We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Robertson Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Robertson Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

THE UPSIDE: gorgeous driveway, entry and property, lovely refurbished rooms, old boardinghouse charm. THE DOWNSIDE: common areas were chilly despite generous, good heating in the bedrooms. Stayed for the last Saturday night 'christmas in July' buffet dinner and had an enjoyable stay. Lovely country charm, beautiful property and fun overnight stay. Has nice period touches throughout without feeling shabby. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank So_Frenchy_So_Chic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Decided to meet a friend and get away to the country for a weekend retreat. Not too far to drive from Sydney. A lovely old style hotel with lots of history. A couple of fireplaces, where we spent a few hours just sipping wine and catching up. The restaurant food was way beyond expectations and very reasonably priced. The steak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leiza L
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful establishment in July, the grounds and the hotel are outstanding and the staff were brilliant very hard working but everything was lacking from the management, no personality, rudeness, seems she gets paid to just sit on her bum at front reception, hell the woman doesn't even own a smile, the young chap that was running around... More 

Helpful?
Thank ghmkinnon

Travelers are raving about these Robertson hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is beautiful, the bones of the house, the grounds, the area. Came here for my birthday weekend after coming out of a really busy time at work, and all I can say is I'm glad we arrived the Friday night, not the Saturday! As with many of the other reviewers, there were issues with the Christmas in July... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Beth H
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We also booked for Christmas in July. This was a fantastic break away for the two of us. The hotel is very grand and the staff super. All the fire places were burning and it was very cosy. Dinner wasn't until 7 so we popped down for a drink at the Robertson Inn which was well worth the visit and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony J
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place has great atmosphere, however, though the food was tasty, it wasn't hot. As for the coffee, instant coffee really isn't what one expects at this kind of establishment. The fireplaces look great but really don't provide a lot of heat. On the whole, disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I did send this to the owner on the 4th July with no reply at all. Dear .... I have just had my Christmas in July at your hotel with my large booking. In stark contrast to our wonderful experience last year I regret the need to inform you of problems we encountered during our stay this time. Firstly I... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Cedyr
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Grounds absolutely beautiful. Loved the history. Rooms small but sufficient. Breakfast was delicious. Service was great. Went for a walk post breakfast. Could definitely spend more than one night. Make sure you have travel arrangements downplay and car pool where possible. Taxi a little pricey.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
LisaGrantKotis, Public Relations Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Rachel for your kind words and support. The hotel has been undergoing major works for over 18 months now and it is appreciated when our guests appreciate the efforts that have gone into the building. It is a wonderful place to stay and relax, walk the grounds and spend with friends and family. Thank you again, Best regards,... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Did a train trip from Sydney with Christmas in July as part of the package. I did not know that it would be a buffet but the worst part was that we were so crowded into the room which had long tables of at least 30 people on each, that any time anyone got up at least half the row... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JennyA2828
LisaGrantKotis, Public Relations Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, We thank you for your comments and note to others that we feel there was some misunderstanding via the company you booked with. We do not offer a 3 course a la carte meal for the christmas function, just the buffet. We do hope you can visit us for a weekend away and enjoy the magic of the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Attended a Christmas dinner at the hotel. It was nice however the Christmas hype of yesteryear was missing- we previously loved the Christmas trees outside of the hotel and in the grounds and at the front gate - all missing now. But for going into the hotel u wouldn't have known Christmas in July was being celebrated. At $69 per... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nanette T
LisaGrantKotis, Public Relations Manager at The Robertson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Nanette for your kind words. With new management being in house for 18 months now, we prefer to present the building with elegance and simplicity and not try to recreate what others have done in the past. It is a grand magical building that has had a lot of work done over the past 18 months, particularly upstairs... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robertson
15.1 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
14.0 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
14.4 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Peppers Craigieburn
#3 of 9 in Bowral
3.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
9.6 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country R...
#1 of 2 in Kangaroo Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Robertson Hotel

Address: 4575 Illawarra Hwy, Robertson, New South Wales 2577, Australia (Formerly Fountaindale Grand Manor)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Robertson
Price Range: $118 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Robertson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Robertson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaindale Grand Manor Hotel Robertson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay