We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Porth Avallen Hotel

TripAdvisor$141*
View Deal
06/05/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$141*
$141*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Porth Avallen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Start your review of Porth Avallen Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel over a weekend. Stunning views over the bay ,although the hotel is a little bit isolated and the walk down to Charlestown Harbour and back is only for the fittest.!! The hotel itself is very pleasant with a lovely friendly atmosphere throughout and we found the staff helpful and eager to please. Our room was clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rh682017
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would consider returning in the future. It is quite a climb back up from Charlestown so perhaps next time you stay, I would suggest catching the number 25 bus from outside Charlestown's former Methodist church which brings you back to the end...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights so that we could visit the Eden Project which is just a few miles away. The hotel is situated in a beautiful position and our room overlooked the bay. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, the staff are excellent, very helpful and friendly without being intrusive and the breakfast will set you up for the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SHAZAN58
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is so good to read that our small team helped to make our guests happy and relaxed....that's what we aim for! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes from all of the team at The Porth Avallen Hotel.

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 11, 2017

This old style hotel is beautiful. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is highly recommended. The unobstructed view from this hotel is breathtaking. Ample parking in front of the hotel. Definitely worth a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 689WilliamP
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review of our hotel here in Carlyon Bay. It is kind of you to take the time. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our breakfast. I will ensure the chefs receive your feedback. I hope to be welcoming you back very soon but for now, take care and best wishes...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2017

This hotel was organised by our Son, Daughter and Son in-law as a base whilst we visited The Eden Project and to celebrate a Birthday / Anniversary, The Avallen was a fantastic find with quality food and accommodation the views from the Avallen Suite are outstanding.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in the Avallen Suite and I will gladly pass on your comments to the chefs regarding our menu. I hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Best wishes from all of us at The Porth Avallen Hotel.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Positioned in a very pleasant area overlooking the sea the Hotel was warm and welcoming on arrival. Interior had great Character. Staff were very helpful and could not do enough for you. Bedroom was spacious with very comfortable beds. Good en suite and everything was very clean with bedding an towels changed regularly. Food was excellent with a very good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 356eric
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. It is so nice when someone takes the time out of their busy life to make a positive comment on Trip Advisor. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you from all of us at The Porth Avallen Hotel.

Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 3, 2017

the hotel was great staff were very helpful in a nice location and quite easy walk to a few small shops and plenty to see and do in local aera the hotel has plenty of parking with great views out to sea and is in a quite location

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonyfC5554AC
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards from all of us at The Porth Avallen Hotel.

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Had a most delicious dinner with the family. I had a Thai Fish Curry which was out of this world with potato and spinach. My husband had a rib eye steak with chips and salad and our daughter had beef brisket wrap with salad. All main meals were very delicious. For dessert, we had a Ice cream sundae with cherries,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Conny48
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and I do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. I have passed on your comments to our chefs.

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

This hotel has so much potentials it's a shame that it's run in this way. From our experience it was so bad that it was in a way comical. From poor service, not being set up as agreed, holding back pre paid drinks, insulting remarks about the Cornish, terrified staff the list goes on and on!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mptpacific
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Porth Avallen Team work very hard to try and ensure guests feel welcome and relaxed during their visit. I am sorry we did not manage to meet our or your expectations on this occasion.

Reviewed February 14, 2017

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted politely and directed to our room. We arrived to the room at which point I really wanted a shower to freshen up, however the shower was in a very low corner bath and there was barely any water pressure, so I ended up just washing my face as it was pretty pointless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your comments about your stay. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping manager. The Porth Avallen Hotel is a former country manor house which has been converted into a hotel. It was built in 1928, they didn't have 'power showers' then and consequently the water pressure doesn't...

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Another good stay at the Porth Avallen Hotel. Well looked after by the friendly staff and our our bedroom overlooked Carlyon Bay, which was a great view when we woke in the morning.Ideally situated for the many places of interest in Cornwall.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnCracknell
PorthAvallen, Front Office Manager at Porth Avallen Hotel, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/05/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
464 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Porth Avallen Hotel is placed ideally to offer unbeatable views of the Cornish South Coast that will leave you breathless. With a warm and sea facing restaurant, a modern and sea facing bar as well as a tranquil garden area (also sea facing) you are offered a veritable feast for the eyes. The fantastic, talented chefs add to this by offering The Reflections Restaurant and Brasserie menus which are appetizing even on the page, with a wide variety of locally sourced dishes for you to choose from. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Porth Avallen Hotel

Address: 51 Sea Road | Carlyon Bay, St Austell PL25 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range: $119 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Avallen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Porth Avallen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Avallen St Austell
Hotel Porth Avallen
Porth Avallen Hotel St Austell, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms at the front have sea views.”
rh682017, 1 week ago | Read review
“Single rooms are at the rear. The best room, the Avallen Suite has a balcony providing a panoramic view of the bay and surrounding area.”
689WilliamP, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
Conny48, Mar 5, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with sea view”
davidmP9887MD, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“Do not pay for a 'luxury' room”
Henpen2015, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$141* /night
View Deal
HOTEL.INFO
Priceline$141
Booking.com$141
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates