We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Penmenner House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Penmenner House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2016

My husband and I decided to spend a weekend in Cornwall for our wedding anniversary. We had a really lovely stay in this beautiful house , looked after by Susannah and Geoff. Our room, the Atlantic, had wonderful views and was really comfy with a good selection of tea,coffee ,chocolate and water on hand. We were greeted with tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Frances for your kind review. We hope you had memorable anniversary and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yelvertoft,
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Very warm welcome, fabulous location, extremely comfortable and homely. Beds are really comfortable. Breakfast is all you can ask for and comprises local produce. Highly recommended.Ideal for walkers, as a base for local sightseeing,artists, geologists and anyone interested in the natural environment. Try Ann's pasties in the village. Look out for the very rare but local Serpentine stone, some of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 776roger
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Penmenner. Lots of people have told us how comfortable our beds are. We chose the best mattresses because we know that a good nights sleep is very important to our guests. We are also glad that you enjoyed studying the serpentine stone both outside and...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2016

Wonderful rooms, whole family took over the place at short notice. Perfect in every way. Best place to stay on the Lizard peninsula. No brainer. Should be the default choice for anyone seeking b and b. The house is being sympathetically decorated and the owners seek to please in every way

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanceb410
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Lance. We were delighted to be able to host you and your family. We hope you will come back again in the future to see what changes we have made and how things have turned out. Our aim is to make Penmenner House an even more beautiful place to stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2016

My wife and I arrived on a day when we had all four seasons in the space of 2 hours. We arrived tired and wet but thankfully Geoff and Sue`s warm welcome made us feel better. The homemade cake and fresh tea that greeted us ( which we hadn`t booked nor expected ) was a joy. Once the weather cleared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederick L
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Frederick, we are glad that you enjoyed the cake and your time at Penmenner. The Cornish weather certainly put on a good display for you.

Reviewed November 4, 2016

We had a truly wonderful stay at Penmenner House, Susan and Geoff were excellent hosts and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection and were excellent quality. Our room (Sunset Room) was very well decorated, perfect size for the two of us, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The views from the B&B were just simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us Michelle and we are really looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 24, 2016

The room was tired, in need of decorating and a total make-over; the en-suite toilet and shower room smelly; the beds, sheets and pillows cheap; the breakfast was mean, the sausage awful; workmen outside at 7.30am; and yet the price was top end. To charge £80 cash, for single occupancy, for that room was not decent. The other reviewers could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lespaull1959
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are going to update that room shortly. We will also replace the beds and mattresses.The pillows however are new as is the bedding which is quality cotton. We are so sorry about the scaffolding lorry arriving at that time. We were not expecting him and we...

Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We were in the Atlantic suite, overlooking the English channel, horses in an adjacent field, sea birds, boast in the channel. We could see all of this between our feet at the end of the bed. Very nicely decorated with lovely tableware and delicious, delicious breakfast, Tea and shortbread and bikkies in the room. The shower had excellent water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EllenHarvey
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We enjoyed every minute at this B & B . Cleanliness, comfortable bed, excellent service , beautiful view from the window , there is attention to detail for our comfort. Hospitable Suzanne and her husband are ready to help at any time . We are very grateful for the time we spent with you and for your care about your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena W
Northampton
Reviewed September 14, 2016

We have just enjoyed the most fantastic stay we have ever had in Cornwall. Sue and Geoff's mission is to make your stay a 5 Star stay. They exceed this.Thank you so much!!! We will be back very soon to enjoy their hospitality, breakfasts, lovely house and , of course, fantastic views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 27, 2016

What a gorgeous B&B. Susan and Geoff are so welcoming and their mission was to ensure we had a great holiday. Sea views everywhere! Geoff's breakfasts are fab. Susan's updated the rooms. They are beautiful. And there's so much to do here. We extended 1 night to 4. Thank you both so much 11/10 review.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ichowns
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
733 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in Lizard
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in Lizard
56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A characterful Victorian house which is Britain's most Southerly Bed and Breakfast with 4 ensuite rooms and fantastic sea views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Price Range: $74 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Penmenner House Lizard, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Penmenner House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Penmenner House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms have great sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles 776roger, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles frederickl797, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“Best B&B in The Lizard”
 of 5 bubbles W8716FBmichellec, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles EllenHarvey, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles 62HeatherW, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question