We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Monkey Island Lane, Bray on Thames SL6 2EE England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$176
View deal
Booking.com
$176
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
$174
View deal
Hotels.com$176
Priceline$176
Trip.com$178
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (244)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (30)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 06/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Monkey Island Estate lies on a picturesque island in the River Thames in the historic village of Bray, Berkshire. The island has a rich history centuries old, and has been the haunt of monarchs, aristocrats and artists, along with writers, famous performers and Berkshire locals and now is home to one of the finest hotels in Bray. The two grade I listed heritage pavilions which form the property were originally commissioned as a fishing retreat in 1723 by the third Duke of Marlborough. These have been completely restored and renovated, with beautifully landscaped gardens and picturesque views of the River Thames. Set across seven acres, Monkey Island Estate features 27 exquisite guestrooms and three sumptuous suites, designed by the award-winning New York-based Champalimaud Design. The furnishings juxtapose timeless glamour and traditional features with a modern, countryside style, creating a unique blend of past and present.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
284Reviews2Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 176
  • 35
  • 35
  • 14
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marisa W wrote a review Sep 26
1 contribution
Sebastian was the perfect host. We stumbled on Money Island one late summers evening and was delighted to be greated by Sebastian. He made us feel very welcome and certainly knows his drinks. We ended up sitting the evening away watching the sunset and tasting the culinary delights of cocktails made by Sebastian. We will surely be back as the afternoon tea also looked delightful. What a hidden gem of a place. Thank you for a lovely evening.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JaneAngell wrote a review Sep 15
Gillingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
Everyone had the most amazing day celebrating my son and daughter in laws wedding on 9th Sept. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure the day went smoothly and was perfect in every way. Even the rain held off. Ty so much best day of my life 💓
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ken W wrote a review Sep 11
Sydney, Australia11 contributions
Beautiful classic old building recently restored. Located on an island in the Thames river with acres of georgous gardens to wander, the place could be right out of Wind in the Willows. The room was a bit small but retains all the historical features. Used the shared lounge a lot to make up for small space in the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bigpoppapump82 wrote a review Aug 2022
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom190 contributions146 helpful votes
First of all and amazing setting with incredible staff and lovely rooms. It was for a birthday and they had helped arranged for the champagne in the room, even though they mentioned it on check in LOL! I think they were trying to hide it by mentioning a Spa booking at first but that only confused the matter. The room at Temple Terrace was gorgeous, luxury bedding, stunning view from our bed of the Thames, complementary mini bar, all made for a lovely stay. However, if I had to "criticise" the terrace is not private and shared with room next door. It also needed swept and weeded. There were quite a few cigarette butts on the floor from the previous guests. The food in the brasserie was EXCELLENT! And the staff are brilliant. I have seen a few complaints on TripAdvisor, and bar the ones cancelling rooms (i get that) I just cannot understand how people can complain about the service. The clientele is "high end" but I will be honest I overheard how some of them spoke to the staff and I cringed. Gave them orders, didn't make eye contact when speaking to them. Embarrassing. Minor gripe, the quote we had for breakfast was about 50% lower than price we paid. Therefore the room only deal wasn't a great offer in the end. So take the B&B price. Dinner Bed and Breakfast, plus wine with Dinner and a bottle of Champagne you're looking at £700 for the 2 of you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Facey, Owner at Monkey Island Estate
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StevoW wrote a review Aug 2022
Dunstable, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
Just spent two nights at Monkey Island Estate in Bray - celebrating our wedding anniversary - and yes - it really is on an island!!!! The car park is on the mainland - with a footbridge to get you onto the island - reception is just to the left of the bridge in the car park so make sure you don't miss this when you first arrive. It really is a unique setting - the hotel was renovated 3 years ago so is still in good condition and the location gives it a very calm and peaceful atmosphere. The rooms are in a separate building to the bar and restaurant, but its only a short walk between the two and umbrellas are provided in case of rain. The restaurant food was very good - as was the well stocked bar - brilliantly manned by Russell who is an absolute star and really made our stay extremely enjoyable. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a few days of relaxation in the Berkshire countryside.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Facey, Owner at Monkey Island Estate
Responded Aug 21, 2022
Dear StevoW, Thank you for your kind review. We're happy to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back to the estate again very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison T wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I was so disappointed, we was really looking forward to a stay here but on arrival I was really disappointed at the size of the hotel it was tiny and really doesn’t come across like this on their website or Instagram. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean, the mini fridge is complimentary which is a nice touch. However after paying £100 per dog stay which is a bit expensive seeing as the dog bed provided was dirty and old and from pets at home! Also adding that the dog is not allowed any where apart from the hotel room or outside area, bit disappointing. The food is really expensive (great food though), £30 per breakfast and then a 12.5% service charge!! There is no room service either so if you want an afternoon cake/ sandwich 3pm onwards you are stuck as we walked into Bray and there is no bakery or shops either the nearest one was a 40 mins walk to the petrol station. Hardly a luxury hotel service. Also such a shame that you can’t even walk around the island you are staying in, it’s impossible to avoid the goose poo which is all over the grass!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Facey, Owner at Monkey Island Estate
Responded Aug 21, 2022
Dear Alison, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Your comments regarding the staff have been shared with the team. Your feedback regarding our dog policy, breakfast charges and lawn maintenance have been noted. Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mel wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Certainly will not be returning! Popped in with a friend last night paid £58.61 for 2 large glasses of wine and a fruit juice. Didn’t check at the time how much I’d paid…looked online and a large wine is £22 so I’m guessing the rest was service charge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sunriverjohn wrote a review Aug 2022
Bend, Oregon31 contributions38 helpful votes
We made a reservation for a stay at Monkey Island, three months in advance of our expected visit, with a deposit. With several weeks to go, we received an email that our reservation had been rescinded in favor of an event. Presumptuously, they booked me for an alternative night. No apologies.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Facey, Owner at Monkey Island Estate
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Dear sunriverjohn, we are sorry your reservation was cancelled a couple weeks prior to your arrival. If you would be so kind, please contact me at the hotel so we can discuss your complaint further. I look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards, Matthew. matthew.facey@monkeyislandestate.co.uk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jamie wrote a review Aug 2022
Maidenhead, United Kingdom1 contribution
We went to monkey island estate as recommended by a few of my close friends that live in bray. We only had drinks and bar food. Sebastian attended our every need and even educated us a bit on the history of the place whilst providing us with original cocktails that I was very pleased with. We spoke to chef Michael about potentially getting some food despite the fact we hadn’t booked, he made us some really amazing burgers and really made our day. Thank you very much and we will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Facey, Owner at Monkey Island Estate
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your visit. Your kind comments have been shared with Michal, Sebastian and the team. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Matthew
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kalpana S wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom58 contributions53 helpful votes
Peace and calm yet so near the motorway. So not far from town. Right alongside the canal way to enjoy a boat ride. Lovely and friendly service. Tricky stairway to room but gorgeous view. Nice range of cocktails.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Facey, Owner at Monkey Island Estate
Responded Aug 3, 2022
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Matthew
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$188 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireBray on Thames
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monkey Island Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Monkey Island Estate?
Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle (3.7 miles), Escape In 60 UK (2.9 miles), and BCA Zoo (5.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Monkey Island Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Monkey Island Estate?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Monkey Island Estate?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Monkey Island Estate?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monkey Island Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Peking Inn, Palmieri's, and Antalya Restaurant Windsor.
Does Monkey Island Estate have airport transportation?
Yes, Monkey Island Estate offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Monkey Island Estate located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Bray on Thames.
Are any cleaning services offered at Monkey Island Estate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Monkey Island Estate?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Monkey Island Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.