We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Traveler (279)
Room & Suite (128)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence


#14 of 41 hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid wifi
Paid internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
Great View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
67Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
28Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 486
  • 445
  • 138
  • 54
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I just spent a week at the Marriott as part of a convention. Our group had been promised we’d all be put in the newly renovated towers, which were supposed to have been completed last January. Well it’s July and 3 floors are closed due to being in the demo reconstruction phase. Maybe half of the other rooms had been renovated. We had a newly renovated room. No one in convention was allowed to check in before 4;00, some had to wait until 7:00 to get their rooms. I never saw a bell hop. There were maybe 4 luggage carts for a 19 floor hotel. We had to make 10 trips from the nearby garage and carry items by hand because we could never get a cart. We get to our floor and find out they are changing out the locks on all the doors. Imagine someone jack hammering outside your door all day long! They decided to change all the door locks the week of a convention of 800 people doing all their events at the hotel. Constant drilling and hammering noises all day long staring at 7:00 AM! Some people had constant issues with their new keys not working and got locked out of their room for an entire day. Hotel staff did nothing to help these people. The elevators were broken constantly usually only one of the 3 were working . I got stuck inside elevator several times which is traumatic when you are claustrophobic. The escalators that lead from lobby up to convention rooms were broken for the first 6 days I was there, then the down escalator broke. What the hell Marriott??? Convention guests were supposed to get 20% discount at hotel restaurant. If you didn’t remember to ASK for it, it was not offered. We were 80% of the occupancy wearing our badges, seriously Marriott you were hoping to not have to honor that? The new rooms have fake wood plank flooring . The maid service must think that means they don’t have to clean it . My floor was coated with dust and maid never swept the floor, crumbs from anything I ate was there all week. Only good thing I have to say is the beds were comfy. The hallways and stairwells were covered with dust and dirt, most likely from construction debris, but it wasn’t cleaned up. Then final insult when checking out discover we got charged for internet!! Who does that anymore?? They never said that on Checkin. There was no login. No message saying you had to pay when you accessed it. $12.95 a day for internet is outrageous ! Marriott was a TOTAL fail, will never choose to stay thee again !
Read more
Pros: -beds were clean and comfortable -good food Cons: -Room was not cleaned daily (was never vacuumed in 5 days) -Coffee was only available for a couple hours in morning -Broken elevators -Trash on floors
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from JoshN1259, Director of Sales at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Responded today
We appreciate the feedback, Megan. It's unfortunate your time with us was less than ideal. We care about the satisfaction and happiness of our guests. We regret that your room wasn't refreshed properly. It's important to us that we offer our guests a quality experience so we'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
I am very pleased with my room, the cleanliness and comfort. Every part of the room, the furniture, the bed, the bathroom, the lighting, were all outstanding. I had a most comfortable stay at this property. The hall noice was very limited. The restaurant/bar areas were always well maintained and well attended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from JoshN1259, Director of Sales at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Responded 2 days ago
Thanks for the lovely review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us! It's wonderful that you enjoyed the design and atmosphere of the hotel - that's what we like to hear! We're looking forward to your next stay with us for another amazing experience! Have a fantastic day!
Read more
I checked in and was told I had a room in the East Tower in one of the "new, fantastic" rooms. I was pointed to elevators that, when I went up, I stumbled out to the tile being done and a worker telling me not to touch the tiles. I had been sent to the wrong tower. He told me to go through the construction, with my luggage, to the stairs and take the stairs down to a working elevator. When I got to my room, it was indeed very nice. But there were numerous things that just weren't right - no water bottles in the room, the shower head is designed poorly given how little water pressure there was. Also, there are only two elevators to the East Tower rooms. However, starting in the evening, one of those elevators is closed for the rooftop bar access only which means there is just one elevator servicing the entire tower. Since this is apparently a big convention hotel as well, that can be a challenge. When I was there, there was a Christmas convention in July that was filled with carts and carts of Christmas stuff that caused navigating the hotel, especially the elevators, a real challenge. It also meant that, even though I had valet parked my car, I had to self park it for one of the nights, effectively paying twice, because I couldn't to the valet given the number of people unloading their Christmas items blocking the entire front of the hotel. Lastly, the breakfast buffet was seriously challenging at best. The remodel has great potential, and the room, for the most part, was indeed extremely nice, but there are tons of kinks to work out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Michelle R, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Responded 2 days ago
Dear PittTravel5, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and it is deeply disappointing to learn we fell short of your expectations - and ours. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel teams to ensure the areas in which we fell short are addressed immediately to ensure a more positive experience for our guests moving forward. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us so that we can improve. We are constantly evaluating our team’s performance and closely reviewing our guests’ feedback to identify operational areas that require some refinement and we appreciate you letting us know what we could have done better! Sincerely, Michelle Reynolds
Read more
Really helpful staff, great facilities and a lovely room in the East Tower. The staff couldn’t do enough to help and the temporary bar and restaurant served good beer and food. The restaurants and other places around the hotel were top quality as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from JoshN1259, Director of Sales at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review, waynebollands. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful that our really helpful staff went above and beyond to accommodate your needs. We're glad that our great facilities and our lovely rooms enhanced your experience with us and that you loved our bar and restaurant. It's also great that you were able to enjoy the local restaurants as well. We can't wait to host you again soon. Have a great day.
Read more
$155 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
lancaster marriott at penn square hotel lancaster
United StatesPennsylvaniaLancaster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing