We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Haydock Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Haydock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 649: English reviews
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is currently being renovated. The renovation is not been done to high standard i found a power socket dangerously coming off the wall. Shower has been upgraded but the rest of the bathroom suit is 80s or 90s era.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tcrclarke
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Clarke, Thank you for sharing your feedback, I am truly disappointed that you have been disturbed by our refurbishment. You are correct that the baths and toilets have not been replaced but we felt it a little wasteful as the are in perfect condition and area plain white suite. I am please that you noticed the new power...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with family for a birthday party and stayed over, the party was great the room was done beautifully and the catering was good too with a good range for the children! The hotel is having work done but is still beautiful. The rooms are basic and would benefit from more light but it's clean and well equipped!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi had a fab new year's Eve in the marquee. The 5 course meal was excellent all very tasty and piping hot. The service was very good, all the staff were very helpful and friendly and worked very hard. Disco was excellent played music for everyone and the fireworks were superb. The breakfast was lovely, a little wait on new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria f
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maria, Great to hear that you enjoyed NYE so much and brilliant to hear that even in the rain the fireworks were superb. I hope that you return to us next year for an equally fantastic night. Regards Adam Condron General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had our wedding reception in the marquee on December 3rd 2016 and even though there was some renovation going on in the hotel you couldn't tell. Cathy the wedding coordinator was fantastic and couldn't do any more to make our wedding reception a day to remember. Cathy and her team did an amazing job and thanks to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathew S
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mr & Mrs Styles, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback online. We really love to look after Bride and Grooms and its is so nice to hear when we have helped to make their day so memorable. Kind Regards Adam Condron General Manager

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My hotel of choice when I travel on business. I've lost count of the times I've stayed here and every time I'm here I'm pleased with my choice to return.. Basic but comfortable rooms, great selection for breakfast and a chef who knows how to cook a steak. The Guinness is well kept and worth a glass or two as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you so much for your kind words, I will share them with the team. Kind Regards Adam Condron, GM

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited and stayed due to a family wedding. Impressive hotel based on it's size with pleasant and helpful staff. The room was a good size and clean and there appeared good additional facilities based on the pool, although I didn't use it. The negative points, prices are outrageously expensive. The food provided was very average for a lot of money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David Y
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David, I am so sorry that you were disappointed with some areas of the hotel when staying with us. We did have an issue with our till systems at the weekend which effected our normal procedures and I apologise if this effected you. If you still haven't received your receipt via email I apologise, please do not hesitate to...

Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissi707
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel after attending their New Year’s Eve party. Had a brilliant time. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are very spacious with an enormously comfy bed. The breakfast was great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1955_13
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Happy New Year, Brilliant to hear that you had such a great time with us. Kind Regards Adam Condron General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've never been to a hotel where the staff are more than willing to do everything they can for you and are also so accommodating of a cheeky 2 year old. We stayed here for 6 nights including christmas eve, they put mince pie, milk and a carrot at our door on Christmas Eve and crackers on our bed. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie h h
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Katie, It is really difficult to put into words how much a review like this means to us so I will just simply say... Thank You Adam Condron General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is pretty standard for a budget hotel. Pros are it is easily accessible and staff are nice. Pool is OK but a bit small. Cons are dinner takes forever (45 mins from ordering) and the rooms are far away which wouldn't be a problem but they don't have signs to point you in the right direction, pretty weird and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DA_2011134
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Da, Thanks for your feedback online. I am very sorry that you had a wait for your evening meal, this is not normal and not acceptable. I am also very sorry for the lack of signage. We currently have temporary signage in place due to our refurbishment which will be complete at the end of January, once complete we...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (122)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton Le Willows
670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#5 of 21 in Warrington
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
4.4 mi away
Chalon Court Hotel
Chalon Court Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Helens
384 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Beechers
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Haydock Hotel

Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Price Range: $63 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Haydock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Haydock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel Merseyside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Haydock Hotel staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Haydock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Not sure about all rooms we had 216 good size no view but spotless.”
 of 5 bubbles X1010ZOmariaf, 1 week ago | Read review
“an early 100 room means less walking with heavy bags.”
 of 5 bubbles VivienH177, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“If you have difficulty walking make sure you get a room at the front;the hotel is huge square, some rooms are quite far away from reception.”
 of 5 bubbles boogieshoes08, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“one that is finished refurb I guess”
 of 5 bubbles Z2333UVdavidl, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles 486terrya, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay