We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Traveler (758)
Room & Suite (302)
Dining (19)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#20 of 79 hotels in Pittsburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
142Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
26Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,914Reviews
26Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,100
  • 524
  • 188
  • 66
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I was supposed to stay here earlier in the week. I was stuck at Newark airport for 11 hours and called the hotel to confirm my reservation and explained that I would be in around 1Am-2Am. I was told no problem, they would put a red eye hold on the room. Great; right; wrong. I got to the hotel at 1:30AM only to find out that they gave my room away after telling me they would hold it. The manager was like oops, we found someplace else for you to stay; which they did and comped the room. However, they out and out lied about holding the room, a fun thing to find out at 1:30AM. I am a Marriott Gold, what good is it if they don't honor their reservations. Just horrible people a blight on Marriott
Read more
Response from tomhardy22, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Lee C, The service you received from us is absolutely unacceptable. We are so sorry this happened, and not how you should be treated as a Gold Member. If you ever give us another shot, please reach out to me prior to your arrival. I will see to it that you have a much better experience. Again, we are so sorry this happened. Tom Hardy Director of Front Office thardy@renpgh.com 412.992.2037
Read more
Good downtown location. Rooms look right into the ballpark. Cool, classic building, and the rooms are great. Restaurant in the lobby has an excellent whiskey program. I would definitely recommend this property. I'm Bonvoy Titanium with Ambassador.
Read more
Response from tomhardy22, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
nmhen, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you back soon to give you the 5/5 experience you deserve! Tom Hardy Director of Front Office thardy@renpgh.com 412.992.2037
Read more
We recently spent a great weekend here attending a couple of Pirate games and attending the nearby Streeteat festival. There were several ethnic restaurants in the area although we ate most meals at the Streeteat. We did have one memorable meal at the Braissier restaurant in the hotel, While expensive, the food and service were great. The hotel located at the end of Clemente Bridge was an easy walk to PNC Park and would have been to Heintz Field also for a Steeler game. It is a scenic area along the river with great views of downtown. The hotel, which used to be the Fulton Building, has been transformed into a comfortable hotel with large rooms, high ceilings, spacious bathrooms and nice views.The service was very good from check in, to valet, to restaurant. They even watched our bags after we checked out until the Pirate game was over. Definitly will stay here again.
Read more
Response from tomhardy22, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
WVtravelers3, We are so happy to hear that you will be back! We preach good service here at the Renaissance, and we are glad to hear that is what you experienced. We are excited to host you again sometime soon. See you then! Tom Hardy Director of Front Office thardy@renpgh.com 412.992.2037
Read more
Many reviews leave comments about one or two people messing up and the experience at the whole hotel is horrible. I thought the staff was trying really hard to rectify our situation. Jerome at the front desk really cared and wanted to get us taken care of. Brady was trying as well but seemed as if he was frustrated with the front desk system being down and a couple people ahead of us having complaints. We stayed one night and had 3 rooms. In the evening we had to move two of those rooms to other rooms. One room the ac wasnt working and they spent all day trying to fix it and at the end of the day they didnt. Brady at the desk didnt believe that it still wasnt working. When we told him just move our rooms at 9pm he insisted he come to the room and check. I'm sure he deals with over dramatic guests all the time, but honestly from noon to 9 it didnt get fixed and for some reason we would benefit from lying about the ac. He offered us breakfast vouchers, which I declined, I appreciated his gesture I just wanted to get my family member into a room with working ac, I would have appreciated more of an understanding of the situation and just fixing it off the bat. Another of our rooms had a tub drainage issue that they told us about that we didnt even know about and the people in that room had to be relocated as well. Finally in the room I stayed in was in bad condition and not fully clean. Exposed screw holes and outlets with gaps of unfinished wall, the paint and drywall hanging lose from the ceiling about 6 inches, the grout wasnt stained rather there was dirt in the tiles in shower that I wiped with my finger, the pillow cover had about 5 spots that had discoloration. The casegood with the TV chest was literally falling apart, the materials were peeling off and the cabinet door wasnt attached, when I opened it was dangling on one hinge. Finally it would have been more convenient to have a microwave. It seems like I'm complaining, I'm not, the stay was nice the staff overall was good, but when I booked at a renaissance I was thinking wed have a stay at a luxury hotel. The room was well appointed and looked modern but the condition wasnt up to par with a luxury brand. It is the nicest Marriott by brand in the city. The lobby was beauitful, bar in the lobby was great, and the location was phenomenal. All in all I gave it a 2 because the difficulty with the rooms, the cleanliness was poor, the condition was bad. I hope this doesnt reflect a complaint rather a call to action to bring this great brand in a great area a little more love and attention. I would love to stay here again but probably wont if the condition is status quo at starting to fall apart. Based on location alone I would recommend people to stay here to experience the city.
Read more
Response from tomhardy22, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Spencer S, We sincerely apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. Trust, this is not our standard nor how we operate. We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves. If you do ever decide to give us another shot, reach out to me prior to your arrival, and we will see to it you have a better experience! Tom Hardy Director of Front Office thardy@renpgh.com 412.992.2037
Read more
+1
We would absolutely stay here again. So beautiful and in a great spot. Other than an unforeseen $30 charge, it was absolutely perfect and very quiet. Beautiful views and very clean. No complaints at all.
Read more
Response from tomhardy22, Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
disneyfanatic1994, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor and for your recent stay! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Just for some clarification, the $30 that hit your card is most likely a pending charge and should fall off. We authorize all credit cards for $30 extra a night so you can post things to the room (incidentals). Should you not have had any incidentals, that $30 will come back to the card! Let me know if that is not the case as we don't want to charge you anymore than you owe us! Tom Hardy Director of Front Office thardy@renpgh.com 412.992.2037
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pittsburgh renaissance
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPittsburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing