We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay

Save
Share
29 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Priceline$49
Agoda.com$49
FindHotel
Etrip
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (83)
Pool & Beach (15)
Room & Suite (12)

About

#10 of 102 Specialty lodging in Byron Bay
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
4.0
Value
3.9
Relaxed friendly accommodation On the beach in the heart of Byron Bay, one of Australias most spectacular and unspoilt holiday playgrounds. Backpackers Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Byron, just a short stroll to shops, pubs, entertainment and Byron's amazing selection of eating places. We have direct beach access and are the closest backpacker accommodation to the beach in Byron Bay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Paid wifi
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
398Reviews2Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 202
  • 120
  • 49
  • 18
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Trip Review wrote a review May 2022
Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
Mr David Gunn has extremely poor customer service. He was extremely unprofessional and inappropriate with his behavior towards. He gave me a full refund and he admitted his mistake. I won't be staying there again. As he customer service is 0 stars. Highly not recommended. Stay away!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from David Gunn, General Manager at Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi You were asked to leave the property as we had a number of serious complaints from other guests in regards to your disgusting behavior towards guests staying at our property. It would be important for you to reassess your actions when entering into a communal environment. Don't for a minute think we made a mistake by removing you. We give a refund for the time remaining to all guests that leave whether by choice or as in your case, being kicked out for disgusting behavior. In future you should try way harder. We would never have you back on the property under any circumstance.
Read more
makeitc0unt wrote a review Mar 2021
Sydney, Australia73 contributions8 helpful votes
This hostel is definitely one of the nicer that I have stayed in. The rooms are minimal but clean, the bathrooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The communal kitchen is closed for a period every day to be cleaned so make sure you label your items in fridges. There is direct beach access at the back of the property which is great, communal bean bags and hammocks to relax in out the back. Everyone is respectful of the noise restrictions and it's a really cool place to stay if you're on a budget. To be honest I'l stay here again even without being on a budget, it's a great vibe and suits Byron perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Joel wrote a review Dec 2020
Sydney, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
0/10 0 Stars 0/100! I have to agree with the previous review I had a similar experience with the manager who made false accusations obtained full refund as he was in the wrong. Notice his pattern of replys to negative reviews it makes for an interesting read very abusive. The truth hurts this hostel is terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
combat_wombat86 wrote a review Jan 2020
Radnage, United Kingdom344 contributions101 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights. Been a while since I’ve been in a hostel & am pleased to report it wasn’t as bad as I thought! Byron is pricey so had to get a room in a shared dorm - luckily our sharers were clean & quiet. Easy walk from the bus stops. Left luggage as check in not til 2. Bathrooms very basic. Kitchen actually quite serviceable. Lots of places to sit and chill. Free bikes and body boards. Quiet after 10 or so. Ok stay - but wouldn’t stay more than 2 nights...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Mick VR wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Backpackers inn is a sick hostel!! The great outdour area with the beach volleyball,the 2 min walk to the beach with great surf is what makes this hostel really special. Lived here for over a month and it’s one of the better hostels I’ve stayed at during my travels in Australia. Unfortunately I broke my foot at a party and have to go home soon. The staff has been very helpful to me and I want to give them a big thankyou!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Mariano P wrote a review Nov 2019
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina1 contribution
The hostel is very clean, well equipped and in a great location, near the center of the town and with the beach in front! Also the staff was amazing, specially Kar at the reception who was extremely helpful and nice! I would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Daniel N wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Hello everyone, I would recommend the hostel for everyone for having a very nice space just next to the beach, very clean and organized. The outstanding was Alex Harper services, he is a travel expert, if you are planning any trip or you are on your already, I would strongly recommend to have a chat with him, he can help you to organize/re-organize your trip and fit everything you want to do, being very handy sorting out unexpected problem on the phone, which is a very positive plus! Hope you all have a nice and safe trip and don't forget to validate you trip and make your bookings with Alex (IG @harpertherascal)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
gswales1 wrote a review Nov 2019
Sydney, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
I can’t fault this hostel for convenience, location, customer service and all around great vibes! Staff are lovely and the rooms are clean and comfortable - the lounge area is big and the kitchen is clean and large. If you don’t feel like cooking, they have Sunny’s cafe with a good variety of tasty food! With the beach being out the back gate, it is perfect for relaxation. I will be back next time I’m in Byron!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Alex Gonzalo M wrote a review Sep 2019
Cairns, Australia18 contributions3 helpful votes
If you are a looking for a place really tidy, clean and organizing this is the place, also the staff is really nice and helpful , the common area is quite big and it’s close to beach. If you don’t have cutlery you can ask for it at reception for 5 AUD deposit, this system is really useful because the kitchen is always clean , everyone look after their staff and watch it. If a go back to Byron bay I will definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Zane W wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
I spent 2 weeks in Backpackers and had a great stay. The hostel was super unique and offered a lot of great amenities. Located right on the beach and close enough to walk anywhere in Byron. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
backpackers inn on the beach at byron bay hotel byron bay
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesByron ShireByron Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay?
Nearby attractions include Byron Bay Farmers Market (0.2 miles), Byron Bay Cookie Company Gift Shop (0.3 miles), and Byron Bay Artisan Market (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Love Byron Bay Creperie & Chocolate Boutique, Il Buco, and BayGer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Byron Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.