We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Scarlet Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,452: English reviews
Start your review of The Scarlet Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Scarlet, the food was probably the best we have had at any of the places we stayed on our UK tour, the staff were quite good. We arrived and they took us through to an area to be seated while they go through the check-in process. We were taken to a lounge room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregf674
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, immaculately maintained with no signs of wear anywhere. Everything looks brand new. There is a lot of light wood and beautiful fabrics and artworks. Our generous room was simply furnished and the whole place has the feeling of almost being at a retreat, where you can focus on being together and chilling out. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elles_Belles555
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to the Scarlet (the first being about 18 months ago). Our first visit was, without doubt, 5 stars. The service is excellent but relaxed, the food is fantastic and the views are spectacular. The only disappointment on our recent trip was the room. We had booked a generous room (as we had before) but this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N_H_George
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us. It is so lovely to welcome guests back for return stays. I’m sorry to hear you did not like room 22 – we can absolutely make sure you stay in a different room for your next stay - it’s always lovely to try different rooms until you find...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed with my wife and parents and loved it. Although it was mine and my wife's first stay my parents have now been 9 times which speaks volumes. The room was clean and bed very comfortable but unfortunately the chairs in the room although pleasing to the eye are not comfortable to sit in. The hotel as a whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajbsab
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased you had such lovely time with us. I hope John had a lovely birthday too – the lemon drizzle cake is always a firm favourite, it’s definitely mine! We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit – and hopefully...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great stay at the scarlet. Valet parking easy. Friendly reception staff who showed us around. Nice relaxing areas to rest in. Bar and restaurant very well done and good quality food. Bit disappointed that no wines from New Zealand but we were happy with the Italian wine we ordered. Would be nice if the bar area faced the sea, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustinA-S1979
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a wonderful time, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Our wine list reflects our upbeat, inquisitive and sustainable approach to life. We made a conscientious decision not to head to the New world for our wines as we feel our local European suppliers have such an abundance of wonderful...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking forward to our special treat for my wife birthday when booking The Scarlet, unfortunately we were very much disappointed. On arrival all seemed well, we were shown around and eventually to our room which had stunning views out to sea. We decided to have a sandwich lunch down in one of the many relaxed areas of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 61knocker
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it saddened me to read about your disappointing experience with us. I understand you had spoken to one of our managers whilst in house, leading us to believe you left happy. We clearly misread the impact of these mistakes during your stay and I apologise you were not contacted after your departure. I would very...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for New Year and it was fantastic - it's a shame the UK road network can make for an arduous journey to and from... The setting is amazing - the views are spectacular with great walks in all directions. The rooms are lovely and there's plenty of areas for relaxing. All the food is excellent, with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mostin-33
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

The New Year’s break was so much fun! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps try getting the train down to us next, the views are stunning and gives a few hours to start to unwind before you arrive at the hotel. We also offer an Eco-discount if you travel to us by foot, bike, rail...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've returned several times, and it's still our favourite place in the UK to stay. We're lucky to have it on our doorstep-living just over the 'border' in Devon. Impeccable personal service, fabulous food and a truly relaxing spa. This place really is a haven for anyone wanting to 'switch off' and enjoy the spectacular views and replenish in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade B
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jade, it’s always a pleasure to better get to know our guests who return to us time and again. I’m so happy that we are your favourite place in the UK and I hope it stays that way for many more visits to come. We look forward to helping you celebrate your special occasion. See you in a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just had our third visit to this amazing hotel in a gorgeous part of Cornwall. It is heavenly, perfectly relaxing. The spa is fabulous, the staff helpful and friendly, the view unsurpassable. A truly special place! Try the spa treatments followed by the 'deep relax', the hot tubs on the cliff with a Tarquin's gin in hand, the amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we are so pleased you had such a lovely time. There is nothing nicer than sharing this type of feedback with our wider team, feedback is great way to inspire our team so your feedback is greatly appreciated! We hope we see you again soon for visit number 4! Kind regards Leanne Barlow House Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amenities were good hotel was lovely but we booked afternoon tea as a special treat for our wedding anniversary 47 years but we stuck in a room with no sea views which we were promised staff were ok but not what you should expect from a hotel of this Calabria all together a very disappointing experience we have been to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn H
leannebarlow, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and happy anniversary to you both. I was saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea experience with us, I would very much like the opportunity to talk to you in more detail about your experience. If you would be so kind as to e mail leanne.barlow@scarlethotel.co.uk...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

963 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (750)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (168)
Viewed
View from Room (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (254)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Annella Indulgent Room (58)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Just Right Room (41)
Viewed
Natural Reed Filtered Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,080 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
442 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
133 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Price Range: $297 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Hampshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid Room 22. It's fine but not as special as other rooms in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles N_H_George, 1 week ago | Read review
“Did not stay just a vist”
 of 5 bubbles melvynh2017, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“There is no bad rooms all have a sea view I think”
 of 5 bubbles 293kerryw, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“Book rooms with sea views!”
 of 5 bubbles gemlou3, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
“anyone facing the sea”
  • hot rooms outside in the gardens
 of 5 bubbles nomadic_10, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question