We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lamb Hindon

Save
Share
High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (105)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (13)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Lamb would have been trading as a public house as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a posting inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country. To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. We have 18 beautiful boutique-style bedrooms as well as a traditional pub, dining room as well as a private dining or meeting room providing the perfect place for locals and visitors to enjoy all of the comforts and amenities expected from a larger hotel. With attractions such as The Lamb is a perfect base to explore the area, including attractions such as Old Wardour Castle, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge and the glorious Wiltshire Country Side Whatever the occasion we're here to make your visit or stay one to remember!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
530Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 234
  • 161
  • 91
  • 28
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
thecurtyp wrote a review Jan 6
Chester, United Kingdom50 contributions25 helpful votes
Went here for a birthday meal - service was excellent, both FOH members were very friendly, professional and welcoming. However, the soft drinks on the pump were awful. I have worked in quite a few pubs over the years and there was not enough syrup in them. We had pre ordered as it was a large table, however we were told on arrival that a couple of items were no longer available. This is absolutely not acceptable given the fact we had pre ordered! The food quality was below standard, especially for the prices being charged. The Lamb was very poor, very fatty and the dish was nothing special. Lamb with mash. Overall a little disappointed. I feel like this place has so much potential as it's a lovely building. Maybe we'll try it again, hopefully with a better experience :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernice Gallagher, General Manager at The Lamb Hindon
Responded 6 days ago
Thecurtyp, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at the Lamb, we had some delivery shortages that day unfortunately and did try and source the products ourselves but couldn't I'm afraid. We would like an opportunity to make this up to you. If you are willing, please reach out to us at lambhindon@youngs.co.uk so we can work towards a resolution.
Read more
Andy J wrote a review Dec 2021
10 contributions8 helpful votes
Dinner before long drive back to South Devon having spent day with relatives. Superb Beef and Ale pie...a good 9/10 and Venison sausages with mash. Great staff who remembered us when we stayed recently. Made the journey home easier....thank you 👍👍👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernice Gallagher, General Manager at The Lamb Hindon
Responded 4 weeks ago
Drywsky, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!
Read more
Heflin666 wrote a review Dec 2021
Wiltshire203 contributions50 helpful votes
Great Christmas Lunch consisting of Soup, Turkey and Cheeseboard. There was plenty of Turkey (both dark and light meat) with huge pigs in blankets, loads of vegetables, roast potatoes and parsnips. Staff very efficient and polite especially Emily.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernice Gallagher, General Manager at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Dec 14, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! I am so pleased you enjoyed the Christmas feast Menu and the teams warm hospitality. i will Pass on your comments to Emily! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
AlisonGould wrote a review Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
Pretty village, pretty pub but disappointing meal and service. My brother in law is coeliac and we asked for two gluten free dishes. He doubts his was. The waiter was having problems using the ipad to take orders and muddled them up, separately to the gluten free issue. By the time we finished our main courses, service had dwindled to nothing although the restaurant was not over full and there seemed to be three staff. After some time looking at our plates and wanting to get them cleared and order coffee, I went to the service hatch where three waiters were chatting... to be clear the waiters were perfectly polite just not very good. More training needed. And the food was on the 'just okay' side.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernice Gallagher, General Manager at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Dec 7, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing meal with us. We take allergens very seriously and the points you mention have been raised and discussed with the front of house team to ensure appropriate actions are always taken around allergens, service refresher training for the team to be organised. We hope that this will not deter you from any future visits to us and we hope to welcome you again in future.
Read more
Dave W wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The LAMB at HINDON 4 NOV 2021 Very disappointing in all aspects------------- We arrived at about 17.00 The Hotel (PUB) was freezing-----the main door does not close properly and the staff wedge open another door at the front of the building, so there is a real heat loss problem here. (We closed this door several times and the staff still went back and wedged it open---very strange)NO heating on and no fires lit. Check in was conducted in a very dark area-----payment was requested on the spot. (Scared we would take one look and leave I suppose) Room was OK in terms of size but tired and in need of maintenance ----door security bar missing, lighting also very dark, not able to control all the lights form either side of the bed. Bathroom has items requiring attention, bath plug has no chain, one of the lights over the bath is positioned above a large shower rose rendering it useless, toilet does not flush fully or refill quickly enough, toilet flush button is located behind toilet seat, wash basin is almost useless, about 3 ins deep and positioned under a glass shelf making it impossible to wash your face/shave without colliding with the shelf. Air conditioning unit -----the only heat source that appeared to work in the room was temperamental and noisy----the filter had 1/8 of an inch of fluff completely choking the air flow, I cleaned it .The bed was VERY uncomfortable, mattress and bed frame support completely sagged and giving a very unpleasant night’s sleep. The TV remote control did not work properly and it seemed impossible to get any channels that did not come through the internet. Bar area Restaurant------BAR still cold even after the staff lit the fires-----restaurant had NO heating and we were told that the log burner was broken-----we elected to eat at one end of the bar area furthest from the continually open main door (no closing spring fitted) next to one of the fires which had about 3 logs on it until we asked for more wood. The staff subsequently closed the restaurant. We ordered food------we also ordered some bread-----the young guy (beard) was VERY inexperienced and not trained to do this job at all .We tried to get Drinks and the bread first-----but his idea was that everything should arrive at the same time! Since biblical days bread and wine is first and then the food! And then more wine! In France the drinks and the bread arrive at the table at the same time-----the way it should be done! I asked for the Sirloin steak-----£27.00 for an 8 oz. Steak with one mushroom and fries------the fries were good but the steak was a MINUTE steak(sandwich size ) less than 1/2 in thick. Very poor and certainly NOT value for money. (M&S sell an extra thick sirloin steak for £12.00 that has a wt. of 1 LB), so this is NOT value for money at all. The young staff are very inexperienced and although doing their best are out of their depth TOTALLY.A lot of money is being made from the restaurant, judging by this low standard and poor quality. Room rate at £160.00 for 2 persons is also NOT good value------A good Hotel room in London does not cost much more with none of the problems encountered here. We have subsequently spoken to local people and Shoot Owners in the area and they have all said that the LAMB is a shadow of its former self------some serious money needs to be spent and the rooms and bathrooms need equipping and setting up by someone who actually understands what an Hotel room should look and function like---not just asking a plumber to hang a sink on the wall, never mind all the other bathroom and room faults. Overall this is NOT a place to spend your money-----Food or Accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernice Gallagher, General Manager at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Nov 7, 2021
Hello there, I am rather surprised to read this review as I have spoken to all of the team and none of which were made aware of any of the issues you described. Its a shame you felt you could not discuss or raise any of the concerns you had at the time of your stay with one of the management team as we would have been able to have discussed the problems and compensated you in someway. I would appreciate if you could please contact us via email at lambhindon@youngs.co.uk so that we can discuss the date of your stay and discuss the points raised in further detail. Many thanks.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$102 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lamb hotel hindon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireHindon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lamb Hindon
Which popular attractions are close to The Lamb Hindon?
Nearby attractions include Old Wardour Castle (4.4 miles), Messums Wiltshire (3.2 miles), and The Ginger Piggery (5.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lamb Hindon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Lamb Hindon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lamb Hindon?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lamb Hindon?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grosvenor Arms, The Forester, and The Royal Oak.
Is The Lamb Hindon located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Hindon.
Are pets allowed at The Lamb Hindon?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lamb Hindon?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Wardour Castle (4.4 miles).
Is The Lamb Hindon accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.