We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Chapel B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Chapel B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at this lovely old chapel for 2 evenings 24th and 25th of August. Only four rooms to be had so get in quick. We slept in the Eden room which was beautifully decorated and the bed so comfortable. The owners have done such a great job...it's so clean and tastefully done. Add to that the choice of breakfasts and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chevyz28
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely words. Guests often tell us they have slept better with us than they do at home! We invested a lot in the mattresses to give our guests the best nights sleep possible. We like to make the breakfast choice as wide as possible to cater to all tastes, including several gluten free options. Thanks for staying... More 

london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice B&B, Shame its on a main road, so if you have the window open, there is a lot of road noise. I. personally did not like the 'full english breakfast', but was more than happy with the other options on offer. Spotlessly clean and no complaints.. . Would I return? No..mainly because of the location.. wifi was ok, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank londonelly
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and observations. The main road is only busy during the day when the majority of guests are out. Because you left late and returned early most days you would have noticed it more than other guests do. It is a pity you did not let me know you did not like the full English when I... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Old Chapel is of a very high standard and quality. Modern and well run. The owners Kimberley and Greg used to manage hotels and this is evident in the detail given to their guests comfort. The furnishings are modern and well maintained with rooms named after gardens in Cornwall. Rooms have all of the facilities you would expect to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ELISE W
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

You are welcome Elise. We are glad you enjoyed everything including the breakfast. We provide a very wide range of fruit and herbal teas, including the usual breakfast tea of course. We do our best to accommodate all tastes. More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay at The Old Chapel - friendly owners Greg & Kimberley. Lovely accommodation - clean, fresh & cosy (home made Biscuits in room nice touch on arrival!!) Amazing breakfast!!!!! Thoroughly recommend this lovely B&B & we'll be back for sure!!

Helpful?
Thank 198phil
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks very much we look forward to seeing you again and really enjoyed hosting you. Most guests enjoy the homemade biscuits which is why Kimberley is baking them every week to keep up with demand! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast we cook it to order fresh every day. More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The owners are friendly and welcoming - there are even home-made biscuits in your room. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotless. The breakfast menu is tasty with different choices, not just the standard full English. Places of interest to visit were suggested; the owners even make a visit to the Eden Project more interesting by arranging guided tours. This... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sotonian789
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for your recommendation. We are an AA 5 star Gold B&B and our breakfast has won the AA breakfast award for 2 years running. We like to make our guests aware of the places to see around us, including giving the best tips to enjoy them which might not be commonly known. Our guided tours are popular, especially the... More 

Weinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in rooms Lanhydrock (twin) and Heligan (double). Very comfortable beds, great hot, powerful showers, very unique property. Good breakfast selection and very accomodating hosts: we did not have a car so they took us to pubs nearby for dinner and picked us up again. Thanks again and will definitely recommend highly!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Silke1509
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. For our guests who are on our popular car-less break we will pick up and drop off our guests to wherever they want to go during their stay with us. Of course during the day you have transport as part of the scheduled tours. We are glad you enjoyed the experience and look forward to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

A wonderful two night stay near the Cornish coastal town of Mevagissey. Our 'Blue Room' was beautifully furnished and we were spoiled with real feather quilts! Our hosts Greg and Kimberley were friendly and helpful, and also cooked us the best Eggs Benedict we have ever tasted. Beautiful location too! Many thanks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John and Merril... B
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the decor of your room, we have invested in the best bedding and mattresses we could to make our guests sleep the best it can be. Especially important when exploring the Cornish countryside which can be quite tiring. The Eggs Benedict is a popular choice... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Absolutely wonderful B&B. Everything was perfect from reception, the room, the breakfast and here I must mention the home made jam and marmalade which was delicious. As mentioned in other reviews, the bed was indeed the most comfortable bed we have slept in. We were hoping to see the barn owl in action but unfortunately not on this occasion. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank tony891
theoldchapel, Manager at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

You are very welcome it was a pleasure hosting you. We have only seen the barn owl once so would have been very jealous had you seen it! Kimberley does an excellent job with her jam and marmalade making, always very popular with guests. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Lovely B&B which is very tastefully decorated and inviting. Very cosy and welcoming with a superb breakfast to set us up for the day although we still managed to find room for the delicious biscuits left in our room. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Helpful?
Thank Rosendal02
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

We always try to be welcoming! Thanks for your kind words, the homemade biscuits are very popular, Kimberley is constantly making them to keep up with the consumption, they are very moorish. Maybe we will see you back here again in the not too distant future. More 

Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

A really fab B&B.. very comfortable bed....home made goodies, home from home feel. Greg and Kimberley really nice hosts. We went to Eden project which was not far so we will defo stay here again. Its very central to many places.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R5726RTpaulal
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks very much we enjoyed hosting you. Many guests have said our B&B has a very homely feel and that's how we wanted it to be. We are within easy reach of a great many attractions, beaches and beautiful gardens, in fact we are close to being in the very centre of Cornwall. We look forward to seeing you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Restormel Lodge
BEST WESTERN Restormel Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
7.1 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
14.1 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Chapel offers superior bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of beautiful Cornwall. Featuring four spacious rooms decorated to a very high standard in a fresh modern style, each with an individual colour scheme. Each room is suitably equipped with all of the amenities you would expect from a high quality bed and breakfast. We are centrally located in Cornwall making it just as easy to reach both the south and north coasts of this stunningly beautiful county. We have plenty of off-road parking and the fantastic Eden Project is within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Chapel B&B

Address: West Taphouse, Lostwithiel PL22 0RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Price Range: $84 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Chapel B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Chapel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Chapel B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay