We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

South Seas Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
South Seas Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Rosedale
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We had a one night stay. Room was well presented and comfortable. Very close to shops and dining options as well as the clubs. Reception friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and shower was okay. Couldn't close one window and the next door property was a bit noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Dawn3847
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

I don't like shocks but love surprises when I stay away from home. I gave it a five - not because it was luxurious - because it is honest for what you pay for. It's clean, quiet, comfy, heaps of hot water, good bed, was close to everything and has friendly staff. It surprised me how good it was. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TerryAustralia2015
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Not worth wasting space writing about this place, only positive thing about the room is the beds were comfortable and clean..............A BIG MISTAKE by staying here, should have chosen one of the motels on either side of South Seas.........

Helpful?
Thank LisaDJGRLB
southseas05, Manager at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and we do our very best to ensure everything is kept clean. Unfortunately your comment does not elaborate with details and therefore we are unable address directly. More 

Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

Location was excellent with short walk to most facilities i.e. shops, clubs, cinema etc. Good pool and barbecue facilities. The apartment itself was small and congested with little room to relax. The website photo shows a small table and 2 chairs_there were none. A large sign at front advertises free WiFi . Our stay was for 5 nights and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken K
southseas05, Manager at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thanks for your feedback. Sorry we did not realise that the table and chairs had been moved from the room, they have now been replaced. I believe you stayed in a studio apartment, which is a smaller space. Our two or three level apartments may have been more suitable but for the stairs as you mentioned. The large... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

Great budget motel, good spacious clean room. Unfortunately the bed was very hard. My husband and I both woke up very sore. Other than the bed our stay was pleasurable. Just love the thought of being in Merimbula, breakfast was very nice. Just a lovely little budget motel.

Helpful?
Thank Kymme A
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

My partner and I recently roadtripped for a week and the South Seas Motel in Merimbula was our favourite accommodation. Why? Great service, view, clean room, good location, good value. Like many motels in Merimbula, it dates from the 1970s/1980s but has largely been modernised. We had a room away from the road which is great for someone like me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank simone_a13
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights from Sydney to Melbourne. Extreamly lovely lady at reception & rooms nice & clean. Its great for a couple night stay over as has everything u need bed, bathroom, microwave, fridge & tv at a great price. No Air Con however room was under another so did get too hot however was only 27... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
southseas05, Manager at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback. You can save a little by booking our great budget rooms but don't forget that's why they are budget rooms..they don't have all the extras that our other rooms have :) More 

Thirlmere, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2016

stayed here 2 nights place was so clean plenty of room. We had a small kitchen with everything you need.Great location walking distance to everything clubs pubs shopping.The owner was so nice helping us with map of the area showing us things we might like to see.Will definitely stay here again .

Helpful?
Thank Narelle B
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

very disappointed and glad we are only here for one night. Booked this in August for January travel but still could not get two rooms next to each other - not suitable when travelling with kids! Our room absolute stank with a very strong chemical odour which meant a thumping headache within minutes and night of no sleep. When I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DwyerMandy
southseas05, Owner at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

Unfortunately many people book in or before August for our very busy peak season here in Merimbula. We were unable to get your rooms side by side but had just one room in-between instead. I note that there was no mention of children in your request and indeed your booking through a booking site listed just 2 Adults in each... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Central location, supermarket across the road and short walk to numerous places to eat. Lisa (owner)was very welcoming and helpful. Nice size room (we booked queen room) and very comfy bed. Would definitely stay there again when we next visit Merimbula. Thanks Lisa ! If you come off season for more than a couple of nights ask Lisa for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dodger3771
southseas05, Owner at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, much appreciated :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#9 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#2 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
#4 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hillcrest Motor Inn
Hillcrest Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#5 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Seas Motel, offers Deluxe, Standard & Budget Motel accommodation as well as fully self-contained 2 & 3 level apartments. Located in the CBD of Merimbula on the 'Sapphire Coast' of Southern New South Wales. We are ideally situated, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Sydney Melbourne Coastal Drive Route. South Seas accommodation is undoubtedly Merimbula's best located Motel located in the CBD easy walking distance to everything from the Shopping Centre, Supermarket, Clubs & Restaurants. With the Lake located just 150 meters from the Motel and Apartments. Stay in and relax in the Garden and Spacious Lawns Area or on the Sundeck beside the large Solar Heated Salt Water Swimming Pool. Perhaps dining outside is more inviting, use the free BBQ facilities and dine in the large secluded outside dining area or use the newly renovated Function Room that seats 70+ people for your next, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking. Groups are well catered for with discounted Package Deals available for Fishing, Golf, Bowls, Whale Watching, Coach Tours, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking.South Seas offers 20 rooms with something to suit everyone from Travellers or Executives to short breaks, long stays or planning your next extended or family holiday. Deluxe and Executive motel units have individual cooking facilities; most Standard rooms have scenic balcony views. All rooms have Tea and Coffee, Toasters and Microwaves and direct dial Telephones. South Seas also offers a cooked al-a-cart breakfast delivered daily to your room or groups can dine together in the function room if they so desire. Wi-Fi Internet and BBQ are offered free to all guests.South Seas Motel offers clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and in a central location at a fraction of the cost.Interstate coaches stop directly opposite the Motel, while Merimbula Airport is within 2km. Why not enjoy your next visit to Merimbula by staying at the South Seas Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Seas Motel

Address: 12 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Price Range: $63 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your South Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay