We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ecotel Narooma

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ecotel Narooma
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

I have been off and on staying there for over 25 years when this Motel was run by a German couple. It was then known as Motel Montague. Since then it was bought by a Jewish couple who have renovated the entire facade of this Motel. When the owner died the motel was sold and the new owner transformed this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angie H
Garry K, General Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and informative review. Always lovely to hear from folk who have known the property over the years. The original homestead, with hill-top views, was built around 1903 when this property was the Kianga Dairy Farm. Now of course Kianga development is a 'suburb' of Narooma. Several times a year we will get folk calling in... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a scuba diving road trip. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are fairly cheap. The rooms are old but fine, it reminded me of family holidays in the 70s! Rooms are small, beds are comfortable and clean, showers were hot, toilet flushed, tv and fridge worked and wifi was great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aquatic_Ape
Garry K, Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us a review. Having the dive groups here is always fun so I am glad you enjoyed it. Pleased you were able to have some good dive time. We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

My partner and I made a last minute booking at the Ecotel in Narooma in mid holiday season. The room was clean, a good size for two people and we had a nice view of the ocean out the windows. The staff were really friendly and were happy to suggest good restaurants and beaches in the area. The biggest downfall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maddie602
Garry K, Guest Relations Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Ecotel and pointing out our virtues re staff, location etc. Yes the bathrooms are dated and on our To-Do List as we work through the refurbishing of the motel rooms. Apologies if you found them lacking and we hope to have them re-vamped for your next visit. More 

Burrill Lake, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016

The pool would have been lovely and cooling for a swim after a scorching hot day out but it was filthy with tree foliage ,etc on the pool floor,with very murky coloured water as though the actual pump didnt work.the surrounding grass of pool area hadn't been mowed in ages and there were broken lounge chairs on the grass.The kiddies... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jules l
Garry K, Owner at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

How unfortunate that you did indeed arrive when there was a pool filter problem. These things happen but it means once the filter is repaired it takes the pool a few days to get its balance back. Fortunately the sea is close by and the netted area at the North Bar a joy to play and swim in. We have... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

Staying the night here was truly awful. The motel room we were given was disgusting and nothing like the pictures we'd seen online so presumably not all the rooms are the same. The main area contained a double bed and two singles and was very small/cramped. The bathroom was foul - it smelled really bad, there were insects (both dead... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cider2014
Garry K, Owner at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I don't understand how the room could have been as you describe. So sorry you didn't complain at the time so we could have done what we could to improve your experience. More 

Travelers are raving about these Narooma hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016

We stopped here for one night on our way to Sydney, the room had been booked well in advance and we really wish we hadn't. The room was terrible, smelt musty, bathroom mouldy and lots of insects on the walls. Has put us off ever considering motels in Australia in the future

Helpful?
Thank Barb L
Garry K, Owner at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

I am sorry you seem to have had a bad experience with us. I have checked with staff and passed on your feedback. I am sorry you did not complain at the time so we could have taken action to rectify your concerns. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights, the staff are friendly & welcoming. It's a perfect spot to get into town via a boardwalk stroll. The rooms are basic( you get what you pay for) the beds are comfortable and the place is clean & tidy. I'd stay again if passing through, wouldn't recommend for a lengthy period due to no air con... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire B
Garry K, Owner at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Ecotel. I am glad you found the staff helpful and your accommodation clean and tidy. We are a small budget family-run motel so we do endeavour to make peoples' stay with us as comfy and welcoming as possible. More 

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

We stopped for 1 night and had booked well ahead at a very good rate. The staff are delightful. Our room was very small but clean and the beds were the most comfortable I've had in a motel in a long time. Bathroom was extremely dated but served it's purpose. I'd hesitate to stay here in hot weather as there... More 

Helpful?
Thank disappointed262013
Garry K, Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Ecotel. We are a small family-run business and try to create a home-away-from home atmosphere. There should have been a fan in your room, a oversight we could have easily remedied and I apologise for its absence. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Passing through and I don't need much, good bed - shower and a rest. Shame I have no time as Narooma is worth an explore. My room was tiny and with three singles - perhaps a bit aged but pristine clean. No dead flies in the light fittings is a dead giveaway in Australia, there were none! Outside a table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
Garry K, Manager at Ecotel Narooma, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Yes Narooma is certainly a place with more than its fair share of delights to explore. We will be happy to welcome you back should you pass through again. More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

The room was terrible, the walls paper thin and I got no sleep with drunk neighbours and cigarette smoke wafting in under the door. The towels were filthy and the room smelt really bad. When we handed in the key we could not contact any staff. The toilet was not clean.

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narooma hotels
1.6 mi away
Amooran Oceanside Apartments and Motel
1.5 mi away
Top Of The Town Motel
Top Of The Town Motel
#2 of 9 in Narooma
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.9 mi away
BIG4 Narooma Easts Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Motor Inn
Holiday Lodge Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Narooma
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Comfort Motel
Coastal Comfort Motel
#6 of 9 in Narooma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
3.2 mi away
Island View Beach Resort
Island View Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Narooma
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ecotel Narooma provides great value accommodation in a tranquil bush setting combined with comfort and friendly service. There is easy access to beach, boardwalk, public boat-ramp, town and Wagonga Inlet. We have rooms to suit individuals, couples, families and groups at affordable prices. Special pricing is available during most times of the year for parties of over 10 people. All rooms have expansive views from large picture windows. Rooms include linen and towels; ensuite with shower; kitchenette equipped with kettle, toaster, crockery, cutlery and glasses; bar fridge; heater, fan; TV and WiFi. Microwaves or hotplate and pans available on request. Some rooms have the option of additional fold-down beds or travel cots. All rooms are NON-smoking. However smoking outside with sensitivity to other guests is OK. Shared north-facing verandas provide a sheltered spot to relax overlooking the lawn and BBQ area. There is ample on-site parking for cars, trucks, vans and boats.There is easy access through our property to and from the Apex Park boat ramp without going onto the highway. Enquire about monthly boat storage and make the most of summer fishing. Please make use of the seasonal swimming pool nestled in a landscaped glade with undercover picnic tables. Use the BBQ and picnic tables under our magnificent Jacaranda tree. Get to know our hens, feed them your food scraps and enquire about availability of eggs. Find out more about our ECO practices. You may like to participate in some of the workshops, courses and weekly groups held in the homestead. These cover such diverse interests as cheese-making, permaculture, belly dancing, meditation, health & wellbeing, creative writing, yoga and much more. Ecotel Narooma lies on the spectacular south-east coast of NSW Australia. It is in Eurobodalla Shire and part of the Batemans Bay Marine Park. We are 345 kms from Sydney, 696 kms from Melbourne and 217 kms from Canberra. Narooma is said to have one of the most clement climates in Australia ... And we can vouch for that! We look forward to welcoming you at our friendly 'motel with a difference'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ecotel Narooma

Address: 44 Princes Hwy | North Narooma, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Narooma
Price Range: $46 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ecotel Narooma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ecotel Narooma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay