We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Old Rectory House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Rectory House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
523 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In new hands now, but the Old Rectory still has that warm charm to it which comes with the building. It isn't really near anything to walk to, which could be an issue if you do not have easy transport – they do not do food in the evenings any more, which makes sense I guess since it is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank bob_the_moo
theresa185, Manager at Old Rectory House, responded to this review

Hi Bob, thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Our new Orangery restaurant & bar will be open in early 2017 as work commences shortly and the bedroom upgrades and furnishings will all be kept in tone with the beauty of our lovely house,... More 

Whitstable
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We overnighted here with our young family. The room was very comfortable and the hotel had a pleasant and cosy ambience. The hotel had just been decorated for Christmas and it felt like entering a Christmas wonderland! The setting and gardens were very pleasant too. Although we only stayed for one night, we would have been happy to stay longer.

Helpful?
Thank Strangelylush
theresa185, Manager at Old Rectory House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Our new Orangery restaurant & bar will be open in early 2017! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

I stayed 26th Oct after having stayed here a several times in the past. The hotel is under new ownership and things are taking a little time to bed in. The previous owners offered food on an evening but currently there's no food available due to the chef leaving. It's expected food will be back on the menu around Xmas... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
theresa185, Manager at Old Rectory House, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Thank you so much for your feedback. We only purchased the Hotel in August and are in the process of modernising the whole venue with our new Orangery restaurant & bar being open in early 2017! We do hope you come back next year once our transformation is complete! More 

Polruan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2016

We were looking for a hotel as we were visiting the NEC but prices were high with even a Travelodge at £92 for room only. Just about to give up as I moved the cursor over the map up popped the price for ORH so I took alook and was very surprised to see what appeared to be a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank allanandjean
theresa185, Manager at Old Rectory House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Our new Orangery restaurant & bar will be open in early 2017! More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We drove up the driveway to discover this quiet little gem, although only having just left a main road. The welcome was excellent, followed by being shown to our spacious room, the centre piece being a four poster bed. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
theresa185, Manager at Old Rectory House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Our new Orangery restaurant & bar will be open in early 2017! More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2016

My first stay at this hotel. Lovely old building which has been sympathetically adapted into a stylish hotel. Very friendly welcome. Very comfortable room. Unfortunately I didn't have time for breakfast so can't comment on the food. I will return!

Helpful?
Thank David H
theresa185, Manager at Old Rectory House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Our new Orangery restaurant & bar will be open in early 2017! More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2016

I booked this hotel as it was close to a work site, I was looking for something with a little character having stayed in the Premier Inn the week before, and the Old Rectory did not disappoint. The rooms I had was generous in size, and charmingly furnished, with white wrought iron bed and chintzy fabrics. Very comfortable. I mistakenly... More 

Helpful?
Thank jkdavies2013
theresa185, Manager at Old Rectory House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Our new Orangery restaurant & bar will be open in early 2017! More 

Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Old Rectory as we were going to a gig in Birmingham. The hotel is easy to find yet completely tucked away in its pretty gardens. We arrived a little early and our room wasn't quite ready but we were shown to the drawing room and offered complementary tea and biscuits which was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhianna22
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2016

lovely, comfortable hidden gem,my daughter and I stayed here for two nights recently and would certainly return.The staff were so helpful and the whole place has a lovely "feel".The hotel although very private and quiet is easy to find and very close to all major road networks .

Helpful?
Thank val12333
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, day or night.At first glance it seemed expensive,but when all the fringe benefits were added on this was not so. We would go back again,and recommend this hotel to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Isobel B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.8 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#6 of 8 in Redditch
286 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#1 of 12 in Evesham
902 reviews
12.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THE HOUSE Discover our hidden gem and enjoy a truly memorable stay or event experience! The Old Rectory House Hotel is a privately owned quintessential English country house hotel in Redditch. Tucked away in the Heart of England, The Old Rectory House offers a relaxing & comfortable venue for work & play. Our quintessential Elizabethan & Georgian House radiates charm & peace, providing the perfect setting for all family occasions including weddings, christenings, birthday parties and funeral receptions and ideal for conferences, business meetings, seminars, training sessions and team building events. THE GROUNDS Our house sits in the heart of three acres of wooded gardens, with hundreds of plants and trees. Many of our larger trees including the stunning English Oaks, the Portuguese Laurels and the Weeping Ash were planted over 200 years ago. With our very own croquet lawn at the front of the house, its landscape is a perfect setting for picnicking, partying, pampering and pondering, and although it can feel blissfully set apart from the bustle of everyday life, it's within remarkably easy reach of many of the Warwickshire & Worcestershire's most exciting highlights. The team at The Old Rectory House know the estate and area like the back of their hands, so whether you need a recommendation for a picnic spot, directions for a nature walk, or a map for an all-day ramble (marked with the best local pub stops, naturally), just pop into the House for a chat. THE LOCATION The Old Rectory House Hotel is situated within a short drive of many major English tourist attractions including Shakespeare’s birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick Castle, The NEC, Resort World, NIA, The Cotswolds and Birmingham Bull Ring Shopping Centre. It is also a short walk from the Arrow Valley Country Park, a beautiful lake and country park where you can take an easy stroll, have a serious jog around the lake or arrange to go fishing and sailing. Birmingham International Airport, Resort World, NEC & Gentings Arena can be accessed by car within 20 minutes using the M42 motorway network which is 5 minute drive from the hotel. Bicester Shopping Village is only 55 minutes from the Old Rectory Hotel London is only 1 hour 30 minutes by train which makes our hotel a perfect retreat for holiday international tourists. THE HISTORY The Old Rectory House Hotel is probably the best kept secret in the Worcestershire county, it has stood on this site for several hundreds of years and has a wealth of historical connections. The house lies between the original Roman built Icknield Street, which runs along the far boundary, and the monastic carp lakes at the rear of the property. The Doomsday Book lists a building on this site in 1086, during which time Lady Godiva's son was Lord of the Manor. The Great Grandson of Sir Christopher Wren lived in the house for over forty years and made a number of alterations in that time. He completely modernised the original Elizabethan house in 1812 by adding a Georgian facade to the front elevation of the building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Rectory House

Address: Ipsley Lane | Ipsley, Redditch B98 0AP, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Price Range: $92 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Old Rectory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Redditch
Old Rectory House Redditch, England
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Family Hotel in Redditch
#5 Business Hotel in Redditch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Old Rectory House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Redworth
Walled Lake, Michigan

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Rectory House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Guests staying get a 25% discount at a nearby pub with great food.”
 of 5 bubbles allanandjean, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Expensive for very average room.”
 of 5 bubbles thecornergallery, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 4 unless they replaced the mattress since July 2016”
 of 5 bubbles glynnor2015, Jul 16, 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 - a lovely room with dressing room and ensuite amongst the old oak beams.”
 of 5 bubbles fi0nav, Mar 1, 2016 | Read review
“A room in the clock tower is most unusual and beautiful, but all rooms have character.”
 of 5 bubbles Malcolm840, Dec 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay