We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
510 Market St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1820
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$315
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/28/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/28/22
travelup.com
$229
View deal
Fairmont$284
Travelocity$315
Hotels.com$315
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (409)
Room & Suite (229)
Dining (33)

About

#21 of 80 in Pittsburgh
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
1101Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 747
  • 216
  • 63
  • 40
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
William B wrote a review May 16
Los Angeles, California28 contributions60 helpful votes
Crestfallen! The Fairmont Hotel Pittsburg has lost its 5 Star rating. It now masquerades as a 3 star but in reality is a 2 star hotel. While the physical appearance of the hotel upon entry is impressive, one is immediately struck by the absence of its long-existing bar/lounge. The website still shows pictures of the lobby lounge, but is no gone. Things only go downhill from there. Upon checking in you are notified that the hotel no longer offers daily room housekeeping service (let alone room turndown service). Yet, the price you pay for a room is for full service even though it is lacking. When both my wife and I asked the front desk to have our room cleaned with new linen and towels at 9 in the morning, upon our return at 4pm nothing had been done. Carpet was never vacuumed during the stay, the sheets had an “odd” smell, the room had not been dusted. Even small maintenance items such as a light in the closet was broken. When we asked that the in-room amenities such as coffee be replenished, we were brought a bag of supplies and told to replenish it ourselves. And, if you happen to stay over on a Sunday and are an early riser, you can forget about early room service - - its non-existent. Adding injury to insult, on our last day at the hotel (a Monday) we asked for room service (breakfast), they left it outside our room to get cold and did not bother knocking on the door. They even forgot to bring a spoon for the oatmeal ordered by my wife thinking that a fork and knife was sufficient. There is nothing to suggest that the Fairmont approaches the level of a three star establishment, and it is certainly far from its once lofty five stars.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid high expectations with this hotel. While the staff is pleasant enough, 5 star service is...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Tobias W wrote a review May 7
3 contributions4 helpful votes
If you claim to be the best hotel in Pittsburgh the bar is high. I stayed at a suite and even the basics weren't met after I told the staff: The lighting in suite 1919 wasn't working, the toilet wasn't cleaned and still dirty when I moved in, the carpet wasn't cleaned and showed paper pieces, the note-pad showed scribbles from the previous owner and there wasn't a bath-mat in the second bathroom. The basics. I arrived late on a flight from California and asked in advance about food options. The receptionist explained that on Monday's and Tuesday's the bar or restaurant is closed because it is generally a slow day. However, the receptionists also explained that the hotel is booked out because of the conference I was attending in May'22. I asked the receptionists to help me with some food choices when I arrive around midnight. I did hedge my request by ordering Door Dash in parallel while I was traveling in from the airport. I arrive a the hotel and told the staff that my Door Dash order is on it's way. It's way after midnight now and I'm in my room. I then remember my dinner-order and wonder if it made it to the hotel. I call the reception and yes, the food already arrived 30 minutes ago and is cooling down on the check-in table in the middle of the night on its own. The reception tells me that I can pick it up. Great! I get back into my clothes and make the trip to the reception. 4 young staff are all chattin' away, there is nothing to do and the only thing that's going on is my food now approaching room temperature. That's what I am expecting at a Motel 6 but not at the Fairmont in Pittsburgh. 4 young and clever folks couldn't make the connection that a) I told them at check-in that I am expecting food, b) inform me that my food has arrived and c) bother to deliver my food up to the suite. Why not? I changed hotels to the Oaklander by Marriott which made me feel home and takes care of me top notch. Yes, it's not right downtown but if there's no service then what does it matter.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your experience as it was not up to our standards. Your feedback has been passed along to management. We hope you join us again.
Read more
Donna Tidwell wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
Excellent staff, attentive and friendly. But, Unfortunately the room conditions are not as they once were. The facilities have limited hours, or not open during expected hours. Very disappointing for this Premier brand of luxury. Better choices currently available in Pittsburgh
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your experience. Your feedback has been passed along to management. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Nathan S wrote a review Mar 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania1 contribution
My wife and I wanted to spend a quiet weekend together in Downtown Pittsburgh. The Fairmont was the perfect destination. Minutes from fine dining, the point, and cultural district. The Fairmont is the new standard for topshelf hotels in Pittsburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Thank you for your positive feedback! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
Nat L wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
With no masks required in Pittsburgh, the Fairmont in Pittsburgh is still using COVID as an excuse not to clean your room. Despite daily requests of room cleaning and polite positive responses, our room was never cleaned during our three night stay. Also the flashing strobe light in the bedroom all night was a sweet touch.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded Feb 28, 2022
We apologize for your experience. Your feedback has been passed along to management. We hope you join us again in the future.
Read more
Melonie Warren wrote a review Feb 2022
Warren, Ohio1 contribution
The hotel itself is beautiful, the view from the room we had was also beautiful, however we rented a king suite with a Cityview and the room needed some major updating. The bottom of the bed was all worn off, and the decor was just not what we expected. When you pay that much for a room you would also expect to get Wi-Fi and they wanted us to pay a ridiculous amount for Wi-Fi per day. That is just insane! Also we got a bed-and-breakfast package and we’re not told that if we decided to eat that in our room they were going to charge us an additional 20%, to our surprise we ordered it to our room and they charged us and “in room dining fee” of 20%. Plus we were expected to leave a tip on top of that! When you’re paying for a more expensive room there are certain things that should be thrown in and there should be things updated.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Thank you for your review. Your feedback has been passed along to management. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Read more
Shaun Riley wrote a review Feb 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania2 contributions
I figured I would treat myself to a staycation for valentines day weekend — I had a blast everything was perfect from start to finish. If you get a chance definitely check out Floor 2 — the best brunch!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Thank you for you positive feedback! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Read more
bzh777 wrote a review Jan 2022
Zurich, Switzerland3 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We chose the Fairmont Pittsburgh for our honeymoon (10 nights stay) and we were utterly disappointed. Our one bedroom suite on the 18th floor (Mt. Washington view) was filthy and dusty, had crumbles on the coffee table, lots of hair in the bathtub and disgusting yellow stains on the front of the toilet bowl when we arrived (we took pictures to prove it). After we complained they allegedly sent the housekeeping to our room but when we came back from the city nothing had changed. During our stay they did NOT ONCE change or clean the used coffee mugs and hardly emptied the trash bins. We had to buy cleaning wipes at RiteAid to clean our honeymoon suite in a Fairmont. Think about that! We complained many times at the front desk, they always said sorry but there was no improvement at all. Eventually the manager offered us a $100 voucher for their restaurant Floor2. We declined because we felt so insulted about that. I mean, we payed for a one bedroom suite for 10 nights and they offered us $100 for all that??!? I understand that we do live in pandemic times. But the cleanliness at the arrival of the guests and a decent service towards your guests has nothing to do with it. Speaking of the arrival and the check-in: They didn‘t provide us the welcome drink for Accor silver/gold members nor did they respond to our note in the reservation that this was our honeymoon. On day 4 the housekeeping took all our small change we left on the desk. Do we look like we tip in small change?!?!! They stole our money but weren‘t able to clean the room. Hey, it‘s a Fairmont not a suburban Motel. But we already lost hope in this hotel and decided to erase this terrible memory for our honeymoon stay. We also decided to never ever set foot in a Fairmont hotel again because of our experience with the Fairmont Pittsburgh. We have to admit that the suite itself was beautiful and huge. But it wasn‘t worth the money with this kind of „service“. And there are also some very nice people at the reception
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded Jan 18, 2022
We apologize for your experience. Your feedback has been passed along to management. We hope you join us again in the future.
Read more
Meret wrote a review Jan 2022
Zurich, Switzerland7 contributions7 helpful votes
Our suite was dusty and dirty. We stayed for 10 nights and housekeeping did a terrible job. Management was utterly unimpressed by our complaints and there was no improvement whatsoever. We bought cleaning supplies on day two. One point for friendly and helpful concierges.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid the Fairmont Pittsburgh if you appreciate cleanliness.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded Jan 18, 2022
We apologize for your experience. Your feedback has been passed along to management. We hope you join us again in the future.
Read more
Janet S wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Luxury? Not anymore. We chose Fairmont based on reputation. However this location is just sad. Staff was ok. Room: carpet stained. Bedding stained and weathered. Towels were unraveling with threading dangling. Lamp shades were cracked. To add to our misery, we had dinner at Fl.2 which turned out terribly. Still in shock that we overpaid for a below par hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Fairmont Pittsburgh, Marketing at Fairmont Pittsburgh
Responded Jan 6, 2022
We apologize for your experience at Fairmont Pittsburgh. Your feedback has been passed along to management. We hope you join us again in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$253 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairmont pittsburgh hotel pittsburgh
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPittsburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
185
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Pittsburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Nearby attractions include Liberty Magic (0.2 miles), Heinz Hall (0.08 miles), and Roberto Clemente Bridge (Sixth Street Bridge) (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Proper Brick Oven and Tap Room, The Capital Grille, and Butcher and the Rye.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Fairmont Pittsburgh located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Pittsburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Pittsburgh?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fairmont Pittsburgh offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.