We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roundabout Inn

28 Church Street, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Roundabout Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed a 1 night stopover on way back to Sydney. I'm not fussy, but I should have checked room before paying! The smallest pokiest room ever, worn carpet, very synthetic blankets, stank of disinfectant and not so clean towels. To top it, had dinner there and the restaurant was not too busy, but had to wait 50 minutes for tough... More 

Helpful?
Thank lexybar
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Depressing for us too! It's true! We are sorry you feel that way as we would have refunded you straight away instead of hearing that it was depressing. Pokiest room - Our motel was built in the 50's and we have never suggested our rooms are large. They are priced accordingly at $70 which is significantly cheaper than our competitors.... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great local pub with friendly manager and staff. Offered to garage our bikes but they were fine in the private open courtyard. Room and amenities were older style but freshly painted etc and very clean. Wifi in hotel area didn't extend to rooms. Good bistro food and an amazing range of wines with sime brilliant "last bottle" specials :-)!

Helpful?
Thank judeles500
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for nice words as my brother calls me by other names! Ha! We like our wines so it's always nice for us to have a large and interesting range. Thanks again and we hope you come and visit us again. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

Driving back to Sydney from Tenterfield with the wife and two kids, we needed some place to stay to make the trip bearable with my 2 year old and 4 year old. Reading the reviews I called The Round About Inn not expecting them to have the ability to have a two room stay however the amazingly friendly Sandra was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Needed a simple room for the night but didn't expect it to be sooo bad. We eat at the Roundabout Inn several times in June/July and thoroughly enjoyed it but the motel room was utterly horrible. Extremely small sleeping area literally just large enough for two single beds with a gap of about one and a half feet...then a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
MrSheen97, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the room. It would be helpful to know which room you were in as I could then attend to the fridge. As far as the size of the rooms we can't do anything about that as the building was built in the 50's, but I am surprised about your thoughts about... More 

Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We stayed at the Roundabout Inn at the start of May 2015,as part of a motorcycling group. and it rained the whole week-end. The staff kept the fire burning all the time we were there so we could all get our gear dried, nothing was too much trouble. "Possum" the barmaid was excellent, Although the rooms out the back are... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonDL650
MrSheen97, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us. Possum is a character, to say the least! Ha. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully we will see you again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

We've been to the Roundabout Inn a few times with friends when we visit Gloucester. The food was great! The kids loved the play area. From the pup meal to the pizza everything weve had has been tasty. They can get busy during holiday times though. Its a must if your driving through or local.

Helpful?
Thank skyesblue
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here at least 10 times, last time 5th june 2015, and the friendly atmosphere never changes. The accommodation is well worth the price, and is in a handy position in a courtyard at the back of the pub. They always ask if I want to lock my motorbike up in the garage. The bar staff have always been... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellingRider
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Walked to the Roundabout Inn from our accommodation up the road as we had seen it was well patronised when we drove into town. It was also highly recommended by Janine who helped us out with sourcing accommodation when we stopped at a service station to ask for directions. Good country pub with a real local vibe. The pizza we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry T
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The previous reviews steered us towards this motel, but even though it has been renovated, the rooms are very small, and my side of the bed was against the wall. The blinds were broken and the view through them was of a very unkempt back yard. There were pubic hairs in the tiny bathroom which had no power point. Two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
MrSheen97, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Dear Janet We are sorry to hear of your review and we apologise for said disappointment. We do need to say that we are disappointed that our room was not clean enough, all effort is taken and sadly sometimes things are missed. We do need to respond to a few things that you mentioned. Firstly, the rooms are small, we... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stopped in Gloucester as we travelled through and had been recommended this little quiet pub. What a delight! Staff were so friendly and accommodating. Food was made to order and all reasonably priced. We all enjoyed our meal and would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of going to Gloucester.

Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker0006
MrSheen97, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for that! We try! :) Your feedback is most welcomed. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.5 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
0.1 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#4 of 9 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
2.1 mi away
Barrington River Hideaway
Barrington River Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay