We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roundabout Inn

GreenLeadersSilver level
28 Church Street, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Roundabout Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Landmark going to ruins !! Run down, Old, Unbelieveable restaurant on sight, No room heater that worked, Disgusting walls, And alcohol available in the pub, Basic , Oh cheap but not for families. U wouldn't pay anymore, Towels were gray. I stayed only one Night and Never again !! The room had a bed up on pavers, mold & hair... More 

Helpful?
Thank 68Frogs
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your experience. Run down - No, not with our repairs and maintenance bill; Old - Yes. Built in the 60's; Unbelievable restaurant - Thanks; No room heater - Untrue. Reverse cycle air conditioners. Maybe the timer was not set correctly, but easily fixed if you brought it to our attention; Disgusting walls - Sorry, the room... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great night with friends dancing away to The Brindle Pigs. Dinner from The Kitchen was faultless, we will be back especially for the pizza!! There was some confusion with communication on the cost of room. A couple of our group had booked online at $109 per room no breakfast. When I rang the pub a couple of weeks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bex72tic
Adrian C, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. You are right, the booking online confusion is not great, however the over the phone policy for groups is the same as it has been for 12 years and the online booking has been with us for 12 weeks and this is the first such experience. Sorry for the hassle but the booking fees of some... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay. The room was basic but clean. The parking is limited but there is plenty of on road parking. The restaurant provided a good range of food, reasonably priced, and we enjoyed our selection. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Nice atmosphere but terrible food for the amount of money they charge. $19.00 for chicken parmigiana & all I get is 9 chips! That's right, I can count the amount of chips oh sorry 'steakhouse chips' on the plate

Helpful?
Thank Slider385
Adrian C, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear we didn't give you enough chips! I hope the schnitzel was suitable. Next time try the 5 week wet aged scotch fillet for $25.00. It's delightful! More 

Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Heard this would a good cheap place to stay. Rooms $80 to $90. The pub food was fine, the staff were friendly, and room was basic but clean. So what was wrong? There was an internal locked door to the adjoining room. No sound proofing at all, the couple next door were having a domestic all night. The other side... More 

Helpful?
Thank TimWilco
Adrian C, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Greetings! No disrespect but why rag on us when really it was inconsiderate people near you. Did you ask the guys if they could sit and smoke elsewhere? Did you ask staff if they could do something like move you to another room? Did you ask the fighting couple nearby to be quiet? No...you just bagged us! Thanks for your... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016

Just popped in here with a few friends back in January. I was looking for simple, good food while on a one night stopover in Gloucester. Really impressed with the food but what really impressed me was the barman who turned out to be a walking encyclopedia of Australian wine (quite an unexpected bonus). He introduced us to a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank ilovefood842
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

We returned to Gloucester for another family reunion December 2015. Some of us arrived 27th December and were relaxing and dining at Roundabout Inn each evening because the bistro food was excellent with a menu to suit everyone. The friendly staff and lovely New England Brewing Co. beers made this a very enjoyable end to each day. The 28th was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Equus89
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We love New England Brewing's beers. Ben does a great job up there in Uralla. It is tough to keep up with stock at times however we've made a major alteration as the kitchen has changed hands since you were here. We look forward to seeing you again and hope to hear your feedback. Thanks... More 

Cunnamulla, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

What a beautiful and unique little place Gloucester is. When I stayed overnight at the Inn the bar was packed, there was live music and it was clearly THE place to be. A room was only $70 and well-worthwhile. OK so you don't get the complimentary shampoo, conditioner and gel for the bathroom but quite frankly, at $70 you wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review. We just try to be just that..."Great value!". Thanks again. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016

Needed a 1 night stopover on way back to Sydney. I'm not fussy, but I should have checked room before paying! The smallest pokiest room ever, worn carpet, very synthetic blankets, stank of disinfectant and not so clean towels. To top it, had dinner there and the restaurant was not too busy, but had to wait 50 minutes for tough... More 

Helpful?
Thank lexybar
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Depressing for us too! It's true! We are sorry you feel that way as we would have refunded you straight away instead of hearing that it was depressing. Pokiest room - Our motel was built in the 50's and we have never suggested our rooms are large. They are priced accordingly at $70 which is significantly cheaper than our competitors.... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016

Great local pub with friendly manager and staff. Offered to garage our bikes but they were fine in the private open courtyard. Room and amenities were older style but freshly painted etc and very clean. Wifi in hotel area didn't extend to rooms. Good bistro food and an amazing range of wines with sime brilliant "last bottle" specials :-)!

Helpful?
Thank judeles500
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for nice words as my brother calls me by other names! Ha! We like our wines so it's always nice for us to have a large and interesting range. Thanks again and we hope you come and visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.5 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
0.2 mi away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#3 of 9 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
2.1 mi away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nice country hotel/motel. Small clean neat and tidy rooms. All with en-suites and air conditioning. Conveniently located on main street with off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roundabout Inn

Address: 28 Church Street, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Price Range: $65 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roundabout Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Roundabout Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay