We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Discovery Parks - Ballina

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Ballina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 269: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We haven't even stayed there yet. We went for a walk there this morning to see if we would like to visit and stay with our van next time as we are at Shaws Bay now. Walked around and thought is was nice suited all our needs, walking heated swimming pool, fishing and general relaxing. On our way out I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with our level of customer service. We appreciate all feedback in order to continue to make improvements to our park. Thank you for the review, Debbie. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been to this place twice now. Each time with a few groups of families and kids. We've stayed in tents or camper trailers and have had sites that all join each other. The park itself is really nice and well presented. The toilets and showers are very clean and well maintained. The common kitchen area is awesome and makes... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShaneBlack
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the customer service at our park, Shane. We're happy to hear the kids enjoyed themselves on the jumping pillow! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. More 

greymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this park last week for 1 night. My 11 year old son had a hard year being diagnosed with anxiety and Tourettes Syndrome so we wanted to give him a great Birthday. His night away also had to be delayed and changed 3 times due to his grandma dying. The staff online were extremely efficient and very accomodating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank evmaya
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We rely on feedback in order to continue to make improvements to our park. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your experience, but happy that in summary you feel the park is a great spot for kids! More 

Queensland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a delight it was to stay in a waterfront studio at Discovery Park Ballina in June 2016. The 'studio' was modern and offered a separate bedroom, en suite bathroom and sofa for a guest to sleep on. The kitchen opened up to an outdoor setting on a private patio affording the most tranquil views i have enjoyed for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jazznhanoi2010
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

What beautiful words! Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope you do stay with us again. More 

Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

The park is very nice well laid out. Very clean and very well Managed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The park is only a short drive to the shops, club, and other facilities. The only thing I can say wrong with the park is the dog section could have been included in a bit more of the park.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback, Robert. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and customer service at our park. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Had a lovely stay last year in our van but decided to try the waterfront sites this time for 4 nights. Really lovely overlooking Shaws Bay and easy walk to Hotel along the rock wall beside the park. However on day 3, we had 4 families move in on 3 sites directly in front of us with an assortment of... More 

Helpful?
Thank gmc292
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience on our sites. If you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Not a bad Park but who rates these parks, 4.5 stars is being very optimistic and an over rating by far. The park has plastic shower curtains and the amenities block is old and dated, that said they at ,East had plentiful hot water and a floor mat which some don't have. Seriously, this park is a tale of two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the facilities at our park, but happy you enjoyed the hot water! Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au . Thank you for sharing your review. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

I stayed here with my husband for four nights in April. We had booked a waterfront studio cabin.The photo when we booked showed the cabin right on the waterfront. We were very disappointed when we found that our waterfront studio cabin was actually behind another true waterfront cabin and when the guests in that cabin parked their car we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your accommodation at our park, Linda. Thank you for sharing your feedback. More 

Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

The park is quite and well maintained. We stayed on a water front site at a cost of $47 pn. We expected for the price the amenities would be new & modern. There were 3 toilets (1 out of order) the 3 showers had nylon shower curtains, the old sinks had corrugated iron as a vanity front! There were newer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerrie H
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at our park, Kerrie. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au . More 

Narangba, Qld
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

Well located on the edge of Shaws bay which provides a safe place for kids to swim. Areas to fish in the Bay or near by rock wall or surf. Nice quiet park with good amenities and a well laid out camp kitchen. Plenty of activities for the kids, mini golf, swimming area and a kids zone with games. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iangtr1400
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear you and your family enjoyed the bay and all of the activities available! Thank you for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites
Ramada Hotel & Suites
#2 of 18 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#8 of 18 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina (Ballina Beach Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
1.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
0.3 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Shaws Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the sparkling waters of beautiful Shaw’s Bay lake, Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park offers a range of accommodation to suit all budgets including bungalows, cabins and powered caravan and camping sites, all with waterfront options. Park facilities include a swimming pool, waterpark, modern camp kitchen, jumping pillow, mini golf course, indoor games room, kids nook, TV room and gymnasium. Nearby activity options include cycling, paddleboarding, fishing, golfing or just relaxing by the pool. Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park is a tranquil retreat where simple pleasures offer their own reward. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Ballina

Address: 25 Fenwick Drive, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Parks - Ballina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Discovery Parks - Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay