We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Sands Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Have just had 4 amazing weeks at the Sands Resort Yamba. This is our second time there and all being well we will back again next year. The hosts Seb and Rae were fantastic very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, made you feel very welcome. The resort itself is very well maintained, gardens and pools are imaculate, just... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a week in Apartment 20 at The Sands Resort during school holidays. The apartment needs to be thoroughly cleaned for incoming guests and checked for problems. I had to clean all the windows to be able to see out. Dryer needs replacing - didn't work. Dishwasher and some crockery and cutlery still had food scraps dried on. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoast_member52
Rae M, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

Hi I wanted to reply to your review so you were aware that unit 20 although it is within the Sands Resort is not managed by the Sands Resort Management team but an out side property management group. As this is one of the small amount of units we do not manage in the resort we have no control on... More 

Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended the Sands for a sporting function in Yamba. We booked 4 rooms on the ground floor facing the ocean. All 4 rooms were well furnished, clean and quiet. We had a 3 bedroom apartment that had 2 rooms with 2 singles and 1 room with a queen. The kitchens are well equipped and the ground floor rooms have... More 

Helpful?
Thank KeiraBBay
Byron Bay Aust
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

I visit Yamba regularly and this was the first time I stayed at the Sands. We will be back. The apartment was a good size, very clean and in a good position for what we where there for (surfing and fishing). When booking, the staff were very helpful, ensured I would get a room with reverse cycle aircon (at my... More 

Helpful?
Thank littlelaney27
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

We spent 5 nights at the Sands and I wasn't in any way disappointed. Fabulous location right across the road from Pippi's Beach, probably a 15 -20 min walk into town or the other beaches nearby. The apartments was very well equipped, we stayed in a 3 bedroom one which faced the beach, was on the top floor and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank TJfamily2014
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Always that bit apprehensive when I book accommodation in a location that I haven't been to before. Arrived in darkness after the office had closed but absolutely no dramas locating the key safe and our apartment. We stayed in a single floor apartment that was extremely clean and in very good order. We woke to a beautiful view across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneSenrab
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

We have just returned from a four night stay in The Sands and really wish we had stayed for much longer. The reception people were very friendly and helpful and directed us to our unit (No.18),which once we had opened the door, we were more than pleased with. It was clean, bright and very welcoming and we had a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamick1942
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

1. Right close to the nearby Pippi Beach. You can easily take relaxing walks there. 2. Good value for money. 3. Sea breeze coming in even at night when you sleep, but the sound of the waves is minimal. We stayed for 1 whole week and cooked quite often. Even though we know that it's not serviced daily, we needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunny M
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

Just had the most relaxing week at the Sands Resort, Yamba. We had a beautiful apartment overlooking the ocean and we were within walking distance of the main st as well.Sparkling pool and spa,spotless amenities and friendly management helped make this a memorable week for us. Can't say enough about this hidden haven and will look forward to returning annually!

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

After reading the last review I had to write a review as don't know how anyone could rate this resort less than 5! Our apartment was spacious, clean and had fabulous ocean views. The resort itself is so well maintained and had so much to entertain the kids with. Mainly they swam in the pool and spa but they also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Issy08
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#9 of 10 in Yamba
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clubyamba Luxury Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.8 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
0.5 mi away
Yamba Beach Motel
Yamba Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only ABSOLUTE BEACH FRONT Resort Accommodation in Yamba!•Lap pool (SUITABLE FOR TRAINING) with splash area catering for smaller children•Outdoor entertaining areas and barbeques •Large Leisure Centre pool•Outdoor heated spa •Two Tennis courts •Security parking, mostly undercover• Easy walking to shopping, golf club, bowls club and general sights of Yamba. Free WIFI in the Leisure Centre and set within tropical gardens - paradise on the beach! A welcome pack is available on arrival to get you started! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Address: The Boulevard, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Price Range: $118 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay