes
This was a last minute get-a-way for two of us and we had a great time as our goal was to enjoy the outdoors. The Inn is a large, classic north east architecture building with a grand porch and simple landscaping. The room we had was a river view on the 2nd floor and it needed a refresh especially the bathroom. The room was comfortable enough for us as the main goal was to do many activities, but if you wanted to lounge in the room it was just basic and maybe not where you want to be all afternoon. The price is a little high, but having almost all the activities included makes it a good value, and a lot of fun. All the staff and guides were friendly. The food is above average and there is always evening music. We feel this Inn has great potential if they give the rooms a refresh, keep the grounds tidy and things organized (like make The 28th hole more accommodating for Inn guests) . It seems they focus more on the golf and wedding events than on the Inn itself.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: River view means you look out the front of the building. We peeked into a room on the other side...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim W wrote a review Aug 2022
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania54 contributions47 helpful votes
This is a factual report...We spent a 2 day golf special. Stayed overnight with 2 days of golf. The impression was that at one time this was the place to stay. Well that was about 75 years ago, not now. The rooms are small, and OLD. Now we have traveled all over Europe and are used to small rooms, but this room was OLD. we were traveling with friends so they had a similar experience. The bathroom was smaller that a walk in closet. the toilet paper holder was hanging off the wall. I am going to guess that a patron used it to grab onto to get up. the bathroom sink backed up when someone flushed or ran water. The water was brown....Disgusting......There were plenty of outlets in the room so no need to look for a outlet. they also had a power strip. Next to the bed. The mattress was comfortable and clean. Our friends hair dryer caught fire yes Fire....When they tried to use the phone in the room it did not work. it was not connected. They used there cell phone to call down to the front desk. Dinner.....they ran out of food....took over 2 1/2 hours to get the main meal.....The help were great I cannot say enough about them..Our friend every time she would order, the waitress would come back and say they ran out...The gave her a free meal. The PA Board of Health and the Fire Marshal's office's should investigate this place...It is a accident waiting to happen. The Golf Course is fantastic and there maintenance is good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Howell, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you Jim W. for relaying your experience. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your trip to our resort. This property was built in 1911 out of 12-inch thick steel reinforced concrete walls. We are privileged and challenged by its history. There is no excuse for the toilet paper holder to be off the wall and a non-working phone. That is a major oversite by myself. I am sorry that was not caught and rectified. We are working on our dining service and food inventory. I am so sorry you had to be part of our shortcomings. We are fortunate to have a committed, friendly staff and a well, maintained and manicured golf course. We are working as we can to make our bathrooms, bedroom areas, and public areas better. Thank you for taking the time to give us your factual report.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irina879 wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York4 contributions9 helpful votes
We used to visit a lot and stayed at the main inn, as well as at the green house, and tried glamping. We also visited their on-site brewery, dined at their restaurant and booked kayaking. We brought in a lot of business to this place over the years. It was one of my favorite spots..until now. I will no longer be coming back to this place, and here is the reason why. Their pool was closed for a while. When we used the river, one of children cut her hand on a piece of glass. This time we stayed at River house, which is on their property but part of Whyndham. We were trying to use their pool on a Wednesday afternoon when there was no one in the pool and hardly anyone at the hotel. The manager didn't let us in and said that "they are trying to keep this place not crowded" and that River village is not part of Shawnee anymore. If we are staying at their property, eating at their restaurant, booking their kayaking, visiting pub and they can't make a one time exception to visit the pool for 30 minutes when there was no one there, I think that eventually they will succeed at their goal of keeping this place not crowded....empty.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Howell, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear Irina879 Thank you for taking the time to write the things you love about the resort and those things that may be a challenge. Change is difficult. It is for us as well. We appreciate your patronage. Please be well. Your comments are considered and taken seriously. If you would like to call me or email me, please do so we can have a longer more detailed discussion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James J wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed a night at Shawnee Inn, 8/14/22 to 8/15/22. Everything is worn out and dirty, and what little that has been remodeled, is already falling apart or broken. Remodeled bathroom shower had broken, duck taped glass enclosure and was leaking out when taking a shower. Walls in hallways were splotched in places with white paint, walls were damaged or crumbling. Wood trim had damage painted over instead of replacing the trim. Everywhere in the common areas the floors were dirty and carpets worn out. Only redeeming things were the historical photos on the walls showing a glorious past of celebrities in the 40’s and 50’s of the last century. This hotel will require a huge amount of money to be brought back. The morning breakfast staff were kind of creepy looking with a gothic look and practically non responsive or awkward in their response to whatever is said to them. When I originally inquired on the phone, this place sounded great. The reality was very different. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t spend your money here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Howell, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear PandiTravelers - I am sorry for the experience you had at our resort. I am afraid that we were unable to make you see the charm, beauty, and fun of this majestic resort. As you stated, your bathroom was remodeled. I take responsibility for the duck tape still being in the shower after being fixed. We are working on upgrading bathrooms and bedrooms as we can. Thank you for your review and we will use your suggestions to improve. Be healthy and well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brieanna T wrote a review Aug 2022
Clementon, New Jersey6 contributions8 helpful votes
Pros: The Delaware river view is beautiful. The brewery is lovely, especially on the weekend when they have live music and fire pits .. pizza, salad, and pretzels were very good. The breakfast buffet is decent. Omelet station good. Gem and keystone restaurant was good, but service was very slow at both restaurants. Cons: Rooms are small. Bathrooms and furniture need a major update. The bottom of tub looked gross (see pic) and the bathroom had a weird smell. The water did not drain in the tub/sink leaving you to stand in dirty water in the shower. Housekeeping barely came to our room. It’s was only once and only to give new towels and change trash. Beds were not made and no cleaning was done during our stay. Despite having a long list of activities that sound good on paper, there’s not much to do on the property besides golf. The pool was closed the entirety of our stay. The gym is extremely minimal, they advertise bike paths but do not offer bikes, the “sandy bank” that I thought would be beach-like is a tiny patch of sand by the river and not a beach at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Howell, General Manager at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear 236brieannac - You are right. The Delaware River is beautiful and we are fortunate to be right on its banks (most of the time). The brewery is great and one of the best places to relax, have a handcrafted beer, eat a wood-fired pizza, listen to live music, and reconnect with family and friends. I am sorry for your experience with the bathroom, housekeeping, and our recreational opportunities. Bathrooms are being remodeled as we can. Housekeeping is doing daily service and I will make sure we are diligent. I apologize. I am sorry we were unable to communicate our activities to you. We have a resort guide that gives daily activities and other local attractions that may interest our guests. Daily guided hikes, brewery tours, historic tours, archery, campfire and smores, ax throwing, volleyball, bocci-ball, and river trips, are just a few options. we will try to do a better job of communicating these activities. Thank you again. We hope that you will try us again. Be safeand healthy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$92 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shawnee inn & golf hotel shawnee on delaware, shawnee inn and golf resort, shawnee hotel on delaware
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPocono Mountains RegionShawnee on Delaware
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SHAWNEE INN AND GOLF RESORT $82 ($̶1̶1̶9̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Shawnee on Delaware, PA

Frequently Asked Questions about The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include Lakota Wolf Preserve (3.2 miles), Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area (1.9 miles), and Country Kettle (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Creams Cafe, Thai Orchid, and Saen Thai Cuisine Limited.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Shawnee on Delaware.
Does The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Historic Castle Inn (2.2 miles).
Does The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.