We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 336: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely old building, full of character. Room small but clean and comfortable, nice and quiet (at back of building). Good breakfast available in the pub/restaurant. Can highly recommend to anyone coming to events at the SVR, or just visiting the area.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Judith H
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the George Hotel for two nights . The room was spacious and we had a large walk in shower. The room was also well equipped with Kettle and plenty of tea and coffee. The towels were also plentiful. We found that all the staff were very helpful from the receptionist to the bar staff and waiting staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie/Richa... S
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A really nice old building, sympathetically modernised. My room was spacious and with a bit of character, overlooking the street in front of the hotel. The bathroom was a bit basic but perfectly acceptable. The bar was distinctly under-staffed, even though the bar/restaurant wasn't particularly busy, so both check-in and ordering a meal was slow despite the staff being helpful.... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank JohnP1248
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent visit to us in Bewdley. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with your room. I'm sorry if our service wasn't as quick as it should've been, we will look into why this was the case so that we can improve... More 

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect, been three times and will go again, safe free parking, lovely room, and good value food and drink. Bewdley is a lovely town on the river seven with the seven vally railway running alongside the river so there is plenty to see and do, also great for fishing for barbel.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank mickn65
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to leave them. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that it was your third visit! Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bewdley!! More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Happy receptionist on arrival. Room was excellent with separate washing facilities. Good location for buses to Ludlow and Kidderminster, 5 mins walk to Severn Valley Railway. Staff very friendly even on busy Friday and Saturday night. As with any Wetherspoon's lodges or pubs good selection of real ales.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank epcot2000
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the service you received from everyone at The George. Look forward to seeing you next time! More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I asked for a lower floor room which I did not get but did not complain as we were only there for two days and it was a late booking. Room small but very clean with all facilities apart from t.v being on top of the wardrobe which meant you had a crick in your neck trying to watch it... More 

Helpful?
Thank margshell29
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us. I'm sorry we were unable to accommodate you with a lower floored room, we do try and assist with all requests but unfortunately this time we did not have anything available. I'm also sorry for any noise disturbances you had during the evening, although... More 

Brigg, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the first time I'd stopped in a wetherspoons hotel, it was a pleasant experience the room(208) though in the rafters of the building was comfortable, you did need the light on even during the daylight. There was a problem with the toilet flushing, but after reporting that to reception it was corrected for my return that evening. My... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank nigel336
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. I'm glad your first visit to a Wetherspoon hotel was a pleasant one! Due to the age and quirkiness of the building, the rooms do vary a lot in size and shape, so if you are ever unhappy with a room, please do not... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A An interesting historical hotel with easy access to the nearby Severn valley railway witch is great for railway buffs! Inside its a typical Wetherspoons with pictures of local interest and a nice selection of real ales at cheap prices ,perfect for railway &real ale buffs!!!

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank bobsmodelrailway
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I'm pleased you liked the character of our historical hotel and that we had a good selection of ales on for you. Hope you enjoyed severn valley railway! See you again next time. More 

Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in last Friday night for a light meal and a drink. We settled for Fish and Chips twice with peas, I had a pint of Real Ale and my dearest a glass of Chardonnay with our meals. So for less than £ 12 we were fed and watered, for a cheapy what more could you want!

Helpful?
Thank Vince G
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your visit to our restaurant in Bewdley. I'm pleased you were happy with your meals and drinks. Look forward to seeing you both next time! More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were generally satisfied. Staff were particularly helpful. There is Free parking. One complaint; the washbasin was just impossible to use safely, with broad glass shelf above tiny basin. The Shower good though! Ventilation in the bedroom was not brilliant as the window would only open partially.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank O1836FCjames
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your stay with us in Bewdley. I'm pleased you were happy with your stay and that our staff helped as much as possible. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the washbasin in your room, we will look into this and ensure it is a safe as possible to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
2.1 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 14 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Load Street, Bewdley DY12 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Price Range: $57 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Bewdley, Worcestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay