We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,088 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,083: English reviews
Start your review of Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
 Click to rate
Southport
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms very pricey when compared to other similar priced hotels. Car park full of golfers so long walk across mud and gravel dragging cases behind us. Wedding venue has no access from hotel so a 200 yard walk outside in the whatever the weather gives you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Bowood. I am sorry to hear that it didn't quite meet your expectations, the car park was exceptionally busy on the day you stayed with us and therefore I do appreciate your frustration. Many thanks again for your feedback, I will share this...

Yeovil
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Terrible plumbing. Could hear every noise upstairs and shower system vibrated every time someone used the bathroom. Have stayed in nicer hotels for not much more price. For what you are charging room facilities where of that of a Premier Inn.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynng856
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us at Bowood. I was very concerned to read that there were issues with the plumbing and noise during your stay. We will of course look into this with our team and look to rectify the issue. I thank you again for leaving your feedback, as without it...

Gloucester
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff and setting very good but how this hotel feels it can justify these rates is beyond me. The bed was 2 singles pushed together and was extremely uncomfortable and I got no sleep, I'd have been better off sleeping on the floor. Glad I was only there one night as I couldn't have stood it and frankly at these...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidsP5764JS
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm very sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations and was uncomfortable. I will of course look into the issues you have raised. All feedback is very important to us as it allows us to continually make improvements so that we can offer our...

Winslow
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A most enjoyable 3 nights . The staff could not have been more helpful.Thank you; we even had reasonable weather and enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi The room was clean and comfortable we used the shoe cleaning pad which worked well and was something not all hotels provide. We did not need to use the ironing facilities but were pleased...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X6109HKgrahamb
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. I will pass on your thanks and comments to our excellent team here at Bowood and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Very busy restaurant so service a little slow. Main course was nice beautiful roast spuds. Pudding a little on the small side. Nice bright restaurant with daffodils on the tables. 19.99p for 2 courses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123taz
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear 123taz, Thank you for the review of your recent Sunday Lunch in the Shelburne Restaurant at Bowood Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that your enjoyed the food and atmosphere but apologise if service was a little slow on the day you dined. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Bowood again soon for another occasion or...

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful balcony room with tea/coffee facilities and home baked cookies on arrival. Good food/ good bar/ superb library reading room. Scones that melt in your mouth. And then there is the Spa. Very friendly staff. Lovely treatments. Big pool with excellent views over golf course. Glimpses of deer as they scamper across the course.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Elaine B, What fabulous feedback. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay and I'm very pleased to hear that you managed to use a variety of the facilities we have to offer, including The Spa and the Library for afternoon tea. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to be able...

Swindon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay and our Spa Break in a lovely location with good facilities. Staff were okay but we didn't feel that they were fully attentive. The spa facilities and treatment was good with lovely view from the swimming pool to the golf course. We were lucky to see a herd of deers. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious. Breakfast...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRichardss
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear SRichardss, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent spa break at Bowood. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we have to offer. I am disappointed to hear that although your dinner was delicious, the breakfast didn't quite meet your expectations. I will pass your feedback onto...

Somerset
Reviewed 1 week ago

Some of the staff were not very well trained. Spa ladies were very rude. No sign up to show how/where to turn on jacuzzi. People were just sitting in there with no bubbles. There was a mix up with our rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank naomik830
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear naomik830, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I have taken all your comments on board and can only apologise that you don't seem to have received the usual standard of service we offer. Thanks again and...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left Bowood didn't disappoint. Good choice of food in the spa area for lunch and lovely relaxing treatment. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean with beautiful comfy beds and a wonderful bathroom, loved the mood lighting in there. Food in the restaurant was well presented, with a good choice and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank caf40
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear caf40, It is fantastic to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you wished it could have been for longer. We welcome all feedback as it is only with this, that we can continually make improvements to our guests' experience, so thank you for your honest comments. These will be taken on board. Thank...

Cheltenham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing venue and incredible food. We have always had good stays at Bowood, and so it was disappointing to have a bad night for my birthday treat. Very loud through the night - guests/lift outside room

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki P
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vikki P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Bowood. It is fabulous to hear that you once again found the venue and food to exceed your expectations but I am disappointed to hear your night was disturbed by noise from other guests using the hotel, especially as it was a...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
669 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
625 reviews
13.5 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
809 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Wiltshire
The Wiltshire
#1 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
283 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range: $179 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Balcony room on second floor over looking golf course for lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles Z8843PTelaineb, 1 week ago | Read review
“Speak to the staff - they are really helpful”
 of 5 bubbles jimandluce, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Corner Suite was very spacious (Room 329) with a great bathroom facility.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkc999, Feb 18, 2017 | Read review
“stay at the pub”
 of 5 bubbles X3868TEpeterl, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
“If you have the budget choose a suite for that extra touch of luxury”
 of 5 bubbles paulsS2895FV, Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question