We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Discovery Parks - Ballina

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Ballina
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Ballina
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spend 3 nights in a cabin. Nice little hideaway. Beautiful park right next to the beach. Very friendly staff. All the facilities you would like to have. A place that is nice and clean. Organized and well looked after. Great place to stay and relax. For families and couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our location right next to the beach, Matthias. Thank you for sharing your review of our park!

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a weekend here with another 3 couples and children, staying in 4 separate cabins on the riverfront which was so peaceful and has a beautiful outlook. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was very large, probably one of the largest cabins we have stayed at in a holiday park before. We were very impressed by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernics
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that you had a peaceful stay and very much enjoyed the cabin. Thank you for sharing your feedback and suggestions!

Hoppers Crossing, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped at Discovery Lakeside Caravan Park in Ballina after 6 hours on the road . Excellent location for a much needed rest . The cabin we had looked out on the lake and we had a beautiful BBQ whilst looking at the view during sunset . The park is clean and tidy with great swimming pools and excellent for couples...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob180711
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words on our customer service and park, as well as the suggestions!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely cabin on the water which catered for a couple. It was clean and comfortable for a couple. The water views form the cabin verandah was peaceful. The kitchen and bathroom were clean, however, could do with a decent upgrade. The staff were fabulous, friendly and helpful. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystalice16
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we do hope you return for another peaceful stay!

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a few cabins before but this was by far the dirtiest and oldest thing we slept in. It looks like it hasnt been properly cleaned for 10+ years. The cuttlery drawers where very dirty and so was most of the cuttley, utensils, dishes and fridge. The bathroom was only cleaned very superficial. Piles of dirt under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonity
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the level of cleanliness and the cabins at our park. Please be assured that we strive to maintain the highest standard of maintenance and cleanliness at our park. Your feedback will be shared with the team. However, we're glad that you otherwise enjoyed the location, the waterpark, and the kids facilities. Thank...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

There are a few caravan parks in Ballina but we wanted a caravan site near the water with a cement slap. First impressions on the phone when booking and on arrival are important. Discovery Parks (Big 4) Ballina were excellent. When we arrived we were assisted by "Jessie" who was excellent. She suggested a few sites and asked us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caravanerqld
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the ensuite, but pleased that you appreciated our level of customer service and enjoyed the views. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but the little cabin we stayed in was cute and fit our purposes. Only complaint was the noise through the night. Otherwise, beautiful setting and close to a waveless beach with great kid friendly amenities. The staff were courteous and the price was fair!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NTMontenegro
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're happy that you liked our cute cabin and were comfortable in the setting of our park. Thank you for sharing your review of our customer service and facilities!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Double bunks were too small in length to accommodate a 14yr boy and 9 year old girl on the top bunks. Airconditioner struggled to cool the chalet and was noisy. Coffee cups were tiny. Two cups required for a normal cup.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank butterfli2017
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the amenities and bedding in your cabin. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Loved the lakefront location, the ensuite bathroom, the friendly staff, bike paths and things to see and do. Super relaxing, but so much to do - mini golf, gym, pools, playground, games room, everyone was happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeefraser
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thanks for your review!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Our family of 4 recently stayed at this caravan park for Christmas 2016, arriving December 20th & departing 27th (en suite caravan). There appears to be 2 sections to the park. Section in central area and another closer to Shaws Bay. We stayed in the central area and had no neighbours until the last night of our trip. Pros of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed many things about your stay: facilities, location, beaches, accommodation. Thank you for the review, Christine - we hope you have the opportunity to return to our park.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#12 of 20 in Ballina
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.1 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the sparkling waters of beautiful Shaw's Bay lake, Discovery Parks - Ballina offers a range of accommodation to suit all budgets including bungalows, cabins and powered caravan and camping sites, all with waterfront options. Park facilities include a swimming pool, waterpark, modern camp kitchen, jumping pillow, mini golf course, indoor games room, kids nook, TV room and gymnasium. Nearby activity options include cycling, paddleboarding, fishing, golfing or just relaxing by the pool. Discovery Parks - Ballina is a tranquil retreat where simple pleasures offer their own reward. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Ballina

Address: 25 Fenwick Drive, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Price Range: $58 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Parks - Ballina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Parks - Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Campbelltown, Australia
Morayfield, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I would choose a larger cabin next time if staying longer.”
 of 5 bubbles crystalice16, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid the cabins, camping is great. Maybe the deluxe cabins are worth they money”
 of 5 bubbles sonity, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“research best option for your budget”
 of 5 bubbles ceterpaple, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“Ensuite sites are brilliant !”
 of 5 bubbles sandyj526, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
“ensuite powered sites are great”
 of 5 bubbles Pidgee, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question