We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA

111 W Bridge St, New Hope, PA 18938-1452
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (162)
Dining (65)
Room & Suite (61)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA
Updated 06/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast is in the vibrant river town and artists' colony of New Hope,Pennsylvania, yet set on 2 lovely landscaped acres of gardens and gazebos. New Hope's Wedgewood Inns offers upscale historic lodging ( separate Carriage House, and many rooms have their own private entrance) combined with such modern amenities as in-room over-sized whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, private porches, Wi-Fi, private bathrooms, AC, and TV combined with friendly and knowledgeable innkeepers. Wedgwood china rules at this gracious blue-colored Painted Lady Victorian that is set on 2 private, park-like acres and yet is a short walk to the vibrant village square. Open year 'round and on the Express bus line from NYC, this gracious nationally-acclaimed inn has been consistently rated "Excellent" by AAA & YELP. FREE on - site parking, breakfast & WIFI‼️Open year 'round for leisure and business travelers. Business meetings and corporate retreats welcomed. Wedgewood Inn is a classic Bucks County inn!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Adult pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Children's playground
Paid private parking nearby
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Yoga room
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Casino and Gambling
Game room
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Ski rentals
Water park
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Banquet room
Photo copier / fax In business center
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Steam room
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Residential Neighborhood
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more
233Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 142
  • 48
  • 13
  • 15
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HowellHousewife wrote a review Mar 2021
Howell, New Jersey45 contributions26 helpful votes
My adult children took me away for my birthday. We had a suite at the Wedgwood Inn that was comfortable and cozy with enough space for 3 to 4 people, if not more to stay. I had a queen bed in my room and they shared the other bedroom which had 2 twin beds. There was a living room area and a kitchenette room. A full size table and chairs allowed us to play board games in our down time. The kitchen is stocked with different teas and coffees and bottled water in the mini fridge. Easily within walking distance to all the stores and restaurants of New Hope the Wedgwood Inn was a great place to start and end our days. The owners are lovely people and breakfast was delicious each day! Fresh baked croissants and muffins, quiche and fresh fruit, yogurt and homemade granola... and that was just one day! There were homemade cookies and a small decanter of homemade Amaretto waiting for us when we checked in. Just one of the many things that made our stay very special and unique.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Mindy G wrote a review Mar 2021
deal Ray beach florida4 contributions2 helpful votes
Well we haven’t been to any B&B’s but wanted to post as this far exceeded our expectations. Accommodations were clean, unique, full of character! The inn keepers/owners were knowledgeable and warm. It’s full of historical stories and rich in culture! Was to say the least after being in for almost a year a wonderful place to stay and we highly recommend you do if you are looking to stay in New Hope PA! Tell Carl and Nadine we sent you! Good eats, smiles for miles and more!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Response from C Glassman, Innkeeper at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA
Responded 4 weeks ago
A 5 Star rating! Thank you. On behalf of Dinie & I and all our staff, we wish to express our gratitude for selecting #WedgwoodInn for your first 3 day visit to New Hope, PA. We enjoyed hosting the 3 of you on your Mother-Daughters getaway. Open year round, we are looking forward to your return visit this summer. Cordially, Carl/ innkeeper
Read more
Alyson M wrote a review Feb 2021
Burlington, New Jersey3 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a lovely time here. The breakfast has delicious (and huge)! The owners were very nice, and Carl's Almond Liqueur was wonderful. We were able to walk to great restaurants and shops in downtown New Hope and Lambertville within a few minutes. Hope to go back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
2 Helpful votes
Response from C Glassman, Innkeeper at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate your 4 Star review of our #WedgwoodInn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location within our twin river towns of New Hope, PA and Lambertville, NJ. Especially pleased you like my homemade Almond-flavored Liqueur! Join me on the Back Porch for a tot on your next visit. With thanks, Carl
Read more
Meg wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
To be honest when we first walked into Wedgewood Inn it wasn’t what I expected but I was willing to give it a fair shot and I looked at the experience with an open mind. I could look past holes in the pillowcases, greying frayed towels, and stains on the rug and chairs. It’s an older place, what can you expect? That turned out to be the least of our troubles however after we had several interactions with Carl the owner. Carl checked us in and from the beginning was short and condescending. While checking us in he was rude and short with another woman who was attempting to check in because she unexpectedly got a call from work. He told her that she had to go take the call outside. It was raining and cold. He then brought us up to our room with no explanations about the inn or the protocol for breakfast. Prior to arriving we received an email from the inn explaining that due to the recent pandemic breakfast would be brought to our rooms on a tray and our orders would be taken the night before. After Carl dropped us off in our room he left without a word about meals. Before we left the inn for the day to walk around New Hope we stopped in at the office to ask about breakfast. Carl was very dismissive when we brought up the email saying “that was old news” his tone then became rude and he told us that it would really help them out if they knew when we planned on coming down for breakfast. We told them "Maybe around nine?" Carl then rolled his eyes and said “Of course. Just when everyone else will be coming down” as if it were our fault and we were inconveniencing them. His wife Nadine told us "Oh we’ll make it work" but we felt awkward and as if we were an inconvenience rather than a paying guest. We received no other instruction on breakfast past that and we went on our way. When we came down the next morning there was no one there except for a family sitting down eating in a room just off the staircase. We had come in through this room initially and it had 2 other tables set up for breakfast. So after a minute or two we walked in and sat down at an open table. When Nadine came in later she took our orders for coffee and tea and brought out our food out and was very nice and pleasant. The next morning was much the same only there were two other couples already seated in the breakfast room at the tables set for two. There was one remaining table that was set for three so we sat down there. We waited about 5-10 minutes before anyone from the inn came in. The waitress was again, very nice, and introduced herself and told us what breakfast would be and brought us fruit and yogurt. Carl walked into the room and looked at us and said very rudely “Oh so you’re the ones who took the 4 top table” we were stunned and felt terrible. We apologized and said we didn’t realize and explained it was the only table left. He told us he had to seat other people outside because of us. We offered to move and he told us that we had already “unsanitized" the table now. He then told us to wait for someone to seat us next time and walked out angrily. Apparently there was another room for breakfast as well but since we were never told that or shown where anything was when we arrived we had no idea and just sat the only place we knew. One of the staff was kind and apologized to us saying that Carl probably hadn’t had his cup of coffee yet. I was so upset after the way he talked to us that I had to run back up to the room because I actually started to cry and was extremely embarrassed. I would never recommend that anyone stay here based on our experience with Carl.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Response from C Glassmano, Owner at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA
Responded Feb 23, 2021
Thank you for writing, but concerned that your 4 day stay did not meet your expectations. Or that of your traveling companion who submitted their own review below. We strive for 100% Guest Satisfaction and over our 39 years of innkeeping we are very happy. We obviously did not “click” and for that we are very sorry.
Read more
Ryan wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
A couple weeks ago, my fiancee and I stayed at 1870 Wedgwood Inn and unfortunately, did not have a good experience because Carl, one of the owners. During most conversations he was either rude, curt, or uncommunicative. This resulted in him chastizing us in front of not only his staff, but other guests. For context: before the stay, I was in email communication with the owners, who mentioned that due to the COVID restrictions, breakfast would be served in our room as opposed to downstairs in the normal dining area, and that whoever checked us in would discuss with us what time we would like breakfast brought up. However, when Carl did check us in and showed us our room, he left without mentioning anything about breakfast. Later on in that first day, I had to seek him out to see what the breakfast plan was, and only then did he mention that they had changed back to breakfast down in the dining area. The dining room has only 3 tables: two 2-seaters and one 3-seater. On the first morning, when my fiancee and I came downstairs, none of the staff were around for the first couple of minutes, which was fine, and we sat ourselves in one of the 2-seater tables. On the second morning, again, none of the staff were around, and both 2-seater tables were occupied, so we instead sat ourselves at the last table, the 3-seater. After a few minutes, the waitress/innkeeper came out and within a few minutes, served us our food. Supposedly, other guests had come down during this time and saw no tables were open. Carl sat them outside and then immediately came into the dining area, and rudely yelled at us for taking up the only 3-seater table and that we should've waited to be seated. We apologized and pointed out that this was never expressed to us and even offered to move. Instead, he continued to chastize us. It was so bad that after he left, the waitress even apologized to us for the way he acted. It would be one thing if we were the only guests that he acted this way towards, but we also witnessed him being awful to a handful of other guests during our 3-night stay. My fiancee and I have made a habit of visiting New Hope for the last couple of years, but 1870 Wedgwood Inn will not be a B&B that we return to. Carl's attitude completely ruined our experience at the inn, as he acted like we were inconveniences as opposed to paying customers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3 Helpful votes
1870 wedgwood inn of new hope hotel new hope
United StatesPennsylvaniaBucks CountyNew Hope
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA
Which popular attractions are close to 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Nearby attractions include Bucks County Playhouse (0.3 miles), Topeo Galleries (0.2 miles), and Parry Mansion (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marsha Brown's, Nina's Waffles and Ice Cream, and Nektar Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of New Hope.
Are pets allowed at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Dutch, and Hebrew.
Are there any historical sites close to 1870 Wedgwood Inn Bed and Breakfast of New Hope, PA?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fonthill Castle (9.3 miles), Michener Art Museum (9.7 miles), and Washington Crossing Historic Park (6.6 miles).