We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Scarlet Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,317: English reviews
Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The modern, spacious hotel, nestled within the rugged coast of Cornwall is very special. For this couples only hotel, is a one off. From the moment you arrive, you feel special. Great attention to detail, fantastic food and the view whilst having breakfast, lunch or dinner is breathtaking.

Helpful?
Thank HazelBrighton
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 3 nights on a spa deal and can honestly say it was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. Very romantic and beautiful setting. Lovely laid back vibe. Treatments are heavenly. It was a 10 wedding anniversary treat and I hope I don't have to wait that long to go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Cez14
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited the scarlet for afternoon tea whilst on holiday and were a little disappointed. Clearly it is a high end hotel and very nice which is why we were looking forward to our tea. The venue is very nice and the food was good but what let it down was the service or more to the point the lack... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read of your disappointing afternoon tea experience. Certainly our service is laid back, however, this should remain attentive and professional. I would really like to further understand your afternoon tea experience, if you have a few moments, could you email me on rachael.fisher@scarlethotel.co.uk Again, I am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.I... More 

Geneva
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has a really pleasant atmosphere. We spent four nights taking yoga classes and spa treatments. Upon arrival there was some misunderstanding about our spa bookings but this was quickly sorted out. Our room (No. 37 I think) was on the lower floor with direct access to the front meadow. Upon arrival we saw a rabbit grazing outside! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank onlyGeorgeVwilldo
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Your Yoga break sounds truly relaxing and rejuvenating, thank you for sharing your Scarlet experience. The Coastal path rooms are beautifully located, with a sea facing queen bed and uninterrupted view, what more could you need? Should you prefer a bigger bed on your return, we have a Generous room located on the same level with a king size bed.... More 

Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My lovely boyfriend treated me to a gorgeous nights stay for my 25th Birthday at the Scarlet. We stayed in a 'unique' room which was just stunning - large bath and separate shower, little garden area and a viewing platform overlooking the beach. I couldn't fault the hotel from start to finish. One thing that stood out to me having... More 

Helpful?
Thank LucyJane38
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful surprise and treat for your 25th Birthday! I really enjoyed reading about your experience, our Unique room is super quirky, I personally love the layout and rear gem gardens. The reception team really enjoy having the freedom when checking in our guests, a restricting reception desk would mean no more sunshine retreat check-inns, a treat for the... More 

Hayes
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were recommended this hotel from a work colleague and after looking at the website were excited with our choice. I chose one of the packages they were offering which was a 4 night stay with 2 nights including dinner in their restaurant, full use of their spa facilities ie pool and relaxation rooms and a (4 hour) Long Spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank pigeonpants
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your Scarlet experience. I am so saddened to read you left feeling deflated after celebrating your honeymoon with us. I emailed you on the day of your departure back in June, as you mentioned you would be writing a review, however your feedback form was blank, so was unable to ascertain your experience. If you wish... More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our first stay, albeit only for two nights for a special birthday treat, ticked all the boxes. We had booked a ‘Just Right’ room on the coastal level. It exceeded our expectations when a late cancellation enabled us to take the very end room. From the terrace we could watch the tide change and hear the waves breaking as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2twigas
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went here for a birthday treat and from the moment we arrived, we knew we had chosen properly! The welcome was warm and the ethos of making you feel as though you are at a friends house is really lived by the staff Our room was fantastic with beautiful views over the bay We ate at the restaurant both... More 

Helpful?
Thank FarmersDonandStu
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your blissful Scarlet review. I am so delighted to read about your Scarlet experience, and that you felt welcomed by friends. The wine flight is an exiting new addition, we are receiving such wonderful feedback of which is a pleasure to hear. The private hot tubs are a Scarlet must on any stay, I would recommend... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed here for a few days and falling in love with the place last year with the husband and the dog Pearl-I thought I would suprise him for his birthday to lunch at the Scarlet. Alas living up in the Midlands meant a possible 7 hour car journey. Checked out the trains ( 5 hours with 4 connections and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neilappeal
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, what an exciting day trip for lunch, flying from Birmingham to Cornwall sounds so exciting and spontaneous. Your afternoon sounds just perfection, I know the restaurant team remember your visit and are delighted to have read your review.I hope you find some great deals to fly down again to us very soon, fingers crossed the sun is beating down... More 

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Were treated to lunch and really enjoyed the experience. The food was lovely. I was even swayed to go veggie by the Davidstow soufflé which was so light and tasty. The setting is lovely, high above the bay, just loved watching the sea. Staff were rather drably dressed, it would have been so much nicer if they were brighter dressed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your Scarlet lunch experience. I am delighted to hear that the vegetarian menu swayed you to enjoy an alternative dining experience, the Soufflé is a personal favourite of mine. We have updated the restaurant team's uniform this week, but will certainly feed this back when making any uniform amendments. We have plans to make further additions,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

841 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (627)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (198)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Annella Indulgent Room (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Just Right Room (41)
Viewed
Natural Reed Filtered Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $318 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay