We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Valhalla Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Valhalla Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

What an absolutely marvellous place to stay. Nothing is too much. Kai who managed the place is wonderfully flexible and extremely customer focussed. Amanda the chef was amazing producing stunning vegetarian options for us some of which are attached in photos. The rooms are extremely clean, warm and comfy. The 🌨🌨🌨🌨 behaved itself and majorly dumped whilst we were here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

So happy to hear that you loved Valhalla and our staff were amazing as usual! Thanks for writing such a wonderful review. But next time, please don't hesitate to let Kai know if you are unhappy with anything as there is usually a simple fix! Everyone has a different criteria for a good pillow, we could have offered an alternative....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 30, 2016

I stayed at Valhalla for a 5 night stay. The lodge was well maintained and serviced. There was a well utilised lounge area with a wood fire place which was lit each evening. the lodge was air-conditioned, so comfortably warm at all times. The meals were creative, the serving sizes perfect. Our room was serviced daily, and you could open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susanlynnek
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

I booked the Valhalla Lodge for a long weekend away with my sister and what a gem it turned out to be. It was really cosy with great facilities, friendly hosts, lovely guests (most of them regulars) and excellent food! I'd recommend it for friends, couples or families looking for on snow accommodation, in a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NettyBrook
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Loved staying at Valhalla this year, our second time. We always have a great time and meet fantastic new friends and the hospitality provided by the lodge staff is just what you want on a holiday. I love not needing to choose what to have for dinner and the dinners are always first class three course affairs. We have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MalChandler
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review of your holiday with us. Glad to hear you continue to have a great time at Valhalla and are looking to come back again next season. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kin Kin, Australia
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Originally built by Kerry Packer in 1964, Valhalla Lodge is privately owned by a wonderful family, who often stay there themselves. The atmosphere is alpine and the facilities very comfortable. The view is panoramic - it is great to watch the skiers on Centre Valley, through binoculars - when you are not out there yourself. The meals are homely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryFMartin
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for highlighting our alpine atmosphere and delicious meals. As a lodge style of accommodation, these are important features. If pre-organised we can cater for some special meal requirements within reason, such as vegetarian etc, however sometimes a surcharge applies. Happy to hear you continue to enjoy your holidays with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed August 9, 2016

This is the 4th time we have stayed at Valhalla and each year they accommodate us with the same beautiful room. The place is clean, fresh and warm for those freezing nights. The staff Kai (manager), Sophie, Chef Amanda, Jackson, Courtney and owner Kylie are just amazing and even with our energetic daughter they continue to open their arms to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniella Z
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy your holidays at Valhalla Lodge! We hope to see you again next season!

Reviewed August 9, 2016

Loved being back at the Valhalla, Kai & Kylie are a fantastic team - welcoming, efficient, honest and caring - a great combination. The room was fabulous with a view over the ski piste from the highest lodge in Perisher. The food (both quality & care) and the chef are excellent, I am back addicted to morning porridge but also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for such a wonderful review and for pointing out that we are a great place to stay in both good and bad weather! Amanda has just added a delicious white chocolate mud cake to the menu, it is divine! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

The Valhalla lodge is located within a close range to the Perisher chair lifts and t bars. Check in was easy and we were made feel welcomed not only by the staff but also the guests. Very hospitable. The food was delicious, with the evenings 3 course meal written on a chalk board every morning, you knew what to expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

So happy to hear you enjoyed your first time at Valhalla Lodge! A stay with us is a true alpine escape with our delicious meals, après by the fireside, relaxing on snow location and no tv in your bedroom! To be true to our "ski lodge style" of accommodation and to ensure we continue to deliver the alpine skier experience...

Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to the lodge and our second time around did not disappoint, but only confirmed what a great place this is. We enjoyed everything! The staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly. The breakfast and dinner provided were just what you need to start and finish a long day of skiing. The food was varied and delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

It was lovely to have you back at Valhalla again this year, we missed you after you had left! So glad that we continued to live up to your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed July 26, 2016

We had never stayed at a lodge before and found the staff were very welcoming and friendly at all times. We had a lovely bunch of people to socialize with and enjoyed sharing stories and tips each day. If you would like to watch a movie in your room, we would suggest bring your own device, as there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your first snow experience! You will love boarding out in the mornings rather than walking next time! Many booking platforms don’t convey the alpine style of accommodation we are renown for. We have free wifi & DVDs, but no TVs in our rooms. The majority of our guests are repeat and they actually love this about our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.7 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
7.6 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 En suite rooms, a luxury home-like atmosphere, superb ski out location, stunning panoramic views, delicious meals, excellent long standing reputation and experienced friendly staff. So convenient to all that Perisher has to offer for snow skiers, boarders and cross country enthusiasts, yet set in a quiet almost private location away from the hustle and bustle and thunder of the snow makers. Ski out 400m to Front Valley and cross country trails are just across from the lodge. Best suited to couples, small groups of friends or families with older kids. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valhalla Lodge

Address: 31 Candle Heath Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Price Range: $260 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valhalla Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Valhalla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Valhalla Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Front rooms have the best view. we love room 9.”
 of 5 bubbles GaryFMartin, Aug 11, 2016 | Read review
“Any room are good to stay in.”
 of 5 bubbles 988daniellaz, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
“The wi-fi service was free in the common areas..”
 of 5 bubbles 720lynner, Sep 30, 2015 | Read review
“I don,t think there are bad rooms...”
 of 5 bubbles traveleggSydney, Aug 22, 2015 | Read review
“Get a Room with the mountain view for a gorgeous Sunrise”
  • The view in the morning
  • The bed upon arrival
 of 5 bubbles 329jasonn, Jul 5, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay