We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Vio.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (111)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (13)

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
The Lamb would have been trading as a public house as early as the 12th Century. By 1870 it was already well established as a posting inn that supplied 300 post horses for coaches going to and from London and the West Country. To this day the building retains plenty of its original character and features including inglenook fireplaces, flag stone floors and heavy wooden beams. We have 18 beautiful boutique-style bedrooms as well as a traditional pub, dining room as well as a private dining or meeting room providing the perfect place for locals and visitors to enjoy all of the comforts and amenities expected from a larger hotel. With attractions such as The Lamb is a perfect base to explore the area, including attractions such as Old Wardour Castle, Salisbury Cathedral, Stonehenge and the glorious Wiltshire Country Side Whatever the occasion we're here to make your visit or stay one to remember!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
550Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 241
  • 166
  • 95
  • 30
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Roger O wrote a review Oct 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom85 contributions46 helpful votes
Having read some dreadful reviews we thought about cancelling our reservation for a weekend break. However, decided to contact The Lamb direct and was reassured by Bernice that the chef was back at work and that the food was well up to previous standards. It was certainly a very good, varied menu with well prepared and tasty good pub food. Sunday lunch was exceptional and left no room for a pudding. We asked for some offcuts for our Scottie dog and received enough to feed her for a fortnight. The atmosphere is very welcoming and relaxed. Elliie and her team are all very engaged, eager to serve, polite and friendly. This trip was for my wife's birthday so it had to be special, which it was. We would happily return and suggest to those who experience any shortcomings to report them before leaving for home.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: This is a sleepy village location. If you ask nicely, you should get a positive response.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Oct 23, 2022
Roger O, thanks for your praise and kind comments about your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to look after you both and trusting that we would do so especially for such a special occasion, it was our absolute pleasure. I will be sure to feed this back to the whole team, kitchen and front of house. We hope to welcome you both back very soon. Kindest Regards Ellie and Team Lamb :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bilbo wrote a review Sep 2022
Wiltshire39 contributions29 helpful votes
We live locally and have been to The Lamb before and it’s been lovely, especially their Sunday roast. However having visited last week on my husbands birthday we were so disappointed with the food, the fish pie in particular was small and nothing like the menu description, no sign of prawns, one scallop, just white fish and a rather soggy mash topping, my husbands food sadly wasn’t much better. The staff are really nice and are trying their best but I’m afraid we won’t be going back for a while.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Teresa H, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. If you're ever in need of more help, please let us know!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sixties Libran wrote a review Sep 2022
Odiham, United Kingdom3 contributions
Sadly this is not going to be the most favourable review!! Firstly I am staggered to read some of the past reviews about the food at The Lamb as they mirror our meal on Tuesday evening, and yet they go back many months with apologies from the Staff on site..... and yet NOTHING has changed!! Why not?? We are a group of locals who were celebrating two birthdays - all women in our 50's/early 60's who have a lot of experience in dining out, both in pub grub and fine dining. We are fortunate to have another pub in Hindon which does provide excellent food but on this occasion chose to try The Lamb out as it's good to support our local hostelries. We all had just main courses and sadly not one of them was enjoyed by anyone, My own choice of a Chicken Caesar Salad consisted of very wet 'cut'pieces of lettuce dripping in dressing with masses of croutons and a really tough piece of chicken breast with the skin side down and in one piece. Not only did it look a mess, it was practically inedible. One of the birthday girls had the fish pie which sounded delicious and at over £20 one expected to see the scallops, prawns and haddock suggested but no sight of these other than a bit of white fish and in fact a minute portion. The others were equally disappointed with their meals which I won't go in to detail with, but needless to say it was a thoroughly disappointing evening for what should have been a joyous occasion. On the staff front, they were hardly visible and we looked around to get attention but no one was to be seen Eventually I walked through the entire pub to try and find someone to pay the bill but there wasn't a soul in sight. Eventually after calling someone came in from outside and when we left there was a crowd of them all sitting in the garden. I would also like to point out the very ridiculous wine list. These are London prices so don't expect to get a decent bottle for less than £36. And even if you wanted to treat yourselves to a bottle of Whispering Angel or the delicious Chocolate Block - you are talking ££££ - Why do they charge so much?? I really do not like putting up bad reviews but this is my local and i WANT to support it along with my friends. A smiley greeting does wonders in this world along with good service and good home cooked food - not difficult and not a lot to expect. Some other friends popped in the other day to have a quick supper only to be told they don't accept walk ins..... this is a local pub for Gods sake!!! Do they really just rely on the overnight stayers who will probably not be back for some time if ever?? Surely they should be welcoming their locals and neighbours and providing a really good service to be proud of???!!! We have informed Youngs of this as it really does need to be dealt with properly and not just swept under the carpets as seems to be the case from previous complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Sep 25, 2022
Hi there First and foremost I'm very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with us. Please let me assure you that this is not being swept under the carpet at all and I am very aware that there are occasionally gaps in our food offer and service currently and I am doing my utmost to put these right. I do not want this to come across as an excuse at all however, I feel its important to explain our current situation within the pub. Unfortunately we are really struggling with recruiting chefs, on the week you dined with us in particular my only chef was off on paternity leave much earlier than expected, which left us with no option but to cook for our existing bookings but turn away walk ins as the people who stepped in to help are not seasoned chefs. We are in a similar position with our front of house team also. I can assure you this is not through lack of want or trying and is absolutely still my main daily focus. We are absolutely a local pub and take real pride in serving many local residents and the surrounding areas and really do appreciate the importance of their custom and in normal circumstance would never look to turn anyone away. Rest assured I am taking your feedback very seriously and will be discussing in detail with the team we do have. I really do hope that we can welcome you back at a later stage and reassure you that we are striving to improve and deliver a fantastic experience. I'd be more than happy to discuss this further with you, if you'd like to provide me with some contact details to lambhindon@youngs.co.uk and I'll get in touch. Sincere apologies once again, Eleanor Moore General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrissie7 wrote a review Sep 2022
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom18 contributions26 helpful votes
We called in here for a quick lunch en route to Sussex after holidaying in Bath. After taking a table we were told that the lunch menu wasn't available due to staff sickness but that there was a small sandwich menu on offer. Fine, no problem. We ordered a cheese sandwich and a ham sandwich only to be told there was no ham! So two cheese sandwiches it was, one on white and one on brown bread....STALE bread, both!!! Come on people, how difficult is it to at least provide a decent cheese sandwich on fresh bread??!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Sep 18, 2022
7chrissie7, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01747 820573 to discuss this further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolyn W wrote a review Sep 2022
High Wycombe, United Kingdom4 contributions
We’ve just returned from an enjoyable and comfortable two night stay at The Lamb Inn. The staff were welcoming, efficient and friendly and the rooms were comfortable and well equipped. Dinner on the Friday night was very good and breakfast offered good choices . Would not hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Hi Carolyn W, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Lamb Hotel, Hindon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john wrote a review Aug 2022
Orpington, United Kingdom15 contributions8 helpful votes
What staff they have were great and the rooms excellent. But what a shame the dinner menu was not up to standard. I want to believe the problems were all down to a lack of staff, but to have just six/seven main courses and then apologise that two, of what are top sellers, are off, is crazy. Plus the goats cheese main course was really just starter size. It's a good place to stay and have a drink, but eat over the road at the Grosvenor, which is what the lambs staff suggested. Amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Resort06643337975, thank you for sharing your experience with us! I can only apologise for our scaled back menu when you visited we'd had some issues with our suppliers/deliveries I'm afraid. We hope this will not be an recurring issue and there will be plenty more to choose from on your next visit. Apologies again and we hope to see you soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat A wrote a review Aug 2022
Gillingham, United Kingdom3 contributions
I booked all of the rooms for a family wedding over a weekend. From the very start, the staff made the whole process so easy. As we approached the event, communication was great, every question/problem was dealt with in an efficient and friendly way. I arranged a large meal for family/friends on the first night, and despite extra people being added at the last minute, the staff dealt with it effortlessly. The rooms are of a great standard and all the guests were very impressed. Special mentions go to Bernice for all her hard work with the booking and pre-arrival preparations and to Becky and her brilliant front of house team who looked after the guests so well. I would Highly recommend The Lamb to anyone looking to stay in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robinn669 wrote a review Aug 2022
Farnham, United Kingdom415 contributions163 helpful votes
Have been coming here for many years and love the building and the village. Generally food has been good even up to a few months ago but sadly not this time. It looked like there had been changes and while staff were friendly food was a big disappointment. We opted for a shared meat platter and at £22 you would expect something a little exciting but poorly arranged supermarket slices of chorizo and salami, small piece of terrine, one sausage roll, a-single bread roll, no promised pork pie and a few other bits and pieces just didn’t do it. Starters were also unmemorable. It really hurts me to write this because I really like the place andwant to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Robinn669, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Thank you for leaving feedback and we do hope that you'll give us another chance in the future. Take care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LondonColin wrote a review Aug 2022
London17 contributions8 helpful votes
The Lamb is a lovely old pub but I cannot recommend it as a hotel. We were looking forward to dinner, so were disappointed to be given the pub lunch menu: burgers, fish and chips, sausage and mash, etc. There were no specials, but there was a fish pie with prawns, scallops and smoked haddock, so we chose that. What a disaster. We were presented with two pots of mashed potato, smelling vaguely of fish, but try as we might, we could find not a single prawn, scallop or anything that could be positively identified as smoked haddock. It was horrid. I complained to the chef who was apologetic and explained that there had been no fish delivery that morning! Why put fish pie on the menu when you have no fish?? To be fair, we were not charged for it, but it spoilt our evening. A word of warning - there is absolutely no mobile reception at all in the village. To get Wi-Fi you have to sign up to the Youngs Brewery web site. (The beer is bog standard Youngs as found in any London pub. Where are all the lovely local ales?)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Lamb Hotel, Hindon. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We hope you will try us again in the future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RIchard wrote a review Jul 2022
Reading, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
There were 11 of us for Sunday lunch, six adults and five kids. Food was lovely, service was great and the staff were really accommodating with the kids order. Great old English pub, loved the fireplace you can sit in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Lamb Hindon
Responded Aug 2, 2022
Thank you Richard, for your kind words and this wonderful review! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon, Ellie and Team Lamb :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lamb hotel hindon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireHindon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LAMB HINDON - Updated 2022 Prices & Inn Reviews (Wiltshire)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lamb Hindon
Which popular attractions are close to The Lamb Hindon?
Nearby attractions include Old Wardour Castle (4.4 miles), Messums Wiltshire (3.2 miles), and The Ginger Piggery (5.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lamb Hindon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Lamb Hindon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lamb Hindon?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lamb Hindon?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grosvenor Arms, The Forester, and The Compasses Inn.
Is The Lamb Hindon located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Hindon.
Are pets allowed at The Lamb Hindon?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lamb Hindon?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Wardour Castle (4.4 miles).
Is The Lamb Hindon accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.