We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
530 William Penn Pl, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay More, Play More!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$314
Omni Hotels$314
Hotels.com$314
Travelocity$314
Priceline$314
Lol.travel$387
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (885)
Room & Suite (487)
Videos (2)

About

#12 of 80 hotels in Pittsburgh
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, PA, Omni William Penn Hotel is a sophisticated, historic retreat that is the home of the Pittsburgh Steelers. The hotel is near Union Station train station (0.4 miles), PNC Park (1 mile), Heinz Field (1.4 miles), and University of Pittsburgh (2.9 miles). Since opening its doors in 1916, our Pennsylvania hotel has played a starring role in the city of Pittsburgh, hosting movie stars, politicians, heads of state and leaders of business. At Omni William Penn Hotel, you will experience outstanding service, comfortable and spacious accommodations, event venues and award-winning cuisine. Hotel Details: Features include an elegant restaurant, vibrant tea room, and luxurious two-tier Grand Ballroom. There are also two bars, a coffee shop, and deli plus expansive conference facilities. Plush rooms and suites include perks like city views, kitchenettes, and flat-screen TVs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Kids stay free
Kids club
Paid wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Raquetball offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Czech and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay More, Play More!
5264Reviews75Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,518
  • 1,120
  • 374
  • 164
  • 88
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LostALot22 wrote a review Aug 13
Chicago, Illinois10721 contributions1800 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is in a good area of the city. It looos super old and it’s quite ornate. The lobby and check-in area are amazing. I could sit there and just look around for hours. I really liked the old clock in the lobby. The building appears to have three towers. I’d like to stay near the top next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TheTravelGirl525 wrote a review Aug 2021
WV164 contributions74 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was certainly not my first stay at this hotel; however, this visit was every bit as enjoyable as the last. If nothing else, the hotel is consistent in their service and hospitality. We were in town for a wedding that was held at the hotel and the event and our stay were both seamless. We had a corner room, with exceptional views. Being on a corner, we were lucky enough to have views of one of my favorite cities in two directions. The location of this hotel is so perfect. I find Pittsburgh a very walkable city and this remains true when staying here. We were able to reach Station Square, the North Shore and the Strip District easily on foot. Bear in mind, the front desk told us they did not recommend walking to the Strip; however, we tried it anyhow and were so pleased that we did. It is a little more than a mile, but very enjoyable (maybe not so much on a super hot or rainy day). You can also reach the cultural district on Penn Ave so easily! This area is fantastic for outdoor seating and people watching. For the most part, the staff of the hotel are so accommodating. The front desk staff and all the event/restaurant/bar staff were so pleasant and friendly. I was a little surprised by the housekeeping staff, but did not have extensive interactions to really judge. The beds are SO comfy and the bathroom very clean with very nice toiletries. I also appreciated having a fridge in the room. The water pressure is very impressive in the shower; I prefer a heavy pressure and this was just ideal. And, please note, this hotel has amazing hair dryers....they are not your typical two-setting (high/low) dryers. Each room has an ion hair dryer with heat setting AND level of air. I really appreciated this so much. On two occasions our room key did stop working for no apparent reason, but the front desk quickly fixed this each time. However, it was a nuisance to have to run to the lobby late at night and again in the morning just to get back into our room. We chose to park in the garage directly across the street from the hotel instead of using valet - this is just a personal preference as the garage is much cheaper and we knew that we would not need our car out during our stay. However, the valet and bell men are EXTREMELY helpful and welcoming. The hotel also has plenty of elevators - we were never waiting more than seconds to catch one. Overall, this is just a gem in the middle of downtown. The hotel is simply gorgeous....and it doesn't hurt that we always see a Steeler or two walking around!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher level rooms provide great views and I always love a corner room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin DeLuca, General Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded Oct 6, 2021
We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin M wrote a review Aug 7
Tucson, Arizona89 contributions48 helpful votes
What an amazing hotel experience. From the time we pulled up for the valet until the time we left, everything was perfect. The entire staff was so nice and helpful. I wish I could remember everyone’s name for a shout out! The room was so nice and the beds were comfortable. The water pressure was so strong (not painful though). Market Square is just a short Walt from the hotel along with many amazing restaurants. I look forward to staying at this hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for the nice review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MT wrote a review Aug 4
1 contribution
When checked in, I found used towel, soap, shampoo & conditioner of the previous guest, along with a dirty bathtub. Informed the front but there was no apology. The toilet kept making noise, which interrupted my sleep. Had other issues too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Westover, Owner at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
I am so sorry to hear about your experience. This is not something that is typical of our guests when they stay with us. Please reach out to via my direct line 412-553-5115 or email me at cameron.westover@omnihotels.com if that is easier.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JC_Cheese_25 wrote a review Jul 2022
Long Beach, California207 contributions86 helpful votes
Large, comfortable, clean rooms. Great water pressure in shower. Hotel is located a short walk from Market Square. Friendly staff. No room service. Gym has plenty of cardio options. Air conditioning did not work in my room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your nice feedback! We are working on getting room service back in the very near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is a shockingly poorly maintained facility for the Omni brand. While the lobby is pretty and the hotel was clearly once top of the line, it's now suffering from severe underinvestment. Paint is chipping in most public spaces, carpets are filthy, cobwebs everywhere, many light fixtures aren't working. The rooms are nicely sized and the beds are comfortable, but again, things are just poorly maintained. Chipped furniture, dirty drapes, and really terrible bathrooms. Our toilet barely flushed, and the shower didn't drain at all. To top it all off, I was sitting at the bar in the lobby around 10pm and saw a mouse run through the space. Pretty wild. Honestly, at these prices you would be much better off staying at the Westin. Or really anywhere that had been renovated in the last 10 years.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
I am so sorry to hear about your experience. This is not something that is typical of our guests when they stay with us. Please reach out to via my direct line 412-553-5247 or email me at Matthew.Heymann@omnihotels.com if that is easier.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
everlast_34 wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada166 contributions70 helpful votes
We recently visited the city to celebrate the 4th, and we stayed here simply because everything was fully booked for the weekend. Simply because of the pricing, I thought this would be a luxury hotel, but it's not. The building itself is historic, and the lobby is beautiful, and I imagine that a long time ago, this place was probably stunning, but it's really just ok now. It was the little things that make this place not luxury in my opinion, like: the toilet is crooked, the shower is old looking, the outlet plugs seem kinda questionable, things like that. Their pictures are really great, but they must've been taken years ago to make them appear more high-end. It's ok, but for what they're charging they need to step it up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had just an "OK" experience. We want all our guests to enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. I hope this stay will not deter from saying with us in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PLM2534 wrote a review Jul 2022
Columbus, Ohio249 contributions44 helpful votes
Another amazing stay at the Omni William Penn. We stayed June 2 through June 4th and it met all of our expectations. We were impressed by the friendliness of everyone working there from the valets to front desk to housekeeping and everyone else we interacted with. We utilized the Valet parking for the trip and it was very convenient. There is a garage across the street under the park, but for us it wasn't worth dragging everything through the garage and across the street. The room itself was ready and they had be checked in as part of the hotel loyalty program. I had a corner room with a view of the park across the street and the skyline. Furniture was a bit dated but well kept. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the TV had a good selection of channels to watch. The room we were in had a massive walk in closet, which we really didn't utilize. Bathroom was very small, but we expected that given the historical nature of the property. Water pressure was amazing and was one of the biggest surprises of the room. There was a coffee machine and fridge in the TV stand. The plugs on the night stand right next to the bed were a bit awkward, but were usable. Over the weekend there was a lot of weddings, which was to be expected given how beautiful the property was. It was a little inconvenient given we kept trying to move out of the pictures being taken. In addition, one reception took over the restaurant next to the lobby, but was extremely loud and pretty explicit music. I don't mind the cursing personally, but it did distract from the ambiance of the lobby and some folks could be offended. All in all, the next time I am in Pittsburgh I will be staying here again if it is an option.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Westover, Owner at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded Jul 3, 2022
Thank you for the review! We look forward to having you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Killer_and_The_Girl wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, Massachusetts41 contributions42 helpful votes
The front desk and valet staff were excellent. The AC in our room was very good and we had an interior room so it was very dark for sleeping late. Unfortunately, the rooms are old and in desperate need of a refresh. The hotel has beautiful architecture and I’m sure back in the day it was beautiful. If you’re from Boston it’s very similar to the Omni Parker House.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Close to several good restaurants.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Westover, Owner at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded Jul 3, 2022
Thank you for your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JayB1r wrote a review Jun 2022
Portsmouth, Virginia384 contributions103 helpful votes
The William Penn is the grand old hotel in Pittsburgh. Constructed in the turn of the 1800 to 1900, the Omni has done a great job of restoring this fine hotel. One could spend hours gazing at the fine chandeliers and the intricate woodwork. The rooms are lodge and the beds are good. I had little to complain about. The housekeepers were thorough and the rooms clean. The rooms smelled a little due to age. The in-house restaurant had an excellent burger at a reasonable price and the beer was also reasonably priced. There is a Rite Aide within steps of the entrance. Cokes in the vending machine were $2.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Westover, Owner at Omni William Penn Hotel
Responded Jul 3, 2022
Thank you for your review! We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you're in Pittsburgh!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$253 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
omni hotel pittsburgh, omni pittsburgh, pittsburgh omni
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPittsburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
597
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Omni William Penn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Omni William Penn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Liberty Magic (0.2 miles), Heinz Hall (0.3 miles), and Benedum Center (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Omni William Penn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Omni William Penn Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Omni William Penn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Omni William Penn Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Omni William Penn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eddie V's Prime Seafood, Proper Brick Oven and Tap Room, and The Capital Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Omni William Penn Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Omni William Penn Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Pittsburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Omni William Penn Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Omni William Penn Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Omni William Penn Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.