SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore

Traveler (204)
Newly renovated King Suite!
Room & Suite (75)
Soho at the SpringHill Suites North Shore
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#25 of 78 hotels in Pittsburgh
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Free shuttle or taxi services
Secured parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

223 Federal Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Pittsburgh Intl Airport
12.5 mi
See all flights
Westmoreland County Airport
33.9 mi
See all flights
829Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 390
  • 274
  • 98
  • 30
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
marycarol4 wrote a review Feb 2021
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After giving this property a great review in 2017, I felt let down this time. We came for a sports event in the middle of a pandemic. The rooms were okay, nothing special. What I felt was lacking this time around was the service. We observed employees walking around without masks (including the person cleaning rooms). The lobby was loud and crowded at times and no one enforced masks or distancing. I did not feel safe. Worst of all, when we arrived, I asked the front desk clerk what time the restaurant would be open until, and she said 10 or 11 pm. I said good, because I knew we would be hungry after the sports event. When we later went into the restaurant at 8:30 pm they said they were going to be closing. They would not seat us or even let us order take out. They allowed us to get a drink "to go" - a tiny drink at an inflated price. We went outside and walked to try and find a restaurant. There were only a few, noisy bars that were open. We turned around and went to bed hungry. I was eager to have food in the morning. The breakfast served was in a bag and not good. (I understand that they are limited in what they can serve in a bag, but I have had better bagged breakfasts at other hotels during the pandemic.) I was disappointed in the whole experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Feb 23, 2021
Dear valued guest Please accept my deepest apologies for the lack of service you received during your stay. As we navigate through these strange times of masks and social distancing we are often met with resistance which can be challenging at times and even make associates afraid to speak up due to receiving backlash. This pandemic has brought in a different clientele that we are trying to handle as best as we can. I would also like to apologize on behalf of the restaurant. As they are independently owned and operated they still are a reflection of us. Each day brings us one step closer to showing some sense of normalcy and we would love the opportunity to be at your service again and truly deliver on our promise of a memorable stay. hospitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
697Marti wrote a review Feb 2020
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here last weekend while in town taking grandchildren to Jurassic Quest. The room was nice and very clean .We prepaid for the room and were unaware of the $27 parking fee we also have a random $20 dollar fee charged we have no idea what that is..not such a good price once you pay all fees so watch your bill! Having said that the pool was cloudy and cold with a lot of water on the sides very slippery so be careful. I had to call front desk at 1 am to get them to quiet down the party that was going on in the next room.The walls are very thin you can hear everything if you are a light sleeper do not stay here.Although they did come up right away to quiet them down. Breakfast was very good but there was nowhere to sit very crowded we had to stand.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not a quiet hotel! Walls are very thin if you are a light sleeper and you need your sleep do not...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Y2627ZHjohnc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear 697Marti Thank you for the review of the SpringHill Suites North Shore. I sincerely apologize for not delivering on our promise of a memorable experience. The $20 fee that you see is a pending authorization hold that your bank will release back to you. I also apologize for the parking fee, but we do not own the lot and unfortunately we have to charge. It was quite embarrassing to read your remarks about our pool, but I can assure you this was an isolated incident and the problem as been corrected. Hospitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChicAudia wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was fully prepared to make guests covid safe in a very clean and friendly environment. The staff was continually working to insure that all the safety boxes were checked and that all was well maintained. My room was lovely and spotless and I had a great nights sleep and a peace of mind.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Dear ChicAudia7 thank you for the great review of the SpringHill Suites North Shore. With all the current madness affecting our world it is nice to read your kind comments. Knowing that we delivered on our promise gives us the peace of mind that you had while staying as our guest. Thank you, once again, and we look forward to your next visit. Hospitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannorah wrote a review Apr 2021
White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel the day the announced fans would be allowed at limited capacity at PNC Park for the 2021 season. I booked this hotel before I even secured Opening Day tickets, but as Season Ticket Holders of the Pirates, I knew we’d have the opportunity to purchase them. I prepaid for my room and received confirmation everything was all set. We’d stayed there once before the 2020 season was cancelled and decided we’d like to stay again as we love the proximity to the ballpark. It wasn’t until 8:30pm when I went to check in that I was informed that my reservation had been transferred because they were overbooked. I had received absolutely zero communication up until this point and then the front desk attendant was not helpful and rude. I will not be staying again and will not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Apr 8, 2021
Dear honeildurm Please accept our apologies on relocating your reservation; and for the miscommunication about being over booked. We have been faced with some staffing challenges in our housekeeping department and they were not able to clean as much rooms as we had coming in. Rest assured we are finally getting some staff hired and trained, so that we may not run into this issue again. Again, we are deeply sorry that this had happened. Hospitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RoFee9614 wrote a review Aug 2020
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Got here today, first vacation in over a year that we so desperately needed. We were given a room that smelled like a dirty ash tray, then she moves us to a room literally next to the noisy freeway. The toilet kept running, the shower kept dripping, the shower curtain liner was filthy and moldy and all I got was an attitude. Not worth the money or stay at all. I will NEVER stay here again. The kicker, parking is an extra $27 per night because they don't own the lot. Make sure they don't charge you more than what you paid for the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Dear valued Guest I would personally like to apologize for the experience that you had at the SpringHill Suites. We have fallen short of meeting your expectations and I am very sorry for this. Keeping a clean atmosphere, especially during these times, is of the utmost importance, but we have fallen short of that. Again, we at the SpringHill Suites are very sorry this occurred during your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nay wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can’t say enough great things about this location! From check in to check out the staff was attentive to all the needs and wants my big party requested. It’s great to see that Marriott still holds true to the quality of people they have represent them and the amazing service and hospitality they provide. There was a night I lost my keys and the amazing staff members walked the parking lot with me several times until it was located ! True life savers ! The fact that they cared so much and took my issue and treated it like their own really warmed my family and I hearts. Truly amazing staff! Everyone we encountered from the desk, to the housekeepers, the managers on duty and engineers always greeted us with a smile and made sure we did not want for anything. Thank you so much for a great experience, my family and I will without a doubt be back !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Dec 23, 2021
Dear naynayyy Wow!! I cannot express enough gratitude, and thanks for this amazing review!! It makes us proud to know that our staff was exceptional to all of your travel needs. We certainly hope to see you again as we want nothing more than to once again be at your service! Hospitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NPthtsMe wrote a review Apr 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Okay, to start off with our ceiling panels in our shower were off and we could see the pipelines, the hallways smelt like weed for the entire 4 days we were there, the staff were very unfriendly and hung up on us multiple times when it was urgent, didn't tell us our food was delivered, and took 2 entire days to bring me up normal pillows (I'm allergic to down feathers) the first time they brought more down feather pillows the second time they brought more down feather pillows except these ones had a pillow case over them which obviously doesn't do anything they finally brought me normal pillows at 1 in the freaking morning when we were asleep. The "breakfast" was extremely dirty with what looked like snot and puke and no one cleaned it up. The pool was the only good thing, but as soon as you open the door your eyes were burning because of how bad the chemicals were. We got charged for over $150 for an unknown reason. Upon calling the hotel they hung up on us twice and tried to say that the charge was for parking even though they proved multiple times that we did not have any cars there what so ever. We also got another charge for $250 for smoking when none of us are smokers and don't smoke. We got food from the very expensive "restaurant" and it was all very undercooked and was not edible so upon going back down to get a refund or our food remade we gave up because they never came over to us to help out, while we were standing there for over an hour. 1/10 would absolutely not recommend any hotels or anything by this brand. Extremely disappointed as this was a birthday trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Apr 4, 2021
Dear NayzAye0497 I'm very sorry to hear of all these inconveniences that occurred during your trip. The incidents that you described are not the characteristics of our staff. If you would like to call the hotel directly I would love the opportunity to hear more about this. Thank you in advance, Hopitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pete I wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. Day #1, check in process on first day was tedious... despite not being busy, understaffed and a slow process. We paid for parking then drove about their lot for a half an hour before double parking - they sold spots to the PNB stadium crowd at the expense of their patrons. One wash cloth per room despite double occupancy. One of our rooms leaking from ceiling onto the bed from a storm, switched to another room that smell like pot, then switched to 3rd room which still smelled oddly. Day #2, room keys failing intermittingly for 3 different rooms... left us stranded in hallway for 10 minutes and 40 minutes on separate occasions. Then my friends arrived on this 2nd day and after arriving in their room they were told it was not their room and had to leave, this while they had 30 minutes to get ready for our wedding... they refused to leave so hotel sent security to have them removed, then the hotel apologized and admitted their error and let them keep the room. Whole process was a total nightmare
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. One of the worst I've ever been at
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Aug 26, 2021
Dear 92petei Thank you for the review of the SpringHill Suites. I apologize for the inconveniences with parking, however we do not sell our parking spots to the stadium. They are for guests only. I apologize for the other blunders that occurred during your stay. We would have loved the opportunity to correct any, and all deficiencies for you, and your guests as we are always at your service. I would also like to apologize for your friends mishaps, but we do not have on site security, so I will be looking into this matter thoroughly. Hospitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JennySchro wrote a review Jan 2020
Cleveland, Ohio
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would highly recommend this hotel for your next getaway to Pittsburgh! We travelled with our family, including children. They loved the pool - while fairly small, we the only guests in it. The location is great with many things to do and places to eat nearby. The front desk workers, especially Khalid, were super accommodating and provided fast and easy transportation through their free shuttle. The complimentary breakfast was good. Overall, we hope to return to this hotel during our next family getaway to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear JennySchro Thank you for the awesome reveiw of the SpringHill Suites North Shore! I'm pleased to read that your children loved the pool. Thank you for all of your kind comments about our staff; especially Khalid. I will be sure to let him know! Once again, thank you, and we can't wait to see you again! Hospitably yours,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FunFitnessFamily.com wrote a review Oct 2023
Columbia, Maryland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a great location central to many of Pittsburgh’s area attractions.

The breakfast was really good and included a lot of choices. The staff was very friendly. Tameika even SANG for the lobby full of people at breakfast on our last day! The little show was unexpected and put a smile on everyone’s faces 😀

The property was very clean. There is also a small pool and gym room.

SoHo restaurant is attached to the hotel.

The only downsides were:

1. Parking is $27/night (on weekdays we parked at a lot which was the same distance away for less than half the price, but it’s closed on weekends). The lot is unmonitored which seems ridiculous.

2. Our vanity light was broken and it was the only mirror. We reported it on our first day but it wasn’t fixed. The fridge door was left open when we checked in and the freezer was frosted over. The AC wasn’t working so they had to send maintenance up to fix it. When we returned, the night staff had no notes on whether it was fixed or not, so another tech came up to check…it was still a little hot, but working better than before.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Costello, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Dear Darla S Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Although I am pleased to read about our staff it was very disheartening to read that we did not correct the issue in your guest room. We hope this will not deter you from staying again in the future as we want nothing more than to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Frankiboy48
Virginia Beach, Virginia86 contributions18 helpful votes
I do not know. I would check with the hotel
Answer from John C
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Unfortunately our shuttle is still grounded due to the pandemic. we are hoping that once the vaccine increases we will be able to open it back up by spring.
Footprints200475 asked a question Aug 2019
Fort Benning, Georgia
What is your incidental hold?
headsped1 asked a question Jul 2018
West Virginia30 contributions4 helpful votes
Do you accept cash as a payment for the room?
Answer from John C
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Yes, but only upon check out.
seton wrote a tip Jul 4
London, United Kingdom28 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a hotel right across the street from the ballpark try Holiday inn Express or Hyatt place instead."
Read full review
JOSEPH T wrote a tip May 2024
11 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere."
Read full review
bchbm58 wrote a tip Aug 2023
PA18 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is simple. Be kind. Speak with respect to the other person. 99% of the time they will reciprocate. Makes all the difference."
Read full review
Cindy51576 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Staunton, Virginia106 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"test the water temperature before you unpack"
Read full review
Brent wrote a tip Apr 2023
Columbus, Ohio4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel has seen better days. Not much upkeep"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pittsburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
springhill suites north shore hotel pittsburgh, springhill suites pittsburgh, pittsburgh springhill suites
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPittsburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
198
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPRINGHILL SUITES BY MARRIOTT PITTSBURGH NORTH SHORE $142 - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Which popular attractions are close to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Nearby attractions include PNC Park (0.2 miles), Roberto Clemente Bridge (Sixth Street Bridge) (0.2 miles), and Children's Museum of Pittsburgh (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse, Soho, and Federal Galley.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Pittsburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Pittsburgh HotelsPittsburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PittsburghHotels near SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh North Shore
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars