We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chalet Sonnenhof

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chalet Sonnenhof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am a repeat offender and have returned to Chalet Sonnenhof at least four times. Ok it is not the Hilton, the rooms are small but they are clean and if you get a room at the front of the Chalet amazing view of Front Valley. I have traveled the world and I have stayed in tents to the Hilton... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Karen and Neville were very hospitable and we felt very welcome at the Sonnenhof. We met some lovely people. A 3 course dinner and breakfast was included and the food was great. They fed all the kids prior to the adults which was a great idea as they watched DVD's while the adults had time to enjoy their meal and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we would love to have you and your family stay with us again, its guests like you that make us feel the job we do is worthwhile :) More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff, nice food and great views from the restaurant. Bar very basic. Rooms disappointing. No TV, small, very small bathroom, bad pillows and could hear everything going on three rooms down and above. Difficult to get out to other facilities. Paid an average of $500 per night! One step up from a backpackers.

Helpful?
Thank BradsEcon
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed the meals and our staff are friendly and attentive. We are lucky to have such a happy work environment. The rooms are small compared to hotels and motels in the city, we can't remedy this," it is what it is". The rooms are comfortable, warm and clean. We understand everyone is different when it comes... More 

Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean room, very hospitable friendly staff, happy to help as much as possible, great how they pick you up from the tube and from days skiing each afternoon. Food was very fresh and lots of it. Enjoyed the spa to ease the muscles after skiing. Really enjoyed my stay!! Thanks guys

Helpful?
Thank DianeZSouthportQld
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again :) More 

Toorak, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely experience at the Chalet Sonnenhof - from the friendliness of the staff to the quality of the food and the care taken in the upkeep of this older style property. Meals were of exellent quality with a 'home cooked style' feel. The three course dinner menu was well thought out offering plenty of variety each day. Portion... More 

Helpful?
Thank Esprit-99
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again next year. Cheers!! More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Felt unwelcomed during our stay with kids. Not children friendly, set up for adults who just want a bed in between skiing. Wasn't really accomodating with over snow transport, they suggested we ski down steep hill with the kids (we had no skis, they didn't care) The hotel seems run down and needs some TLC. Owners don't seem intetested, bloke... More 

Helpful?
Thank Curtis J
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Your review couldn't be any further from the truth. If you read all other reviews, we are very "family friendly" the children all enjoy getting together at kids dinner. The manager "Bloke" never drinks in the Bar, the Bar opens at 4.30 and at that time he is working hard picking up skiiers and arriving guests to bring them back... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Previously staid in a similar accommodation which is located 10 minutes away and this year, decided to give this one a try. We arrived as a family of 4. Pick up was made in a 3 seat snow mobile. You'll be lucky if the weather is good, otherwise you'll be snowed under whilst getting to the accommodation. I wouldn't even... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Freak_Instyle
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't have a good weekend, the weather was very extreme, we have never seen anything like it before. Heavy rain followed by a big freeze (-8) left our machinery frozen to the ground on the morning of your departure. Our over snow service is free, you were not charged for it, and nobody forced you to catch... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

Highly recommend this Chalet!! My fiancé loved the amazing 'home cooked style' 3 course meals. Also very accommodating in regards to other meal options for my nephew who has autism. The staff are friendly and make you feel at home. would recommend this place if you have children, they offer movies, pool table, puzzels and card games. Oh and don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you Tiffany for taking the time to write this review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you stay with us again. Kind regards Karen More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

My husband loves this place and now I've been can see why! On snow just a few minutes ski/ board to the lifts, great meals, some of the friendliest service we've ever had, clean comfortable rooms and a lift in the avo if your too tired to make your way back up to the chalet! Thanks we will be back!

Helpful?
Thank MsFussyTraveller
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Karen More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to perisher valley and we decided to stay at Chalet Sonnenhof. We are so glad we did! The staff are ever so friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere is perfect for couples or family as you all end up feeling like family but can still have space if you need it! ❤️ there is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo L
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Hope to see you again next year :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.5 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
0.3 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Chalet Sonnenhof

Address: Off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Price Range: $287 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Sonnenhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay