We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chanterelle Inn & Cottages

Booking.com$114*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chanterelle Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Goderich, Canada
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautifully located right on the Cabot Trail this inn was a great home base for us. We bought the Sampler package and it was terrific value. Three nights accommodation with plenty of activities included (whale watching, museums, Bird Island....and more) plus a four course dinner and still time left over to go into the forest for some foraging. We found...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kymber1
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

It was great fun having you here scrounging around under the spruce after the Chanterelles! Bryan was all too happy to add them to your dinner. Remember, the Chanterelles are pretty reliable for popping up every year so you must return.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at The Chanterelle Country Inn and had a really wonderful time. The view is spectacular! We sat outside on the porch for both dinner and breakfast, overlooking the rolling hills of Cape Breton. Our dinner was excellent, and the dessert absolutely superb! You must try the dessert! All in all, a wonderful place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tdubs1
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your generous comments! Guests who appreciate the beauty of the area and our efforts to provide the best local food ingredients are an inspiration to us. We enjoyed having you with us.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in a cottage for 2 people. Pro: fantastic view over river and hills, birdlife all around with blue jays and we also saw a bald eagle. Cottages small but well equipped with a comfy bed, tv and all kitchen utensils, coffee maker, toaster etc. It is a bit higgeldy piggeldy but it adds to the charm, nice balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you felt relaxed. It sounds as if you have had many wonderful travel experiences and we feel complimented that you chose the Chanterelle. Regarding your pertinent point: limited menu. Yes, we do only offer 3 or 4 main courses (along...

Krommenie
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Do not book the 2-bedroom cottage! It is located down the hill, no view at all except looking out at construction-material. Furthermore not clean, no sufficient towels, when we arrived the heating was on (30 degrees), and it was messy. A complete other world compared to the Chantarelle Inn up the hill and expectations raised by the website. When telling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Yes, we admit the cottage was not properly appointed nor serviced on the first night. I apologized profusely and told them I would address their complaints the next day if that would be satisfactory. I did so. We also told them that if they were not satisfied and wanted to go someplace else the next day, we would not charge...

Bedford, Canada
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for one night at The Chanterelle to celebrate our anniversary. It's a delightful spot, nice views and simple but nice rooms. The food was the best I've had in the Baddeck area, unique and tasty. The grounds could use some work but the inn itself is nice. It's very quiet though, and nothing within walking distance and by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoriM23
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you. We felt honored that you chose to spend your special day at the Chanterelle!

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We don't normally stay in places so far out of town (the inn is 30 minutes from Baddeck) because, as a vegetarian, I like to be somewhere with a range of dining options to choose from in the hope that at least one will be really veggie-friendly. I was attracted to the Chanterelle because the menus looked so good that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Belmarsh
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your most generous review! It is very gratifying to us when we are able to serve a cuisine that is satisfying to vegetarians. You were truly here at the "right time" as the abundance of Cape Breton was being harvested.

N. California
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We called directly and were sold on a "view" room in front. Pricy, but food was a factor too. When we arrived, we made dinner choices (not that impressive) we were given a simple little motel-like room in the back upstairs. When my wife pointed out the mistake she was told, in a round-a-bout way, to take it or leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodonisle
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

This incident began as a result of a simple miscommunication. Yes, Keith made the booking with this party for a room in the front but was called away from the desk before he had a chance to enter it into the reservation book as we were so busy with both check-ins and dinner reservations. Meanwhile, another party checked in and...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Featuring fresh and LOCAL ingredients, the menu is a simple beauty to behold.I started with the goat cheese and wild blueberry salad followed by what may be the single best piece of halibut i've had in my 28 years of returning to this beautiful island. I finished up with a delicious slice of raspberry pie and some homemade ice cream....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dumois
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed July 25, 2012

On our way back from Gros Mornes we decided to do the Cabot trail. We rented a room and made a reservation for dinner. The 5 course meal, yes, 5 of them, was an amazing treat! It was very creative and well presented. Kudos to the chef! The room was nice, simple, bed very comfy. We didn't get a chance...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Frederic L
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The inn is quite thoughtfully designed; it is well-located and nicely decorated; the inn offers excellent food, both at breakfast and dinner; you can eat inside or in a screened in porch with a great view. The proprietor is extremey friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Matteusgrant
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North River Bridge
29.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
15.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
582 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
270 reviews
15.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
272 reviews
27.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Nova Scotia with our breathtaking views, "Cape Breton Fresh" cuisine and renowned eco-friendly accommodations. The Chanterelle Inn has been serving travelers to Canada for over 15 years. Our 100-acre estate sits high on a brae overlooking the estuary of the North River as it flows into St. Ann's Harbour. Numerous sustainable practices and a central Cape Breton location make the inn perfect for getting in tune with the beauty and bounty of the island. You will find endless opportunities and our friendly expertise helpful for finding your own balance between stimulating and serene. Restaurant 100 KM uses local produce, seafood, meat and wine to serve an acclaimed regional cuisine that was named to the list of 50 Top Restaurants in Canada. Likewise, Innkeeper/Chef Earlene Busch has won numerous personal accolades and twice represented Canada at Slow Food's Terra Madre in Turin, Italy. National Geographic Traveler featured us on their Stay List of the 13 "most authentic and unique hotels" in Canada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chanterelle Inn & Cottages

Address: 48678 Cabot Trail, North River Bridge, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North River Bridge
Price Range: $127 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chanterelle Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chanterelle Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baddeck
Baddeck Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chanterelle Inn & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a cottage if you can”
maryh24, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
“By design there is no TV and that was a nice change”
Guildford31, Aug 6, 2016 | Read review
“Loved the peace and quiet of the cabin.”
925donc, Jul 18, 2016 | Read review
“Not suitable for those using wheelchairs.”
beverlyk588, Oct 20, 2015 | Read review
“Cannot recommend.”
Livingthelifenow2015, Aug 23, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$114* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$114
Priceline$114
Agoda.com$114
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates