We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 481: English reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room are great the bed very comfortable, the service and staff were excellent, good location, great variety of food for breakfast, we didn't use the golf course but it look great We also had high tea the service and food were very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Sue D
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel appears to be the top tier for the Bowral area, at least if you're looking at hotels rather than boutique accommodation. The decor is nice, rooms a pretty good size, decent view over the golf course. We did have an issue with the room description however, in that the booking agent (wotif.com in this case) has the more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luke F
sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Small changes could make it so much better. Rooms are a good size and the bed is very comfortable. BUT: The lighting in the room is terrible. Difficult to read at night without straining eyes. It would also be nice to have a safe in the room and the usual slipper offering. If you have a room facing the golf... More 

Helpful?
Thank sydneywanda
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed overnight at the Gibraltar Hotel during a recent road trip. Good location (even better if you are a golfer!) and staff were professional. Room rate was very reasonable including breakfast. Only negative would be that the decor is starting to look a little tired and well worn. Enjoyed our stay in Bowral and the Gibraltar added to that experience.

Helpful?
Thank FiveStarMike
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms of the Gibraltar are lovely and spacious. 50% have a car park view as did mine so if you want prettier view - do ask for it. The spa is lovely. But I agree with another reviewer in the public spaces are dreadful. Firstly the restaurant - it's bizarre and feels like an annex, and the Geoff Harvey... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine F
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Christine F, Thank you for your review. I am glad that the spa, room and check in met your expectations. In terms of the breakfast I was surprised to hear your comment as most people do love our breakfast and they find this room to be delightful. It sounds as if you were caught in peak time on a... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent two nights at this hotel with a friend for their birthday. Reception staff were very helpful on arrival, room was large and the beds ultra comfy! As you would expect for the very expensive price, including a crazy surcharge for a Saturday night. Facilities were great too. Buffet breakfast best I've had in a while. Now for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1979KG
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear 1979KG, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the rooms and the beds and that the breakfast was the best you have had for a while. with regards the dining experience I am sorry you didn't find this met your expectation. We appreciate that time away is very precious for our guests and that it was... More 

Mosman, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled upon a good value package which included a few good items plus b&b. Enjoyed the more modern accommodations for the highlands and the close proximity to lots of the sights. Bathroom was spacious but no bath (for those who like those things). Great high tea and catered for gluten free. Good buffet breakfast but do wish there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebCC
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear DebCC, Thanks for your review. Our Winter Escape packages is great value and guests love the inclusions such as the High Tea and breakfast. It is a great time of year to be indoors in front of the fire and still be able to look outside and wear your winter hats and coats. I am so sorry you were... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed as part of the winter warmer package, which was excellent value. Comfy bed and clean room. This is a great place to stay if you need to chill out and relax; you can choose to never leave the property. Town center a short drive away. Recommend the rooms facing golf course.

Helpful?
Thank Vsbj
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Vsbj, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed a Winter escape at the hotel and were able to chill out and relax. Our seasonal packages do represent great value and for each season we add inclusions that we feel will enhance guests overall experiences. Hopefully we will see you again in Spring! Kind regards, Liz More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's modern and that's not so usual in the southern highlands but it's very nice indeed. The room was large and has views of the golf course and was presented very well. Dinner at the restaurant was lovely. An intimate restaurant with a great menu and wine list. All staff were very helpful. The hotel has a very spacious feel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dmor12
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear Dmor12, Thank you for review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and dinner in our restaurant San fior and that the staff took care of you. We look forward to welcoming you Back. Kind Regards Liz More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After checking out from Peppers Craigburn due to the terrible rooms, we checked into Gibraltar Hotel. The service was great and the rooms were very spacious and clean. They have a nice sitting area downstairs that you can just chill out and have a few drinks. The breakfast was really nice as well. It had a good selection with everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kja91
Liz U, Owner at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, responded to this review

Dear kja91, Thank you for your review. We were so pleased to be able to accommodate your group at the last minute and grateful that we were able to make your weekend such a successful get together. So glad you enjoyed the breakfast, it is always very popular the chefs are always including delicious new offerings and the Observatory is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.8 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Peppers Craigieburn
#3 of 9 in Bowral
3.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
4.5 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
8.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Harvey's Bar
Harvey's Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Gluten Free
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on 100-acres, among century old elm and pine trees and under the shadow of Bowral’s iconic Mt Gibraltar, is Gibraltar Hotel, the most luxurious and modern hotel accommodation available in NSW’s Southern Highlands. Just one and half hours easy drive from Sydney and Canberra, Gibraltar Hotel offers 76 luxurious suites each with vistas of beautiful Bowral woodland or Mt Gibraltar itself. The Hotel also features a challenging 18-hole golf course, the largest conference centre in the region with a unique, elegant ballroom, six breakout meeting rooms, a wedding chapel with a full organ, as well as its own heated indoor swimming pool, cardio centre and luxurious Bowral Day Spa and Grooming Lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Address: Centennial Rd & Boronia St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Price Range: $172 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gibraltar Hotel Bowral 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gibraltar Hotel Bowral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay