We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Mantra Aqua

1A Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mantra Aqua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 440: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is quite a huge set of apartments - over three blocks A, B & C. Very well maintained by the Mantra group. We had a lovely apartment in block B with the front lounge facing the slightly sloping tree lined road up from the gate. The location is excellent - a short walk to the Nelson Bay waterfront, some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Selma C
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely large unit - a pool view (superior?) apartment which was very roomy and bright with a good sized balcony. It had everything we needed including the much desired 2nd TV in the main bedroom (which saved arguments!). Only one real issue for us that we considered to be a MAJOR disappointment, was that the gorgeous and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZannB101
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Fantastic to read that you enjoyed your apartment and your stay with us at Mantra Aqua! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is disappointing for us to hear that you felt let down by the pool temperature. Winter certainly hit us hard and fast this year. The pool is solar heated, but in periods of... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Second time to Nelson Bay, second time staying at the Mantra. The location is the best part, close walking distance to everything that Nelson Bay has to offer. We upgraded to the Superior Apartment for an additional cost, it was good, however my previous stay was in one of the penthouses, nothing beats that! The apartment this time around was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monte_carlo29
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful local experience in our beautiful part of the world! So pleased that we also met your expectations with regards to your apartment, and that our team welcomed you and cared for you throughout your stay. We greatly appreciate and value your feedback with regard to the outdoor furnishings and have... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Two Bedroom apartment was very spacious and well located. You are provided with all the standard amenities such as kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine & dryer, large TV. The place is comfortable and functional. The main bedroom has an en suite bathroom in addition to a main bathroom for the second room. The resort also offer good under cover parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucsky
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Such lovely reading on a Friday afternoon! Thank you for your concise and informative review, and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mantra Aqua! You are correct in noting that we are a smoke-free premises. This has been the case since May 2015, and has been warmly embraced by our regular families. Best wishes Leanne More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had a long weekend at the Mantra Aqua. This was our second stay, now 10 years after our first visit. Booked via a Luxury Escapes deal a 2 bedroom apartment. Not as memorable as our first visit as we were put in a dark ground floor location and didn't live up to the "luxury" deal that was advertised. While... More 

Helpful?
Thank Timeofyourlife
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear that you made the most of your time in our beautiful region! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The Luxury Escapes vouchers are a great deal, at just $99 per night for the 2 bedroom standard apartments. Some of our guests enjoy the quieter location of the standard apartments... given your thoughts however,... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and what a disappointment. The apartment was dark and musty with a bug problem and needed a thorough clean. Our bed literally had a pot hole on one side. The staff were wonderful on check in and the pool area looked great but overall I would expect this type of condition in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lana_Dean
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Our team concur that we also wish that you had voiced your experience with us while you were here. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, but are most disappointed to read of your experience with the accomodation. We sincerely work our hardest to make our guests happy... Most of our apartments have new mattresses as of... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 3 night break at Aqua Mantra. We were greeted at reception by very friendly & helpful staff. Our apartment, 2 bedroom standard apartment, was well appointed with comfy beds, but could do with some fresh paint on the walls. It was showing a bit of wear & tear. Located on the 3rd floor at the back of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1950goldengirl
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

'Very friendly and helpful'- so lovely to read, thank you! So great to read that we were able to assist with your maintenance issue also... Thank you for the feedback regarding the need for a coat of paint in your apartment- we are in the process of painting all of the apartments, so I am sure that it will be... More 

Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We stayed in a two bed/two bath apartment overlooking the heated swimming pool last November.The apartment had plush king bedding, sleek well equipped kitchen,convenient laundry facilities, air conditioning, comfortable living space and a spacious balcony.

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

It must be almost time for another holiday, Marilyn! Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we greatly appreciate it. Hopefully we will be to welcoming you back to the Resort sooner rather than later. Kindest regards Leanne More 

Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Could definitely do with a more thorough clean to bathroom and a dust on fixtures, view of street is a bit disappointing and beds are quite hard kitchen kettle could be replaced as it looks to have had better days and sound proofing would definitely make it more pleasant

Helpful?
2 Thank ijlane
Work E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mantra Aqua Resort. We sincerely value all feedback, and always pass our guests' experiences on to team members. I am sorry to read that your apartment wasn't cleaned to our high standards, hopefully we were able to discuss this on departure so that the apartment number was... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Stayed in Mantra Aqua from the 1st to 3rd June. Firstly, my brother from Singapore booked the apartment through agoda and somehow they booked 2 apartment instead of 1. Was our mistake we overlooked the double booking. The reception was very nice to offer us either a additional night stay or take the 2 apartment instead. We chose the additional... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank shar0n_2786
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#7 of 15 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#11 of 15 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Price Range: $137 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay