We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Juliots Well Cottages

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A select development of five two-bedroom stone-built Cornish cottages set in the grounds of Juliot's Well Holiday Park in Camelford, north Cornwall. Each cottage has been built to a high specification and is well equipped throughout including full central heating plus a wood burner in the lounge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Golf course
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Reviews & more
12Reviews
19Photos
2Q+A
0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A really depressing environment - the 'cottages' (1980/90's starter homes) are separated off from the holiday park and are actually next to a run down and up for sale abandoned building and a rarely open building which serves as a 'pub' to the holiday park. The house was dark,
Read more
Response from Tracy K, Sales & Marketing Manager at Juliots Well Cottages
Responded Oct 12, 2018
Dear “675Helicreature675” We are saddened to receive your review and note that you have placed the same negative review on both Trip Advisor and Booking.com We would like to comment as follows. Firstly the five cottages were built in 2003 (not in the 80’s or 90’s as suggested) and they are situated in a quiet corner of the holiday park. Until recently there was a pub adjacent to the cottages but this closed earlier this summer and it is not known when it will re-open as it is currently up for sale. A new mattress was ordered for the cottage and delivery was expected prior to arrival. Unfortunately however there was a delay and the company advised they could not deliver it until after your planned arrival. We wanted you to have the benefit of the new mattress and therefore sought permission to continue with the delivery. We contacted your wife to check if this was agreeable and she asked us to let you know direct so that you could take the dogs out at the time when the new mattress was due to be delivered. We apologise that this inconvenienced you but if you had only advised us at the time we would have happily arranged storage and installed it after you stay. Juliots Well Cottages are inspected and graded annually by Visit England who now use the services of the AA. We can assure you that the five cottages are of equal standard and we have the grading reports and certificates to confirm this. With independent review sites such as Trip Advisor and Booking.com, most people appreciate that it’s necessary to look at the average of the reviews to get a balanced opinion. In this respect, as of today, out of 12 reviews left on Trip Advisor, (including your review) the average rating is 4 out of 5 stars with 67% rating the cottages as excellent or very good. On Booking.com out of 181 reviews the average rating is 8.3 out of 10. The latter website categorises this further with cleanliness rated as 8.7, comfort and value for money 8.5, location 8.3, facilities 8 and staff 7.9. The lower rating for facilities is understandable as the cottages are in a rural location and there are no facilities other than the 33 acres of parkland and meadows which make up the holiday park. This is one of the attractions to many people choosing our cottages. Similarly, the lower rating for staff is understandable as we do not have an office onsite and our housekeeping and maintenance team are located a few hundred yards away and only access the cottages as needed for cleaning and maintenance. We must apologise for the error in allocating the booking upon receipt. We had a new member of staff in training who inadvertently selected a non-dog cottage as you did not advise us you were bringing any pets. As soon as this error was noticed, we immediately corrected it. With regards to there being a supplement for dogs, this is clearly detailed on the website where you booked. The exact words are “Pets are allowed on request. Charges may apply.” This phrasing is dictated by the company who service the website where you booked. We are not permitted to put in the exact charges. Just to reiterate, your original booking did not mention dogs. You state you were surprised by the security/damage deposit of £100. Again, this is clearly mentioned on the website in two places under “The Fine Print”. We have historically charged in advance of arrival because we do not have a reception office on-site and therefore there has until now been no practical way to take a credit card imprint on arrival, which we accept is the norm in a lot of places. It is most unusual for a call on the damage deposit being required as fortunately most guests respect our properties. Unfortunately, when our cleaner entered the cottage after you departed, she was shocked to see a bottle of drain un-blocker left in the newly refurbished bathroom. Upon closer inspection she discovered tarnishing to the lower shower rail where the chemical was splashed down the drain, around the shower tray and over the rail. The bathroom was only refitted six months ago and to replace the lower rail would be a major job requiring the complete shower enclosure to be removed. As you can imagine, this damage was particularly disappointing, particularly when no contact was made with our local team (contact details are in all our welcome folders) to even advise there was a problem with the drain. Furthermore, no previous guest had reported a problem with the shower drain. We find it difficult to understand why a guest who was moving house would have time to source drain un-blocker when staying in a holiday let, rather than report the issue to the maintenance team who would have responded without delay and fixed any issue without damaging the fixtures. As such we sent a polite message via the website asking if there had been a problem with the drain and if so, asking what was used. We didn’t want to assume it was yourself who used drain un-blocker in case someone else had accessed the cottage after you departed. Despite our message left on 23 September asking for further information, no reply was forthcoming and it was only today when we received your review stating that it was yourself who used the chemical, that our fears were confirmed. As such it is with regret that I have to confirm that the £100 security deposit is now forfeit to cover the damage caused. We agree with you that the Camelford area where the cottages are located is wonderful but we don’t agree with the image you have portrayed of the cottages and the management company. On a closing note, for the benefit of potential guests who may be reading this, please be advised that we will shortly be changing the way we charge for loss, damages and breakages. We will be removing the need for payment of a security deposit in advance of arrival. Yours sincerely, Tracy Kirton
Read more
We booked a short break at the cottages at the end of October. The cottage was of a higher standard than we expected for the price, well decorated and clean. Well equipped with dish washer, clothes washer etc, being a fairly new build the fixtures and fittings were in the main
Read more
I was booked in for Primrose Cottage to find on arrival we were moved to Brambles cottage due to maintainence. I then saw people in Primrose that night.This was not a 4* property and not good value for price paid. Washing m/c was needing replaced tumble dryer not working, no hot
Read more
Response from Jamie R, General Manager at Juliots Well Cottages
Responded Oct 5, 2017
Dear Mr S Thank you for your feedback although we are obviously disappointed to read your comments. In order to respond to each in turn I list our replies below: 1. I can assure you Juliots Well are graded annually by Quality in Tourism and we have been awarded 4 stars. 2. As our letter to you on arrival explained, we had a maintenance issue earlier in the week in Primrose and we had to relocate guests to Bramble Cottage (since the spare boiler part could not be obtained that day). We take bookings with any day arrivals and we have been very busy this season meaning that such a move has a knock on effect with future bookings also needing to be switched between the two cottages until there is either a gap in bookings or until the changeover days are the same in both cottages. This explains why clients were in Primrose on the evening of your arrival. We apologise for any inconvenience but unfortunately maintenance issues can sometimes arise which necessitate cottage moves. All our 5 cottages are to the same standard. 3. We have noted the problems with the washer dryer and a replacement is awaiting delivery. We apologise for any inconvenience and we would have offered to dry your washing if you had made us aware the dryer function was not working during your stay. 4. You spoke to me during your stay to report the hot water not coming through unless the central heating was on. You'll be aware that I immediately arranged for our maintenance man to call around and he tried to repeat the issue but could not. Hot water came through whether the central heating was off or on. This I explained to you over the phone and I asked if it happened again to let us know. After you checked out we made our cleaners aware of a possible problem in case it happened while they were there but it did not. Subsequent to this, another guest reported the same issue as yourself and we called an emergency heating engineer who traced the intermittent fault. It is now fixed and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. It's always very difficult to pinpoint intermittent faults. 5. Regarding the bathroom, we are aware there are a couple of cracked tiles in Bramble Cottage. The bathrooms are due to be refurbished this winter and it is unfortunately not possible to source the original tiles as a temporary replacement. We refute that the shower unit was mouldy. Our cleaners have high standards and we are often complimented on the cleanliness of the cottages. 6. Thank you for making us aware of creaking floor boards. This will be addressed when the cottage is empty and we are able to lift the carpets. 7. We do not advertise wifi as being free. Wifi is available but at a small charge payable directly to the holiday park's wifi provider, WifiSparks. However, this winter we do plan to install free wifi. I am sorry free wifi was not available during your stay unless you used it when inside the on site pub. Lastly you state that the cottage was not good value for the price paid. This is interesting as we note that you paid the equivalent of £11.75 per person per night for the cottage, a price which we believe to be very good value for money. Yours sincerely Tracy Kirton
Read more
We went to this cottage for 3 nights in June and found the cottage was really nice with all the facilities required in it. The strange thing was the camp site, the pub was run separately from it and the camp site was really quite. it was great for a quite few days away and close
Read more
We had a short weekend away for Mother's Day. The house had everything you would ever want. We would highly recommend these holiday homes. Only half an hour from Padstow. The house was very warm and cosy. (Home from home).
Read more
Response from TracyStAgnes, Owner at Juliots Well Cottages
Responded Mar 30, 2017
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are pleased everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Tracy
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementJuliots Well Cottages
Bathroom
Photo provided by managementJuliots Well Cottages
Kitchen
Photo provided by managementJuliots Well Cottages
Open plan living area
Photo provided by managementJuliots Well Cottages
Twin room
Photo provided by managementJuliots Well Cottages
Open plan living area
PreviousNext
123
Hi, Yes each cottage garden is fenced in. Some cottages have access via a back gate, but not all of them. Regards Tracy
1 vote
Is there a beach close by?
Yes! The nearest is Trebarwith Beach which is about 3 miles away. Regards Tracy
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
11
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCamelford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing