We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Booking.com$43*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Panoramas (34)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 454: English reviews
Start your review of The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Awesome hostel with good vibes with plenty of activities good facilities and a cool brewery next door with a nice and cheap happy hour to start you off And with a free shuttle bus into town definitely staying here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in Tallows, the beds are terrible, feels like there is no mattress. Be prepared to wake up very early as it's extremely loud in the bush with the animals and workers starting early. 15 minutes from town. Not convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucas C
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Honestly, the Arts factory is exactly what you need if you're a bored city kid. It was a ridiculously good time. The staff at reception and the Nomads travel desk are always happy to help you out. CAFE FOOD IS PHENOMENAL. Like dangerously good. Theres so much to do and they have events going pretty much everyday. So chill. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reeve H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a really nice stay at the arts factory. Always something going on, so many creative people and artists, good vibes and the wonderful nature. Perfect package that gives you the full Byron experience. Will definitely come back when Im in the area again. Perfect meeting spot for open minded, creative travellers and long term visitors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henri R
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for yur review Henri, so glad you enjoyed your stay.We would love to host you again sometime soon. Happy travels :)

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here twice now over a 6 year period.. Both times have been pretty enjoyable. They offer a range of activities (If they end up happening), and are quite friendly! Has a great rain forest setting and rear deck overlooking a pond. Bad points are lack of proper cleaning done in the bathrooms (mold and mildew prevalent on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brettno139
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Brett, so glad to hear you have been a repeat guest over a number of years! I will pass on your comments to housekeeping and get onto them about being more diligent at cleaning in the bathrooms. We are constantly doing projects to update the property. You will notice the new cafe area from 2 summers...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Interesting place to stay as an alternative to hotels / motels and airbnb. Nice atmosphere, fantastic location and tremendous climate. Although the prices could be lower as the standard is saving on everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piotr Z
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Piotr, It sounds like you enjoyed staying with us, its good to hear you liked the atmosphere and location. Our prices are competitive within the Byron Bay industry, it is a popular backpacking destination in a small town! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent atmosphere but quite dirty and very noisy at night. Someone vomited in the toilet and it stayed liked that for 2 days (or even more because I left after). Good music at night but people very loud despite the signs saying that there will be no noise accepted after 10pm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florie S
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Florie. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. It is hard to keep noise levels in check, but we do try constantly. I am not sure that it would be true that vomit stayed in a toilet for two days. But I ask, why wouldn't you report it to reception if that was the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lot of people recommended this place to us and seriously is the best place to stay and chill!!! The atmosphere is wicked , everything is so organized ! Friendly staff who makes you fell like royalty (even if you are just a backpacker) Thank you Art factory for planing and making this vacation ur best one!! Camila y Rodrigo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camila T
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Rodrigo and Camilla - so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is really nice to get a guest review that says "thank you" to us because you had a good experience! Happy travels :)

Valparaiso, Chile
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was unique, where you can feel relaxed and comfy even surrounded by people you don't know. TJ at the front desk made the whole stay perfect, and the cafeteria guys were just perfect. All good with this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo S
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Rodrigo. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your feedback to TJ. Please come back again another time. Happy travels :)

wales
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the nunnery room a girls only bunk bed room which had its own fridge, sink and microwave. Brilliant service I got off the coach and someone had turned up to drive me to the hostel without even having to book, although it's not too far a walk into town. Lots of activities with friendly people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ectric
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Ectric, so glad you enjoyed your stay, the Nunnery is a really nice and spacious room, so a good choice! Happy travels :)

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

457 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (154)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (285)
Viewed
6 Bed Dorm (6)
Viewed
Amenities (75)
Viewed
Other (116)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 65 in Byron Bay
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.8 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#7 of 65 in Byron Bay
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#21 of 65 in Byron Bay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
1 month ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“My 6 bed female dorm was ok, located close to the bathroom and the kitchen!”
julierZ2423CP, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Private rooms were available if you want privacy, but probably not worth the extra $$”
E7104UHemmab, Apr 19, 2017 | Read review
“The common areas can get quite noisy at night”
Merysapemu, Apr 17, 2017 | Read review
“Book ahead if you want your own room”
405chrisbbb, Apr 9, 2017 | Read review
“Don't think it makes a lot of difference, all the rooms are on the most quiet locations possible of the building.”
rinkedehond, Apr 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$43* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$129
Ctrip.com
Hotwire.com$56
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates