We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Lansdowne Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lansdowne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night following a wedding. We wanted a cheap and cheerful room where we could get ready and come back to sleep and that's what we got. We had one of the rooms that you get to by going outside at the back and it wasn't noisy at all. Sheets and towels were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ceri M
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dissssaaapppoooinnntteeddd! Room tired..dirty...stained...badly done...yellowish lumpy pillows...sticky paint.. bathroom door stuck.. filthy toilet.. rust stains over the loose lino bathroom floor.... scaaaryy.. only good thing were the pristine white clean towels!

Helpful?
2 Thank Haidee D
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, on check out yesterday you showed me your picture, I explained that we have an outside company that dose the cleaning of hotel rooms, and asked that you send your pictures through to the email address I gave you so we could show the owner of this company and hopefully resolve the issues you brought... More 

Travelers are raving about these Calne hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Landsdowne for one night only. We were a party of 4 adults. The decor was very shoddy and our room, in an outhouse, smelled of stale beer and cigarettes but opening the window meant we had a disturbed night due to the noise from the area below where the smokers gathered.......but the sheets were clean! A... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 999summerdays12
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we do advertise that the hotel is on the main A4 road. I am not sure when you stayed but can assure you that the hotel refurbishments are under way which started 01st August. We have had no complaint of smells, but the outer rooms are not near the bar so I would not... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel looks half decent on the outside but could do with a paint job then you walk to reception to meet by a nice reception then i got my key for my room walk to my room along a scruffy looking corridor up a flight of stairs which is very poorly decorated then my room what a poor state of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
lansdownehotelcalne, aIISTANT mANAGER at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, The hotel is cleaned every day, and advertises that we have no parking at the hotel because of being so small. We only have one single room not redecorated of which is only sold when a very cheap price is paid. The hotel itself is undergoing refurbishments, which started over two weeks ago, so all... More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

For the price we paid, not bad. Rooms were clean and decor nice, but the room we stayed in had obviously had a leak and there were water stains all over the ceiling, which let it down a bit.Towels soft and white. Plenty of space in room and comfy bed. We asked for quiet room but were put next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank BargeeGirl
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, All rooms are booked online so these rooms are put onto the system by the agency. All rooms will hear noise from the road as we do advertise that we are on the main A4 Road. We were meant to start refurbishment on 27/06 but pushed back as needed a particular licence to start. Which... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

We stayed for 1 night ,we found all the staff to be very helpful.The room was nice the bed was just as a bed should be, breakfast was more than i could even finish and the hotel is center to many great places so we had a lovely time thank-you very much.

Helpful?
Thank h0neybunny5
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed the night with my wife and daughter. Great value hotel with lovely cooked breakfast. Rooms a good size and shower powerful to strip paint (just how I like it) Just make sure you drink the local beer not the 1665 your wallet will thank you. Would definitely stay again if in area.

Helpful?
Thank Swansea87
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we would always recommend our local beer as this is brewed by Arkells themselves who our the owners of the hotel. We hope to see you again. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

My scooter club was holding its sixth West Country Rideout. Riders came form far and wide for the Saturday Ride so decided to meet at the Lansdowne and stay overnight before and after the event. I know everyone was very happy with the whole experience and, if appropriate, would stay there again without hesitation. We asked a couple of days... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayland_Smith
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and would hope to see you all again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding in a nearby village. From outside it looks quite grand, however the rooms don't look so good. However, the beds were comfortable and the shower was warm and the breakfast was good. Can't go wrong when seen as just a place to stay... One annoyance was that none of the power points worked in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Darshan P
lansdownehotelcalne, Assistant Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel was meant to start refurbishment in June but due to a certain Licence requirements the refurbishments have been pushed back, The Hotel did loose electric at some points due to another guest plugging in a phone which tripped all electrics. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

Its good news that a refurbishment is about to take place here - its a little sad that its been allowed to get into its current state. It pretty much reflects the fortunes of the town itself, sad to say, even the immigrants have passed it by. That said, the room was fine, bed comfortable and food okay. Included breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndiPayne
lansdownehotelcalne, Front Office Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are in total agreement that the hotel needs to be refurbished and at present we are just waiting now for the final agreements from the council to be agreed and the work will start asap. We would hope to have everything completed by the end of October and that we hope everyone that has... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 1 in Lacock
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range: $59 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay