We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Waterwheel Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Waterwheel Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Waterwheel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed there 2 nights. On the first night we ate our dinner there. It was excellent. The room was clean and big enough for us three. The bath was too small for me I was not able to shave my beard. Toilet and shower, both small, were separat. Overall we liked it very much and would come again. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank globo65
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

Outstanding throughout. Warm welcome, superb dinner and made to feel completely at home, and by the cat and the labrador too! The owners are creating an even more beautiful garden with water features so we'll be back and stay a tad longer next time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ACaddy
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

We chose this B&B because of its proximity to visit the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. It is well run by Francesca and Mark, Kernow (lovely friendly black labrador) and Bailey (ginger cat) are also in residence. The beds are very comfortable and they provide large mugs to make tea or coffee in your room. Free wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather S
Louth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Disappointed with the location. We believed that we were in the town. You are near nothing so need to drive to get into the town. The room was very small for a double , nowhere to put a suitcase and the bathroom was awful. The shower was uncontrollable, either freezing or dangerously hot. A dog roams the dining room and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jackiemT975SC
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disillusioned by the location. We do quite clearly state on the front page of the website through which you booked that we are "situated in a beautiful wooded valley, beside The White River and just a brisk 10 minutes walk from St Austell town." This is our home and the home of Kernow, the black... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Stayed just one night in a very pleasant room with all necessary facilities. Bed comfy and excellent view of gardens, pond and waterfall effect. Nicely situated, very pleasant hosts and friendly black lab just in case you dropped any of the very good full English Breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mgB5207IS
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Lovely Garden even though landscaping is not finished. A labour of love. Great centre for a one or two day break. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful owners and staff. Downsides are minor. Rooms are a little cramped. Access to gardens is through bar and restaurant. but changes are taking place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank huntertravel73
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Arrived at the Inn after a seven hour trip from Gatwick airport. Traffic and road works not great. Weekend was excellent. Food was excellent and staff were very pleasant. Good position to explore the west country. Eden Project is a must to go and see.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aflamb_404891
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Awesome feed, friendly atmosphere with great service. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area or passing through. Fish n Chips and the Calamari is beautiful and look forward to trying the rest of the menu when next staying at Lake Tyers.

Helpful?
Thank Helen C
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

Everything from the time we arrived we were treated to a fantastic stay .The room was super and spotless.The evening meal was beautiful and cooked to perfection .We had a peaceful night sleep in the most comfy bed and then had a superb breakfast .We cannot wait to return soon .

Helpful?
Thank welshcakes69
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner and dog at the end of last year and we loved every second. The couple that run it were friendly and welcoming, and we enjoyed meeting kernow the Labrador. The rooms were nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, and there is a large garden with several ponds and a small waterfall, which my dog enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#6 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our eight en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range: $96 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay