We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
The Boulevard, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sands Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a garden townhouse. We arrived after office hours and had no problem collecting keys, but when opening the unit were hit with a wall of heat. We were unlucky to be given a unit without airconditioning and there were no windows opened or fans turned on to allow for air circulation before our arrival (they had phoned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Candilew
Takanini, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When our son asked us to come to Yamba with he and his wife and children for the Christmas NY period we were very keen. On leaving we can honestly say we loved the place. Not only the Sands Resort but the surrounding beaches and township. They were all clean and tidy. The pools and accompanying shower and toilet were... More 

Helpful?
Thank GGoldy
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. It is very much appreciated and we are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you back in the near future!! We are extremely lucky to be positioned in such as beautiful spot on Pippi Beach and that Yamba is a wonderful, vibrant town. We will also... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We had a three-bed villa for 4 adults and 2 children. The villas are very nice and well equipped but on arrival a number of items either didn't work (the microwave oven ) or needed replacing ( a ceiling fan in one bedroom and a table lamp). It was at this stage that we also discovered that the details in... More 

Helpful?
Thank smithfastjet
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. As the Resort is large, very popular as well as being fully self contained, there are times that appliances will break. We do aim however to give an immediate response to any of our guests requests. We appreciate the mention of the quick response when the manager received the complaint in the evening and... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

Great spot. We were on the top floor out the front so had a nice view of the ocean. The pool and spa are awesome! And the room was pretty nicely kept when we arrived. Probably could use some air con in the hotter months. And have bins in the car parks for easier access.

Helpful?
Thank Joshua L
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. The view from the top floor is sensational and pleased that you were able to experience it. We try to keep a very high standard of cleanliness at the resort so are very pleased that you were happy. Most of our properties do have air conditioning but you either have to book direct with... More 

Far Nth Coast Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The facilities are fantastic, with two pools, tennis courts and well maintained grounds, the apartment is well equiped with everything you need to make your holiday easier. The rooms are air conditioned and have ceiling fans. Our apartment came with washer dryer and full kitchen with all the crockery and cutlery you would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maxi1414
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay both in Yamba and at The Sands Resort. All our properties that we manage do have full linen. However, if you book through a real estate agent or from the owner of the property directly you sometimes have to bring linen. Wifi is also... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

From the booking to checking out we were amazed. On our arrival we were greeted by a professional, friendly & vibrant young couple that showed us around the Resort. We were amazed by the quality and standard of their rooms, service and facilities of the Resort. The location of the resort was outstanding!! Positioned right on One of Yamba's best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. The Sands team always try our very best to ensure that every guest has a memorable and enjoyable time at the resort and we are so pleased that your family had a lovely holiday. We are lucky to have the benefit of being not only in Yamba but right across from a... More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

We stayed only two nights and in an apartment with views of Pippi beach. It was fabulous on the balcony to listen to and see the waves, as well as the surfers. The pool area is very clean and safe for young families (we were with family in another Sands property who had young children). Only one small issue (and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueandPeteK
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you had a lovely holiday and that you would recommend us to others. In regards to the fish smell, we apologise for the inconvenience caused and definitely would of rectified this immediately if we were notified. We try to maintain a very high standard of cleanliness so would of taken... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

This is the best place to stay, its so relaxing, beachfront units, perfect for families and friends. Have been coming for 10 years and still love it. Never ready to go home. Can't wait to come back each year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deeni K
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We appreciate all the positive notes. We try our very best to make every guest's experience one to remember and love our regular guests. See you next year!! More 

Bribie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed self contained unit. These units are older but solid. Very clean with everything in good working order except we couldn't get free to air TV and the cricket was on. They did send a tech but he wasn't able to resolve it. There was foxtel. The units were really big with a large dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaisyinLove
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We try to our very best to have a high standard of cleanliness and ensure that everything is in working order for our guests. It was a shame that the free to air was down that week and we did everything we could do get it up and running as fast as we could manage.... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

We had a two bedroom apartment, which was well appointed and very spacious. It had all the facilities that we needed for a three day break. There were two couples and there was plenty of room. The apartment was close to the beach which is very nice northern New South Wales surf beach. The resort is also close to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank justy7749
jan529051, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review of The Sands Resort, Yamba and of Yamba itself. We are happy that you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again in the future!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.6 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#7 of 10 in Yamba
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clubyamba Luxury Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.8 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
0.7 mi away
Yamba Sun Motel
Yamba Sun Motel
#2 of 10 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay