We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Bull Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great friendly Traditional Fullers pub. Great ale, food and service Rooms available with a very good food menu Close to the River Thames for nice walks. Henley on Thames and Reading can be reached along the towpath Main beer garden is at front of pub in car park but there is a Secret beer garden at the back of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's an old building some room's plumbing reflect this, but character outstanding. But atmosphere great, good varied catering and excellent well kept beer. Good value for the area, which can get extortionate, great for Thames walks. We take occasional weekends and good access to Thames Valley Park complex

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank timmD4416RP
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had an early morning flight from London Heathrow so decided to stop here for one night. We had booked a Standard room which was fine - but it was very small - as on the photos. You open the door and then you almost fall onto the bed. It was very compfortable clean and tidy. As an afterthought I... More 

Helpful?
Thank rubarb91
Los Gatos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sonning is a favorite place and the Bull Inn is an integral part of a magical experience. The Bull is a incredible pub with great atmosphere along with terrific, friendly, caring staff. We had a beautiful dinner. Our room was nice as expected. Breakfasts were included and were over the top! This is a very special place and has been... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank walterj223
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very quaint old English pub which is very popular. This makes the service "business-like" as opposed to "laid back and personal." Menu is fairly extensive with shared plates and even two sizes of each item, which is a good idea if you are not extremely hungry or you want to try a handful of dishes. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank CLLSB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a table for five of us for my dad's birthday on Saturday lunchtime. Waited 20 minutes and didn't even get asked for order. The very patient people near us were asking whether they were ever going to get their order taken. Overheard others complain about food quality and asking for items to be removed from their bills. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil G
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Four of us had dinner in this lively picturesque old pub and were delighted by the whole experience. The menu choices were good, the staff were very friendly, the setting is lovely and the food, beer and wine were all great. The portion sizes are generous though, so be careful!

Helpful?
Thank Newburyboy
England UK
Level Contributor
303 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will not make any comment about the previous reviewer (Trezdon) as I thik the management got it right!!!! I have eaten at The Bull before and found it very good but this time we just popped in for a beer after walking along the Thames towpath. It is, of course, the epitome of a traditional English pub as viewed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cavershamroyals
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had heard about this pub and walked to it for a drink and a meal. A very pretty outdoor area spoilt as the cars parked alongside the tables and chairs. We had not booked but a table was found and the food was excellent, hot and very good value. Friendly staff and very quaint dining room, well worth a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kath C
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My title pretty much says it all. I ordered the Hawaiian chicken burger and it was stone cols in the middle. You could tell it had been Microwaved (but not very well). I asked the waitress if it had been cooked in the microwave and she seemed to find that funny. The bar area had a horrible (very strong) smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trezdon83
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us Trezdon. I would like to point out however, that you have reviewed the wrong venue. Being unable to recall the name of the establishment that you and your family ate in does not give your comments any credibility whatsoever. We do not and never have had Hawaiian chicken burgers on our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning on Thames
0.2 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
4.1 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: High Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning on Thames
Price Range: $121 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Bull Inn Sonning On Thames, Berkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay