We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Lansdowne Hotel

The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lansdowne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 156: English reviews
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the price we paid, not bad. Rooms were clean and decor nice, but the room we stayed in had obviously had a leak and there were water stains all over the ceiling, which let it down a bit.Towels soft and white. Plenty of space in room and comfy bed. We asked for quiet room but were put next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank sue f
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, All rooms are booked online so these rooms are put onto the system by the agency. All rooms will hear noise from the road as we do advertise that we are on the main A4 Road. We were meant to start refurbishment on 27/06 but pushed back as needed a particular licence to start. Which... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night ,we found all the staff to be very helpful.The room was nice the bed was just as a bed should be, breakfast was more than i could even finish and the hotel is center to many great places so we had a lovely time thank-you very much.

Helpful?
Thank h0neybunny5
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed the night with my wife and daughter. Great value hotel with lovely cooked breakfast. Rooms a good size and shower powerful to strip paint (just how I like it) Just make sure you drink the local beer not the 1665 your wallet will thank you. Would definitely stay again if in area.

Helpful?
Thank Swansea87
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we would always recommend our local beer as this is brewed by Arkells themselves who our the owners of the hotel. We hope to see you again. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My scooter club was holding its sixth West Country Rideout. Riders came form far and wide for the Saturday Ride so decided to meet at the Lansdowne and stay overnight before and after the event. I know everyone was very happy with the whole experience and, if appropriate, would stay there again without hesitation. We asked a couple of days... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayland_Smith
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and would hope to see you all again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding in a nearby village. From outside it looks quite grand, however the rooms don't look so good. However, the beds were comfortable and the shower was warm and the breakfast was good. Can't go wrong when seen as just a place to stay... One annoyance was that none of the power points worked in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Darshan P
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel was meant to start refurbishment in June but due to a certain Licence requirements the refurbishments have been pushed back, The Hotel did loose electric at some points due to another guest plugging in a phone which tripped all electrics. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its good news that a refurbishment is about to take place here - its a little sad that its been allowed to get into its current state. It pretty much reflects the fortunes of the town itself, sad to say, even the immigrants have passed it by. That said, the room was fine, bed comfortable and food okay. Included breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndiPayne
lansdownehotelcalne, Front Office Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are in total agreement that the hotel needs to be refurbished and at present we are just waiting now for the final agreements from the council to be agreed and the work will start asap. We would hope to have everything completed by the end of October and that we hope everyone that has... More 

Daventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night in a double room. We we lucky to have a room that had recently been decorated, so walls were newly wallpapred and bathroom freshly painted. Bed was comfy, bed linen and towels were clean and fresh. Breakfast was very good. All in all, we were quite happy.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
lansdownehotelcalne, Front Office Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel, we have currently got 20 rooms redecorated with only a few remaining. The hotel from Monday 27th June will be getting refurbished which has now taken 1 1/2 years to be given permission to do so. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will re visit to see the... More 

Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights to visit family in the area. Decided to eat at the restaurant the first night only to be told they had no food left, so had to go elsewhere. The room was ok. The mattress needed replacing. The rest of the hotel was dirty and needed a serious makeover (which begins June 27th). The two male... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MelJ1967
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. At no point would you be told there is no food left we are a hotel kitchen we do not run out of food. The only reason you would be told that is if you came down after the kitchen had shut at which time there would be no one to cook. We do not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Calne hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

After a friendly welcome, we went to our room via dingy corridors. We had seen the sign on the door informing us about refurbishment so this wasn't particularly surprising. When we reached the room the door looked like it had been broken into (quite disconcerting) and the room itself was horrible. Paper peeling off the walls, a hole in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MartinNJayne
lansdownehotelcalne, Front Office Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - you stayed in one of our attic rooms which is a standard double room - We have only had one complaint about this room of which the guest left at Tea time - we was then called and a gentleman told us he worked reviewing hotels on asking who for he refused to tell... More 

Westbury
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

I emailed the day prior to arriving, to say we would be arriving early, due to attending a local wedding, and would probably arrive back too late to check in, I had a very prompt email back saying no problem, we could pick up our key early. Arrived at the hotel, very prompt check in by a friendly young lady,... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigglesWestbury
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - The hotel will be getting refurbished on the 27th June, so we hope you would come and visit again to see the difference. We will always allow people to collect there keys and drop there things off if there room is not ready. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
3.1 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range: $61 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay