We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 306: English reviews
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for over 13 years as we attend the huge AACA Fall Swap meet and antique car show in Hershey. Each time 3-4 days. The hotel has changed from a holiday Inn to the present and they have done a good job keeping it updated, the rooms fine and the room rate reasonable. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassjede
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences you had to experiences during your stay. We do are best to control situations like this. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve our guest stay. Our guest expectation is important to us and we react to take what ever measures is needed to insure this. Thank you again for your comments,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Everything about this hotel is old. The furniture in my room was very old (covered with stains, springs bulging) the wallpaper was coming off in strips, and the towel rack rusty. Overall, it is not well kept, and was not super clean. There are a lot of families staying at this hotel, and children hung out and ran around in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank treblemaker1004
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are in the process of creating an action plan to address the concerns you mentioned. We do our best to control wondering children in the hall without parental supervision. I apologize for you inconveniences and assure you we are taking measures to correct all you concerns.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed October 7, 2016

First room I was given was dirty, bathtub had ring, room was dingy and loud (highway). Had to find another room. Second room: many of the outlets did not work, when I turned on the iron the fire alarm was set off, coffee not resupplied by housekeeping, received some sort of bug bites from the bed. I lifted the mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeeSportChick
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences you had to experiences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve our guest stay. These issues will be addressed with the proper department heads to assure a more pleasant stay for our guest. Our guest expectation is important to us and we react to take what ever measures is...

Independence, Missouri
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel via Hotwire. Co sidering they are considered a 3.5 star hotel via Hotwure we were very disappointed. The carpets are very stained. Found 2 dead spiders in our bathroom. Very old fixtures and no fridge/microwave in rooms. Laid on bed for about 5 minutes and out of the corner of my eye saw something crawling on pillow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jab0618
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for your stay with our hotel. As many hotels, even the most exquisite hotel will at one time or another have to deal with these pest. Since your son flushed the insect you saw, we were unable to determine if that is what it was. We always have the rooms taken off market so they are not sold....

Reviewed September 7, 2016

I was recently at the Clarion for a wedding. I could not be more impressed. The customer service and amount of amenities exceeded all of my expectations. We were able to enjoy and relax in the indoor pool. The room we stayed in was extremely clean and well kept. From the front desk, to the house keeping, it was beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey H
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments I will pass them on.

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed September 7, 2016

I organize events for my company and I have had our last 2 Holiday parties at the Clarion. I was very pleased with the reasonable rate for the room and even more impressed with the menu selection. The event planner was very creative and really helped me wow my guests. I recently had a smaller event there and was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jannene M
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. I will pass them on.

Reviewed August 29, 2016

From the very moment I walked in, I was very disappointed with this hotel. For instance, the McDonald's trash along with an empty liquor bottle left over by a previous guest was still lying there. Next, the bedspreads were not changed which was a horrible sight to say the least. I think there is no proper communication between the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayanth m
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I consider all comments good or bad helpful in many ways. They help me know was department is performing well and which department need more help in accomplishing my goal, which is the satisfaction of my guest. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future just to see what we are...

Flanders, United States
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Stayed on my way taking my son back to college. About what you would expect for and $80 a night (AAA discount) room. Nothing fancy but comfortable and clean. The Garlic Poet, the restaurant located adjacent to the lobby was amazing. Great food, great beer, excellent and knowledgeable staff. If for any reason for staying at this hotel it should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We hope to see you soon.

Campbell Hall, New York
Reviewed August 22, 2016

not clean , AC in room wasn't working despite of complaint wasn't fixed , found empty bear bottle at the room from previous guest , wifi in room too weak, dead cockroaches on the staircase , not expensive , located eight off the exit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawkat M
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. Even when things go wrong I like to know about them. then I can take action on correcting the issue no matter what it is. I will address the proper departments on the importance on how these issues impact our guest expectations.

Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

I don't have enough time to write about all the problems. The entire hotel is outdated with dirty carpets, smelly halls and rooms. Our room had a broken toilet, food stuck to chairs, rusted towel racks, the shower curtain rod had been pulled hard enough to break the faux marble it was anchored to. The room smelled badly, the alarm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on this property. I have only been here a short time and I am very actively working on an action plan to give this property a bit of the updating she is needing. Some of the item are quick fixed while other will take time. However I am determined not...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 13 in New Cumberland
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 13 in New Cumberland
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Price Range: $83 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid rooms at the pool area.”
mariavE3650UQ, 1 week ago | Read review
“check the room before you unpack”
kristah699, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room to the back of the hotel and away from the highway/turnpike.”
STL-Mike-Rose, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the 50s on the second floor (250, 251 etc) have Wi-Fi issues”
823jayanthm, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“wouldn't recommend it”
765shawkatm, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question