We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BreakFree Eco Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BreakFree Eco Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

walking distance to town , rooms very clean, good size rooms and bathroom plenty of space for 3 people, service great from manager , free laundry, a/c excellent, loved the foxtell to watch a few movies,over all a great plave to stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Hi Judith W, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. Its a delight to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be clean, spacious and within walking distance to town. I'm glad you got the time to relax and watch some movies on Foxtel whilst with us too! We look...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went away to unwind and relax and not having a comfortable bed to sleep in really puts a damper on your holiday. Our room was on the walkway so we had to close our curtains the whole time. Hearing people walking past was not particularly relaxing. Very disappointing. The pool was filthy & the customer service was that helpful...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 72laureny
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Dear 72laureny, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Our beds are of industry standard and are updated regularly.I understand you had an issue with the bedding, sorry we don't have any mattress toppers on site. I am currently looking...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Property was in walking distance to town centre which is very handy. Room had air conditioning and was clean, inside there was a lounge to sit on if you wanted to watch tv and a small courtyard to sit outside if you chose to. Laundry facilities are also available

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivankac2017
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Hi ivankac2017, Thank you for your recent review on our Trip Advisor page from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Eco Beach. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms clean,tidy and within walking distance to town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Chris Chew

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here in Jan 17 for three nights. The accommodation is clean and tidy, very basic... ok for a night or so. We found that we were right by the road so heard everything from the car park doors opening to the late nighters returning from there nights out and just letting their doors bang at 3 pm in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jenny F, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. In particular the noise form the road and other guests. If you choose to stay again please let us know and we can get you into a quieter unit at...

Lennox Head, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

3 one bed apts booked early 2016 for Jan 17 through booking.com. In Oct 16 received an email from booking.com to say Breakfree can only provide 2 one bed apts and a studio and this will be at another location. At the time we were travelling overseas with infrequent internet coverage. We had to rely on a fellow guest to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandalN6207HB
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Dear amandalN6207HB, Thank you for your recent review on our Trip Advisor page from your stay with us at BreakFree Eco Beach We are sorry to hear of the trouble you encountered with the third party booking agent and would encourage people to book direct as you have mentioned. I'm delighted to hear everything turned out ok, our staff were...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really disappointed , the location was great but the rest was really poor . The lounge and bedding was uncomfortable . The airconditioning in the bedrooms wasn't wworking that well . The pool was cloudy and didn't look clean. They used a blower at 8.30am everyday outside your room .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank raewam
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a studio apartment with my friend - comfy bed, decent amenities and fantastic location a short walk from town down the safe main road (not a quiet back street) and the beach. The pool is tiny and the walls are very thin, so if you get a loud wall-neighbour like we did, you'll hear their alarm as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Hi Laura T, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to read you found our beds comfortable and our location central for your visit to Byron Bay. I am sorry for the noise issue you encounterd and will keep this in mind when allocating rooms. Kind Reagrds, Chris Chew...

Noosaville
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing special to say.I hoped best attention.Best cleaniness.Beds imposible to rest.No direct access to the beach.Few washed machines.The cost has not relacion with the qualitie.I do not recomended this resort

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martincZ6483OI
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very clean and modern. It is very close to walk every where you need to go. At first I thought the pool was small, but it is a good size to keep cool, have a dip and have a little swim, perfect for kids too. The Manager was helpful and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I1975NKsamanthab
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Dear I1975NKsamanthab, Thank you for your recent review on our Trip Advisor page from your recent stay with us at BreakFree Eco Beach We are glad you found our resort clean, modern and centrally located for your visit to Byron Bay. Look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Chris Chew General Manager

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent. The service and hospitality was really great. The apartment was spacious and the courtyard cool and roomy. I loved having a private gate out onto the pool and the facilities were easily accessible for my disabled husband.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L7408SMchristiner
Chris C, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review

Dear L7408SMchristiner, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed our hospitality and found the room to be everything you needed for your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Chris Chew General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.4 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
1.6 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#22 of 32 in Byron Bay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BreakFree Eco Beach offers a great location, affordable accommodation, and the perfect base to enjoy all the fun activities and attractions on offer in one of Australia's most popular holiday destinations. This resort offers a selection of studio rooms and one and two bedroom suites. Featuring modern decor and open plan designs, all accommodation has a casual feel suited to Byron Bay and its surrounds. All rooms include air conditioning, a balcony or patio, wide screen LCD TVs with Austar, DVD players, iron and ironing board, ensuite in all rooms, kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. BreakFree Eco Beach offers many onsite facilities including private surrounds with a central swimming pool, and a spa and a barbeque area far removed from the busy heart of Byron Bay. If you want to laze on the beach or hit the waves, the beach is just a 350 metre walk away. From here, guests can enjoy the distinctive character and alternative lifestyle Byron Bay is famous for by joining a surf school and yoga class, or go dolphin kayaking and enjoy a wildlife tour. The Byron Bay Lighthouse, Main Beach, Wategos beach, shopping, art galleries, cafes, restaurants and pubs are all within easy reach. Every activity is catered for in Byron Bay and is within easy reach from BreakFree Eco Beach, the perfect base for your next getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Address: 35-37 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range: $109 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BreakFree Eco Beach staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree Eco Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Upstairs rooms have balconies and may be more secure than the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Sally424, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“If you were on the top floor you wouldn't hear the cleaners scraping the mop bucket above you”
  • It was just grubby
 of 5 bubbles joyful_holidayer, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the pool”
 of 5 bubbles Christian2sen, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the pool - its noisy”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAWard, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Do your dishes”
 of 5 bubbles Scodria, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay