We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Lansdowne Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lansdowne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here sat night in a fabulous room . Amazing shower. We was given a discount due to down stairs under renovation , we was informed by several emails about the work , we found every thing lovely & good breakfast . Why people write bad reviews when they are told its under renovation is terrible . If you... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolfliss
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Hello carolfliss, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit just as much as last year. As you say, we are doing our utmost to ensure all who make room booking are aware of the ongoing renovations. Hopefully you will not leave it until Game Fair 2017 to come... More 

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Grotty room, poor bathroom facilities (unable to use shower as scalding hot!) and unfriendly staff! This hotel is currently being renovated and I hope that all the rooms could come up to the standard of those shown on the booking website.

Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie M
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Suzie M, All comments are received gratefully so thank you for your review. Nevertheless, it goes without saying that such poor reviews are disappointing to receive and I extend my apologies that your stay was so poor. If you'd be kind enough to contact me direct at lansdowne@arkells.com to advise me of which room you stayed in I would... More 

Travelers are raving about these Calne hotels

Port Talbot
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The refurbishment was not that bothersome so we were glad we didn't take the cancellation offer two days before - we couldn't find anywhere else anyway for our budget. What did bother us was the lack of heating in the bedrooms. We asked for heating to be put on but it was explained this was not possible as it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank fl0psybunny
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Hello fl0psybunny, Thank you for your review. In the couple of days since your visit my husband and I have joined at The Lansdowne Hotel as the new managers. We are eager to take on board all guest feedback to help us fulfil our commitment to providing our customers with the excellent stay which they rightly expect. As you as... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is in the midst of an upgrade, we were given the option of cancelling, we didn't and received a reduction offered, room was fine and clean, breakfast good also, it's an honest place with nice staff, maybe not for wedding anniversary, but for work or a cheap Overnight stay in the heart of calne its fine. Thanks to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth L
lansdownehotelcalne, Assisany Manage at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as easy access to an interview my husband was attending but really wished we hadn't room at the very top of the hotel ,very large and very old but clearly in need of some TLC clean but that's about all you could say . Restaurant not open evenings only bar food which had to be sent back... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gill P
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review It would of been nice for a complaint to be made to the hotel rather that a review site.- the hotel is under major renovations as stated on all booking sites so there is not a lot we can say about this - if guests arrive and are not happy with this we are offering... More 

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here with some friends for a wedding. Room was fine with comfy beds but the shower was pretty weak. Breakfast was average at best, and certainly wouldn't be worth the £8 for non residents. Not bad for the price but equally not great either.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair T
lansdownehotelcalne, assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review the breakfast for all residents is a free options we do not charge for this all money paid is for there rooms. Non Residents on top of the full English have extras as hash browns and black pudding, with free cereals, coffee or tea and also juices, we charge £7.95 for all this. We have... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A stay in what must be the worst hotel in the UK ! I am disabled & had to struggle through the builders yard at the rear, & up several flights of rickety stairs to put my key into the swivelling lock of 235. As for the room, let's just say I had to wipe my feet when I left... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
lansdownehotelcalne, assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel is under major renovations of which we have told everybody booked into the hotel - either via the hotel or online. The room you booked was the cheapest room in the hotel which is a budget twin room of which is cheap as still needs refurbishing. The hotel dose sell standard rooms at a higher price. All residents... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

as the Hotel is being renovated the carvary was not as expected , you can only have roast beef, ham with veg and Yorkshire pudding , there was 2 other tables with customers, when the waitress came for our order we were told there was no Yorkshire pudding , but that is a Sunday roast you must have Yorkshire pudding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment. It's an interesting building with some informative pictures on the wall. Cooked breakfast was very good (although the table next to mine sent theirs back becuase the beans were cold). At £49 for a single room including cooked breakfast, I thought it was good value. Downside: bedroom tatty (bathroom better and clean) with exposed pipes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ferret55
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is nothing like advertised. Its a complete dump. Old and tatty with wallpaper falling off the walls, workmen sawing and drilling everywhere and not a manager to be seen. We had been told that the restaurant was closed which was fine by us, however had we known that there was work being carried out we would have cancelled.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peeboin
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I can assure that we have a manager on site 24 hours a day, if the manager is not in main hotel they would be on a break but are always on call as they live onsite. I agree the hotel is old and tatty, of which when you stayed it is very obvious that we are currently going through... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range: $58 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay