We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
Alliance, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel close ro work clean comfortable rooms. Rooms are small, which I like. My work set me up here and the price is reasonable for what you get. Bar and restaurant on the grounds and an indoor pool. Nice hotel overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mytechlife
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size and clean, it is a little outdated but that's the only negative. The staff were friendly and they have a great bar too (Garlic Poet). Good location too, John's Diner is walking distance with great food and brilliant service. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for you taking the time to write this review. I will pass your comments to my staff and the Poet to their staff.

auburnyellowrose
Reviewed November 2, 2016

So it is a hotel near two highways. Not the best, not my favorite, and not new. I come here because it completely out of my control. The staff were really nice. The food served was okay (breakfast wasn't great but lunch and dinner were decent).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank auburnyellowrose
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I consider them very helpful. I have put in place an action plan to improve our guest experience. It is not a quick fix but a difference will be noticed. I hope to see you again when in the New Cumberland area.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed October 28, 2016

My wife and I were on a way to visit Hershey PA and then on to Washington DC. We were both tired from driving all day. After we checked in and got our luggage in the room, my wife noticed a spider on the curtain. I killed it and didn't think much about it. Shortly after that, I saw another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STL-Mike-Rose
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences you had to experiences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve our guest stay. Our guest expectation is important to us and we react to take what ever measures is needed to insure this. Thank you again for your comments, I consider them very helpful. I hope to see...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Badly in need of maintenance and upgrades. Light in room was not working, told staff, no one ever came to fix it. No TV remote in workout room. No hot water at sink. Hot water in shower ran out half way through shower. Front desk did not ask about my stay. Avoid this property

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wes m
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences you had to experiences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve our guest stay. Our guest expectation is important to us and we react to take what ever measures is needed to insure this. Thank you again for your comments, I consider them very helpful. I hope to see...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for over 13 years as we attend the huge AACA Fall Swap meet and antique car show in Hershey. Each time 3-4 days. The hotel has changed from a holiday Inn to the present and they have done a good job keeping it updated, the rooms fine and the room rate reasonable. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassjede
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences you had to experiences during your stay. We do are best to control situations like this. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve our guest stay. Our guest expectation is important to us and we react to take what ever measures is needed to insure this. Thank you again for your comments,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Everything about this hotel is old. The furniture in my room was very old (covered with stains, springs bulging) the wallpaper was coming off in strips, and the towel rack rusty. Overall, it is not well kept, and was not super clean. There are a lot of families staying at this hotel, and children hung out and ran around in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank treblemaker1004
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are in the process of creating an action plan to address the concerns you mentioned. We do our best to control wondering children in the hall without parental supervision. I apologize for you inconveniences and assure you we are taking measures to correct all you concerns.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed October 7, 2016

First room I was given was dirty, bathtub had ring, room was dingy and loud (highway). Had to find another room. Second room: many of the outlets did not work, when I turned on the iron the fire alarm was set off, coffee not resupplied by housekeeping, received some sort of bug bites from the bed. I lifted the mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeeSportChick
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconveniences you had to experiences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve our guest stay. These issues will be addressed with the proper department heads to assure a more pleasant stay for our guest. Our guest expectation is important to us and we react to take what ever measures is...

Independence, Missouri
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel via Hotwire. Co sidering they are considered a 3.5 star hotel via Hotwure we were very disappointed. The carpets are very stained. Found 2 dead spiders in our bathroom. Very old fixtures and no fridge/microwave in rooms. Laid on bed for about 5 minutes and out of the corner of my eye saw something crawling on pillow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jab0618
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for your stay with our hotel. As many hotels, even the most exquisite hotel will at one time or another have to deal with these pest. Since your son flushed the insect you saw, we were unable to determine if that is what it was. We always have the rooms taken off market so they are not sold....

Reviewed September 7, 2016

I was recently at the Clarion for a wedding. I could not be more impressed. The customer service and amount of amenities exceeded all of my expectations. We were able to enjoy and relax in the indoor pool. The room we stayed in was extremely clean and well kept. From the front desk, to the house keeping, it was beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey H
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments I will pass them on.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 14 in New Cumberland
46 reviews
4.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
0.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 14 in New Cumberland
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Price Range: $71 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room to the back of the hotel and away from the highway/turnpike.”
 of 5 bubbles STL-Mike-Rose, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the 50s on the second floor (250, 251 etc) have Wi-Fi issues”
 of 5 bubbles 823jayanthm, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“wouldn't recommend it”
 of 5 bubbles 765shawkatm, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“An "inside room" on the first floor has access to a courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles jenk941, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“The back rooms look out over the highway and can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyo37, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay